Page 12 of 20 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: 2016 FAI Cup

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Ah, he's brilliant. Love his wee talks. Half truth, half a wind-up.
    He forgot to add in Dundalk's hour bus to Dublin/Belfast airport, and then the bus on the other side, mind.
    I'd also add that we do have five away matches in a row. Not that I really think travelling is all that gruelling for any LoI side.
    I'd say Sunday lunch is something else at his place, especially when Dean is there.

365 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Thats really handy for me, I have a stag in London that weekend, just need to figure out what flight to get back to Dublin.
    You better take it easy on the Sat night if your match is on first, usually they have 13.55 and 15.55 kick offs for these matches if both played on the same day.

Some commitment, London, Dublin and Cork if you're based there. Fair play.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/...-fai-cup-draw/

So it was all a dream after all - Derry won the cup last year!
    They're also two teams judging by that first sentence.

I suppose having two separate sets of contracts wouldn't be anything new for them.

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/...-fai-cup-draw/

So it was all a dream after all - Derry won the cup last year!
    Maybe they never gave the trophy back after 2012 ?
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Kenny Shiels is some boy.

[I
    Of the three possible opponents we could have had, all are littered with former Derry City players so we’re going to be up against it because we will be playing against quality players who have left Derry City.”[/I]

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/socc...source=dlvr.it
    He can have Shane McEleny and Mark Timlim back if that's any help ?
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    He can have Shane McEleny and Mark Timlim back if that's any help ?
    Nah, ye're grand, thanks.

877 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Ah, he's brilliant. Love his wee talks. Half truth, half a wind-up.
    He forgot to add in Dundalk's hour bus to Dublin/Belfast airport, and then the bus on the other side, mind.
    I'd also add that we do have five away matches in a row. Not that I really think travelling is all that gruelling for any LoI side.
    It is refreshing to here such a comment from a supporter of a club that do have the one of the greatest distances to travel as the way some people talk about travel on this Island, football related or not, you would think they were talking about a Russia sized country. There was less said when it took an hour to get through Abbeyleix or Balbriggan etc back in the day. I get it when people have to get time off work and that but really the coaches now it is sitting comfortably. No more old Anchor Tours like buses that Dundalk fans would know years ago where you were almost out to push the damn thing!! Maybe those buses were just used for dundalk fans

819 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    It is refreshing to here such a comment from a supporter of a club that do have the one of the greatest distances to travel as the way some people talk about travel on this Island, football related or not, you would think they were talking about a Russia sized country. There was less said when it took an hour to get through Abbeyleix or Balbriggan etc back in the day. I get it when people have to get time off work and that but really the coaches now it is sitting comfortably. No more old Anchor Tours like buses that Dundalk fans would know years ago where you were almost out to push the damn thing!! Maybe those buses were just used for dundalk fans
    It's crazy isn't it. You tell people you are going to watch a game 2 hours away and they react as if you are going to Mars and back. It's a strange mentality considering the island is so small

194 Posts
    Semi-final schedule

Sunday 2nd October

Dundalk v Derry 1:45 pm

St.Pats v Cork 3:55 pm

447 Posts
    Handy for me, 10 am flight back to Dublin is easier than a 6 am flight. Not ideal but at least I'll make the game!

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts

819 Posts
    Anyone know the story with anyone that has an FAI season ticket? Feee bump up to premium is it? Can they buy extras as well or?

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Anyone know the story with anyone that has an FAI season ticket? Feee bump up to premium is it? Can they buy extras as well or?
    Free bump up to premium. You should have gotten a mail about it. Just swipe your card at the premium turnstiles. You can buy premium on ticketmaster I think but don't remember them saying anything about buying more with your season ticket

365 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Nice top, and for me a much better one that the current version with the white stripe, this one is a classic and simple design. Will this be the new top for next year?

That top, white shorts and white socks would be cool.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Nice top, and for me a much better one that the current version with the white stripe, this one is a classic and simple design. Will this be the new top for next year?

That top, white shorts and white socks would be cool.
    Yeah I much prefer that jersey than our current one too. No this jersey will be for the cup final only which is a pity. Will have to pick one up while I can

1,000 Posts
    No stitching with the date and opponents?

When these one-off shirts are released, they usually have that stitching on them (maybe not in Ireland though alright).

159 Posts
    We had it in 2007 alright against longford

https://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=...act=mrc&uact=8

It is nice to have the opponents and date on it, a nice little memento or collector's item

538 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    We had it in 2007 alright against longford

https://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=...act=mrc&uact=8

It is nice to have the opponents and date on it, a nice little memento or collector's item
    that jersey ye had in 07 in fai cup final was that a home version that ye wore that day?

447 Posts
    That was a one off jersey. We moved from O'Neills to Hummel that winter.

538 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    That was a one off jersey. We moved from O'Neills to Hummel that winter.
    I assume that was a home jersey that was worn that day?

Page 12 of 20 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast