Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Athlone Town

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by compo View Post
    Is there anybody willing to keep the show on the road and restructure the club?
    BTW, I disagree with Disgruntled. If two clubs (Athlone and Waterford) get licences to compete and are on the verge of collapse even before the Summer break, the operation of the regulations must be questioned, and that's down to Delaney and Co.
    True but you & I both know that if the licencing rules were strictly applied that we might not even have a Premier Division such is the state that many of the clubs are in.
    What the FAI are trying to do is encourage the clubs to carry out their affairs in a business like manner but the clubs simply aren't listening.
    Bye the way I didn't realise the Tommy No Bobs had taken over Athlone, Bray,Waterford plus a few more clubs such is the way they are being run

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    There are plenty that care. Unfortunately over the last number of years the link between the club and community is completely gone. Mainly down to the current regime. If the group who have proposed to take over are succesful in their attempt, people will come back to support the club. Slowly but surely.
    There is alot of bad blood between the current board and the people of Athlone and until they are removed, nothing will change.
    They released a statement yesterday evening saying that if a deal isn't completed by Tuesday, then any future decisions will be taken by the current executive committee. Most people have taken this as an intention to fold the club.
    Read that statement.
    Totally off the wall.
    That board must be on a totally different planet to the rest of the town.
    Listened to Mathews interview a couple of weeks ago & really felt sorry for the man.

98 Posts

420 Posts
    Whats the feeling in Athlone do ye hold out any hope that ye will see it through?

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Whats the feeling in Athlone do ye hold out any hope that ye will see it through?
    Seems like all rests on whether this interested party can get control of the club.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Seems like all rests on whether this interested party can get control of the club.
    Sounds like a "Manchester businessmen" type story.

98 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Sounds like a "Manchester businessmen" type story.
    They are made up of former members and lads not involved before.

821 Posts
    And what exactly are the current owners expecting to get out of this consortium? It looks to me their only intention has been to get as much money out of the club as possible. Your posts previously stating they were only interested in the youth team would back that up.

1,081 Posts

145 Posts
    Is Fran going to order an 'independent review' to his own licencing regime?

Hopefully we'll see Fran on Soccer Republic tonight spoofing like he has always does by deflecting responsibility on how the LOI has gone in 10 years from players on €1,000+ per week not getting paid to 10 years later players on €30 per week not getting paid
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

821 Posts
    I think the review is a good idea. People criticising the FAI if they fine Athlone, now giving out because the FAI want a better understanding of what's going on. Can't win.

145 Posts
    They don't need a better understanding when they acutely know they're jointly responsible for this latest licensing clusterfuk. They awarded a Premier Division licence to a club who failed to pay their players in 2015 based on a phoney budget figures and shockingly 'nobody saw it coming etc.' that same club still have failed to pay their players for 2015 and now 2016 based on yet another set of phoney budget figures.

Fran ain't no magician if he thinks people are stupid enough to fall for his latest misdirection.
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

821 Posts
    I'm sure Athlone put a plan forward to pay off those debts or they wouldn't have been allowed in. The licensing structure isn't black and white like everyone thinks it's a lot of hypotheticals

63 Posts
    So Athlone should not be fined for failing to fulfill a fixture, but Roddy Collins can be made pay 1,500 euro for suggesting in a newspaper article that the LoI is in trouble. Did the Athlone rep on the FAI board back up this decision I wonder?

880 Posts
    it's a lot of hypotheticals
    Like 10k all-seated stadia? so much fun could be had with the 'hypotheticals'...

"We are going to build a 60'000 all-seater ground!"

"Oh good! Have a licence".

"We were are going to invite Barcelona over for a match to make a few Euro"

"You are like f*ck, thats not in any participation agreement, that player you said you didnt owe anything to and we agreed to look the other way, well if you play any game that we could make money out of we will stop looking the other way and mad make you pay some bills with money you dont have!"
    Last edited by Nesta99; 07/06/2016 at 7:46 AM.

86 Posts
    An independent investigation is the only way to go provided the FAI actually act on the report & don't bury it like every other report they have ever received.
    I won't hold my breath on that one.
    Mystic Meg sees a large plate of fudge coming up in Athlone's future

As I said previously the Licencing Manual comes in a do it yourself kit which can be made up in any way you choose.

98 Posts
    For people looking from the outside in, it looks like there is no coming back from this for us. But the group who want to take over are willing to take over with immediate effect and I know for a fact they will resolve most of, if not all of the problems we are having.
    The problem is the chairman is refusing to stand down. Himself and Michael o connor are hated by most now and one has to worder with all the pressure and dislike, why they are not budging.
    I suspect the FAI could find something g they didn't want to be found.

21. Thanks From:

3,263 Posts
    I think the review is a good idea. People criticising the FAI [...] because the FAI want a better understanding of what's going on.
    Can the FAI not work out for themselves what's going no rather than spending money on a review?

What are the licencing people supposed to be for?

Best of luck to Athlone obviously.

821 Posts
    So what should the FAI do? Say Heres 100,000 euro lads do what you please with it. We all know how that ends

3,263 Posts
    Why would you suggest that? (Though rather they gave Athlone money than another independent consultant)

Athlone went through the licencing process at the start of the season. They were required to submit budgets and cash flows, and to go to Abbotstown to discuss these. They were probbaly required to provide some manner of letter of guarantee of funding, and were maybe even asked to put some funds in an escrow account just in case. If, after all that, the kitty is empty just three months into the season, then there's a fundamental issue with licencing. There's a licencing department in the FAI - first step is to ask for their views on what went wrong, and then to look into those problems. Not get some external bloody consultant in again.

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast