Page 2 of 20 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: 2016 FAI Cup

Great draw for some of the non league teams - Letterkenny Rovers could beat Athlone
    Interesting to see if Crumlin will bring many up to the hills of Donegal
    Last edited by ForzaHoop; 26/04/2016 at 5:12 PM.
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

447 Posts
    not with our lot this year its easily our worst ever squad in years. even our team in 06/07 were way better.. I think we will gain fewer pts this season than our first ever season in the top flight in 84/85! I have never seen a season that we have scored so little and let in so many. and dont get me started on TC or the club they are clowns of the highest order!
    Oh don't get me wrong. Your lot are terrible and will be relegated unless you change something. But we scored 7 goals in about 40 minutes against Waterford with less than our strongest team

22 Posts
    We put out basically our U19 for the second half however Longford will batter us!

387 Posts
    Classic League of Ireland talk.

"We're ****"

"We're worse"

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    Great draw for some of the non league teams - Letterkenny Rovers could beat Athlone
    I think it would be a big ask, but sure ye never know.

Happy enough with our draw. Would only have wanted an away game if it was against a non-league team. Will be interesting to see what Drogs are like this season.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Oh don't get me wrong. Your lot are terrible and will be relegated unless you change something. But we scored 7 goals in about 40 minutes against Waterford with less than our strongest team
    You also scored six against Longford in an actual important game, albeit with a strong team.

818 Posts
    We also have a goalkeeper who likes to let the ball through his hands on a regular basis. We win

66 Posts
    I'm happy enough with our draw. Winnable tie for us imo. Beat a more or less full strength Longford side in preseason too which was the last LOI side we beat at home. We've been hot and cold this year showed we're more then capable of competing but our defending has been a shambles so far. We've fallen apart since Roddy got suspended we were on a three game winning streak and since we've not won in the league and got thumped by Cork in the league cup.

536 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    I'm happy enough with our draw. Winnable tie for us imo. Beat a more or less full strength Longford side in preseason too which was the last LOI side we beat at home. We've been hot and cold this year showed we're more then capable of competing but our defending has been a shambles so far. We've fallen apart since Roddy got suspended we were on a three game winning streak and since we've not won in the league and got thumped by Cork in the league cup.
    had forgotten ye had beat us towards the end of preseason!

818 Posts
    had forgotten ye had beat us towards the end of preseason!
    Yep and it was a full strength side bar Duffy and Rhys. Waterford have every chance

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    We also have a goalkeeper who likes to let the ball through his hands on a regular basis. We win
    I thought Conor O'Donnell was with UCD?

3,219 Posts
    Hey - did you not see the game on Friday?

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    I thought Conor O'Donnell was with UCD?
    Same one that saved a penalty against Limerick the other night?

Hey - did you not see the game on Friday?
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Same one that saved a penalty against Limerick the other night?
    Oh well if he saved a penalty that definitely proves he's turned into David De Gea.

Stopped clock, twice a day lads.

I honestly, hand on heart, think O'Donnell is the worst first choice keeper I have ever seen play LOI. The odd reserve keeper (generally 16 or 45 years old) might have excelled even more at ineptitude in short spells but the guy never showed even a hint of goalkeeping fundamentals over the half season or so that he shone so brightly as a harbinger of doom who could bring chaos to even the calmest of situations with us.

I did laugh long and hard at the penalty save though, twas practically written in the stars.

3,219 Posts
    In fairness, he didn't put a foot wrong for the rest of the game either; another two or three great saves to keep us in it.

I did have a laugh when he was getting ready to come on as a sub though - someone threw him his water bottle, and he dropped it.

19. Thanks From:

447 Posts
    Conor O'Donnell has put in brilliant and horriffic performances against City at Turners Cross. The worst goalkeeping performance I ever saw was Conor Winn for U.C.D. against Galway United in Terryland Park a few years back. Apparently hes doing reasonably well for himself now. Maybe O'Donnell is just young and inconsistent, and suffered from a series of poor performances which affected his confidence. It wouldn't suprise me if he turns into a decent keeper in a few seasons.

Mark McNulty was a terrible keeper as recently as 6 years ago, and was pretty poor even 4 years ago and theres an argument to be made that hes been the best keeper in the league since 2014.

3,219 Posts
    Conor Winn never played for us - do you mean Conor for Galway against UCD?

I've seen O'Donnell pull off some spectacular saves alright - a 4-2 win in Derry a couple of years back stands out for a pretty much impossible point-blank double save - but then drop crosses almost into his own net.

Easy for a keeper like that for the drops to take over, and you have a complete loss of confidence, which I presume is what happened in Limerick last year.

O'Donnell looked good when he started out at UCD - was always capable of some great saves.

447 Posts
    Conor Winn never played for us - do you mean Conor for Galway against UCD?

I've seen O'Donnell pull off some spectacular saves alright - a 4-2 win in Derry a couple of years back stands out for a pretty much impossible point-blank double save - but then drop crosses almost into his own net.

Easy for a keeper like that for the drops to take over, and you have a complete loss of confidence, which I presume is what happened in Limerick last year.
    Might have been for Galway against UCD. It was a crazy game with shocking goalkeeping at both ends. 4-3 I think it finished. I met yourself and Mr. A that evening. 2011 maybe? We were playing Harps on the Saturday and said we'd break the journey up with a trip to Galway on the way the day before.

O'Donnell was absolutely astounding against City in a game in 2014. Incredible feat of goalkeeping, its not an exaggeration to say we could have had 7 or 8.
    http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20348/2/

Reading that I count 10 specific saves that they mention him making.

3,219 Posts
    Ah yes; I remember that one!

Could even have been 5-4. Mad game. Don't remember the keeper's performance tbh, but that doesn't mean you're wrong obviously. Ger Barron was in nets for us that day.

The 4-2 against Derry is below from YouTube; the double save on 56 minutes is up there with the best save I've ever seen in LoI (it's not that easy to see on the video unfortunately - we all know what the view in the Brandywell is like)

He saved a penalty there the following season as well.

But he does have a clanger a game in him, and I can well see how that could affect his confidence. I was only saying to Gary Spain on Friday that UCD might be well suited to him - no home fans to get on his back over stuff like that.

Edit - you're right, it was a 4-3 win for us. Greg Fleming was in nets for Galway apparently. Never heard of him! Seems he's back in the Scottish leagues now, with Ayr.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 28/04/2016 at 4:16 PM.

Page 2 of 20 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast