Page 12 of 42 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI Attendances 2016

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    2,339 at Dundalk v Sligo. All present and counted.

Joking aside you can see the gaps from last year, I moved from the stand for the second half to the open seating town side and that area would have been well packed last season, was less the half full. The shed side is keeping its numbers, stand probably ok too, granted the away support was low, but you can't be counting on away fans to boost your figures.

Overall Dundalk are down around 600 on their 2015 average (to date) if you look at the last 2 games, maybe complacency is creeping in, but it's early days I suppose. There can be no blame on tv tonight though, and although it was around 250 more than the Derry game, it's still a disappointing turn out.
    Happened with Rovers and probably every team that has a bit of success. Getting people in when success is new is one thing, keeping them when it's sustained is the tricky part.

229 Posts
    3627 official number in Dalymount.Hundreds more through players entrance.
    Full of foreign visiting fans and hooligan day trippers. Shameful and embarrassing scenes at the end, idiot ran from Bohs crowd and got as far as Rovers crowd, cue more idiots. Robo cops belatedly intervene and throw the Bohs idiot into the Rovers crowd..
    Meanwhile about 100 Rovers fans sit peacefully among the home fans in section A of the Jodi.

328 Posts
    And by many reports, people couldn't get into the ground. Even those with tickets. Great crowd but beyond that a bad night for the club on and 'off' the pitch.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    3627 official number in Dalymount.Hundreds more through players entrance.
    Full of foreign visiting fans and hooligan day trippers. Shameful and embarrassing scenes at the end, idiot ran from Bohs crowd and got as far as Rovers crowd, cue more idiots. Robo cops belatedly intervene and throw the Bohs idiot into the Rovers crowd..
    Meanwhile about 100 Rovers fans sit peacefully among the home fans in section A of the Jodi.
    Isn't that where he wanted to go ?
    I'm sure he won't be doing it again, at least not until he comes out of hospital

Jokes aside, fantastic crowd for Bohs.
    Pity a few idiots had to spoil it once again.
    The fact the robo cops were there showed they expected something to kick off beside the match.

229 Posts
    No sympathy for anyone attacking other fans.
    We have a small enough community within the LOI and giving the likes of the Indo, who normally ignore LOI Fo ot ball in their on line edition, the opportunity to lead off on the stupid and potentially dangerous actions of a few, is bad for us all and particularly, at Bohs .

Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    And by many reports, people couldn't get into the ground. Even those with tickets. Great crowd but beyond that a bad night for the club on and 'off' the pitch.
    If you add in the 20,000 Gardai they had to draft in for their not in the least bit amateurish security operation, you can see why space was limited. Except for the space between the two stands.

875 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    If you add in the 20,000 Gardai they had to draft in for their not in the least bit amateurish security operation, you can see why space was limited. Except for the space between the two stands.
    And not one of them was needed

46 Posts
    Limerick v Cabinteely

Attendance 1,348

86 Posts
    Maybe they thought Rovers might bring more than the team bus to the game

328 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    Limerick v Cabinteely

Attendance 1,348
    The crowds are still coming through the turnstiles at The Market's Field. Great to see!

354 at Waterford v Shelbourne.

364 Posts
    Happened with Rovers and probably every team that has a bit of success. Getting people in when success is new is one thing, keeping them when it's sustained is the tricky part.
    Yeah its a tough nut to crack keeping the figures high and consistent, last season we only had 2 or 3 crowds, possibly 4 under 3k, this season 2 out of the 4 games have already dipped to that level, with respect to teams, maybe the attraction wasn't there to come out in big numbers and away support has been low so far, but you can't be depending on away support to boost the gate.

So far this is how Dlk have fared in attendances:

Harps 3,200
    Cork 3,500
    Derry 2,100*
    Sligo 2,400

* Live on tv, but no reason why Sligo game should have dropped so much.

Facilities are maybe a problem but the fans didn't seem to mind last 3 seasons, more cover though might make a difference, OP only have cover for around 2.5k, on a wet day people might think, I don't fancy standing in that, and hard to blame them.

Its early days though, a lot of big games to come, but not over the next month.
    Last edited by oriel; 18/04/2016 at 3:59 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

705 at First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC v wexford

420 Posts
    705 at First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC v wexford

I know this is always said but it looked a lot more.

Definitely a lot more

288 Posts
    Any attendance from Wexford?

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    2,403 at the cross. Happy with that considering the amount of home games we have, people might've been forgiven for giving priority to the rovers and pats games.

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    2,403 at the cross. Happy with that considering the amount of home games we have, people might've been forgiven for giving priority to the rovers and pats games.
    Don't be so smug about that. There was 20 Harps fans among that.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Don't be so smug about that. There was 20 Harps fans among that.
    Was I being smug?
    Fair play to ye though, didn't expect that many to come down.

Page 12 of 42 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast