Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The ones that got away

203 Posts

The ones that got away

Is it possible to put together a team of current Premiership players who were eligible for Ireland but have elected to play for another country?
    Got stuck with the goalkeeping position, but the rest of this team looks pretty decent.

AN Goalkeeper

Anton Ferdinand
    Zat Knight
    Rio Ferdinand
    Kieron Richardson

Aaron Lennon
    Paul Scholes
    Kevin Nolan
    James Milner

Wayne Rooney
    Tim Cahill

sub(s)
    Darren Fletcher
    (there must be a few more?)

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Gary Cahill
    Its really not that complicated!!!

366 Posts
    Oh good Lord .....

If my aunty had balls she would be my uncle.
    In Trap we trust

36 Posts
    ahhh i love Kevin Nolan , Chris Armstrong

Jose Luis Brown in the Argentina 1986 side, Always remember Jimmy Magee claiiming he had a grandparent from outside Athlone.

Oh good Lord .....

interesting thread tho...

what was the situation with scholes? how could he have played for us?

Also aaron Lennon? I doubt that.

Jamie Carragher, Clint Dempsey(USA), Joe Hart I presume would all have Irish heritage. Clint Dempsey looks so Irish as well.
    Last edited by irishultra; 29/10/2008 at 1:00 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    but have elected to play for another country?
    You mean they elected to play for their own country.
    MOT

842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post

what was the situation with scholes? how could he have played for us?

Also aaron Lennon? I doubt that.

Jamie Carragher, Clint Dempsey(USA), Joe Hart I presume would all have Irish heritage. Clint Dempsey looks so Irish as well.
    Lennon turned down Brian kerr when he tried to get him I think. I remember hearing bout Scholes years ago too but not sure what the family connection is

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    Jose Luis Brown in the Argentina 1986 side, Always remember Jimmy Magee claiiming he had a grandparent from outside Athlone.
    There was a shop just outside the town run by an auld lad called Joe Brown ... must be him

74 Posts
    Scholes has family in letterkenny and visited the town regularly as a youngster
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

229 Posts
    Jamie O'Hara of Spurs?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Jamie O'Hara of Spurs?
    both parents from Wicklow I think

both parents and he didnt join Ireland, its always the country parents kids that seem to join. more proud of their heritage and upbringing i spose.

Martin keown - disputes the above fact..

david healy, aaron hughes...etc etc.

irishultra we have done this a few times before i think thats partly why ifk did that, also the term "got away" is probably another reason...

Keown's family are involved in the GAA in Oxford I believe.

However, I'm slightly surprised at this thread. Alot of second and third generation lads get stick for their accents at Ireland games I've been to. So why does it matter if people like O'Hara, Keown etc play for England anyway...
    Who put the ball in Englands net? Sheedy Sheedy!

All hail Kevin Sheedy!

. Clint Dempsey looks so Irish as well.
    Ye he really does look irish

http://www.4thegame.com/media/00/03/...nt_dempsey.jpg
    We'll never die, we'll never die

:d

what was the situation with scholes? How could he have played for us?

also aaron lennon? I doubt that.

Jamie carragher, clint dempsey(usa), joe hart i presume would all have irish heritage. Clint dempsey looks so irish as well.

ginger hair!!:d
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    both parents and he didnt join Ireland, its always the country parents kids that seem to join. more proud of their heritage and upbringing i spose.

Martin keown - disputes the above fact..

david healy, aaron hughes...etc etc.

irishultra we have done this a few times before i think thats partly why ifk did that, also the term "got away" is probably another reason...
    Eh Wicklow is the country Paul. Or what is your def of it.
    In Trap we trust

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy-Green View Post
    Phil Lynott look-a-like ... and also a bit like Dion Dublin ... Dublin Ireland ... Of course he qualifies

842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BobbyHans View Post
    Keown's family are involved in the GAA in Oxford I believe.

However, I'm slightly surprised at this thread. Alot of second and third generation lads get stick for their accents at Ireland games I've been to. So why does it matter if people like O'Hara, Keown etc play for England anyway...
    It doesnt matter, its just a bit of craic to see who we could have had playing for us

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast