Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast

Thread: Week 1 Fixtures - 3rd/4th March

According to The Sligo Champion there were four arrests, three adults and one juvenile, arising out of Saturday night's incidents. The juvenile was released without charge and the three adults were up before a special sitting of the District Court on Sunday. Released on bail. Whilst the article did not give their names and addresses it stated that they travelled to the game by bus. Would a reasonable guess be that they were shams supporters?

Will be interesting to see the outcome of this.

Quote Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post
    According to The Sligo Champion there were four arrests, three adults and one juvenile, arising out of Saturday night's incidents. The juvenile was released without charge and the three adults were up before a special sitting of the District Court on Sunday. Released on bail. Whilst the article did not give their names and addresses it stated that they travelled to the game by bus. Would a reasonable guess be that they were shams supporters?

Heard the guy who hit the OAP on the head with a bottle was captured via CCTV , a few months in Castlerea would be a nice sentence .

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post

No direct bus from Tallaght to Sligo, not possible.
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    No direct bus from Tallaght to Sligo, not possible.
    Excellent point. I'm sure they'll get you to represent them at the hearing.

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dublinred View Post
    Heard the guy who hit the OAP on the head with a bottle was captured via CCTV , a few months in Castlerea would be a nice sentence .
    "Castlerea is too good you young man, food and sex on tap, no a community service is what I have in mind, 250 hours cleaning the toilets in Dalymount Park".

172 Posts
    Think Rovers will need to up their game if they have pretensions of challenging Dundalk. It was laboured win,albeit against a limited side. Think Brando' s form will be the tipping point between relative success and another season of mediocre dross.

Maybe we can get some of the loanees fron west ham sooner rather than later. Could make all the difference.

1,813 Posts
    Ollie Horgan is gonna be on OTB on NewsTalk soon.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Ollie Horgan is gonna be on OTB on NewsTalk soon.
    An interview of boundless optimism no doubt.

2,346 Posts
    Without having listened to it, let me guess what he said.

"We were very lucky to beat Derry".

"If we stay up, it'll be a bigger achievement that being promoted".

"We'll do very well to get any points out of any games".

"We're no good".

28 Posts
    "We'd do well to stop Dundalk hitting double figures on Friday"

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Without having listened to it, let me guess what he said.

"We were very lucky to beat Derry".

"If we stay up, it'll be a bigger achievement that being promoted".

"We'll do very well to get any points out of any games".

"We're no good".
    Don't forget "I'm a terrible manager."

288 Posts
    "Honestly, I think we should stay at home."

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Think Rovers will need to up their game if they have pretensions of challenging Dundalk. It was laboured win,albeit against a limited side. Think Brando' s form will be the tipping point between relative success and another season of mediocre dross.

Maybe we can get some of the loanees fron west ham sooner rather than later. Could make all the difference.
    Sligo Rovers "a limited side" my arse, they were the far better side on Saturday, playing a far more entertaining brand of football and but for on the field antics, throwing themselves on the floor at every opportunity and conning the referee they would have lost the game. Sligo Rovers maybe a new young team but they will learn fast and are a talented bunch who will do well this year in the league.

As for Shamrocks fans, they were a disgrace!

Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    My question is if this did happen, with 2000 people at the Game why no video or photo of the flag on fire
    Harps supporters gave photos to Gardai of lads throwing flares etc

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0307/773265-dunphy/
    Dunphy also weighed in on the troubling scenes in Sligo this weekend, as Shamrock Rovers made a winning start to their SSE Airtricity League Premier Division season against the Bit O’Red.

A Sligo flag was set on fire during the game, while a small section of travelling fans chanted: “We’re Shamrock Rovers, we’re burning your flag.”

There were also reports of advertising hoarding having been damaged and skirmishes in the away end.

“I think zero tolerance is what you have to have,” Dunphy said.

“I was at Millwall in the mid-60s when this football hooliganism, as they called it, started, and the police were very tolerant and civilised with the people responsible, and it grew and it grew.

“You’ve got to crack down on it from the beginning and have no tolerance for it whatsoever, no matter what you have to do; close grounds, prosecute people.

“Once you let it grow and show the slightest bit of tolerance, then it becomes a fetish.

“Guys who wanted to cause trouble - no interest in football - they turn up at the match, there’s a prospect of a fight or trouble and they love that.

“You’ve got to be very, very tough.”
    the flag was set on fire,it was removed from Mooneys bar before the game. but the so chant never happened. if anything it was " We're Shamrock Rovers,We'll do what we want"

238 Posts
    Is this problem with Rovers fans only a new thing?

Honest question. We've never had any trouble with them, in fact, we've always had a really good relationship with Rovers fans.

Hopefully all will go smooth next Monday night....

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post

Honest question. We've never had any trouble with them, in fact, we've always had a really good relationship with Rovers fans.

There is a small number of scrotes who come out of the woodwork for games with Bohs, Dundalk and Sligo and try to cause trouble. They're egged on by a small number of sad old men who are also rarely seen at games. Because these people don't actually follow the football team, they seem to mistakenly think there's some sort of rivalry with Sligo and target it as their big trip on the ****.

538 Posts
    the incident with the OAP was that in Mooneys as well?

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    There is a small number of scrotes who come out of the woodwork for games with Bohs, Dundalk and Sligo and try to cause trouble. They're egged on by a small number of sad old men who are also rarely seen at games. Because these people don't actually follow the football team, they seem to mistakenly think there's some sort of rivalry with Sligo and target it as their big trip on the ****.
    Saturday away games would obviously bring more of them out as well. A similar element travelled to Longford on a few occasions and did damage in pubs in Longford and nearby towns including foot.ie's spiritual home, Tarmonbarry. I think we moved any home games against ye away from the Saturday night recently.

387 Posts
    the incident with the OAP was that in Mooneys as well?
    Nah in O'Neills

26. Thanks From:

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post

Keep losing to them and keep calling them Rovers and ye should be OK.

Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast