Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: 2016 EA Sports Cup

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Semi-final draw is to be made today, apparently.
    I'm pretty sure the last time we got a home draw in the LC was in 2012.

Please don't give us Derry away, the other 2 I can live with.

Limerick away in the final would be great tho
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    I'm pretty sure the last time we got a home draw in the LC was in 2012.
    Yep. 9 away draws in a row (including the final last year).

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Just checking on soccerway there,

8 of our last 10 have gone to Extratime as well. Mad all round
    Here on a technicality.

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    That's quite impressive actually, a 1/512 chance of getting that.
    Home draw would do grand for me. Or maybe Limerick away, just because I missed the match at Markets Field last year and would like to see it.

Draw is at 14:00.
    Have you ever won the treble?

346 Posts
    Derry v Limerick
    Rovers v Pats
    August 1s

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Derry v Limerick
    Rovers v Pats
    August 1s
    We've a match on the Saturday, so I'd guess our game will be on 2nd.

346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    We've a match on the Saturday, so I'd guess our game will be on 2nd.
    Will that game be in Buncrana Brendy? Might even head to it for the craic if it was!

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Will that game be in Buncrana Brendy? Might even head to it for the craic if it was!
    It probably will be, aye. Work on the Brandywell is due to start in July, or slightly later if the contractor thinks the work can be done quicker.
    It would be a nice game to start with at Maginn. There was a great crowd at the Cockhill-Sligo LC game a few years back.

August 1st, Jesus Christ that's ages away

37 Posts
    Thought it was a little bit smaller than waterford myself, much less in the stand but a bit more around the ground.

Still looked a bit more than 937 though....

On the game galway came into it a bit in the second half without ever really bothering us. We were down to the bare bones at that stage.

galways failure to score against First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC is a stain on their club.
    Limerick are very strong and the Market's Field was a pleasant surprise. The chairman of the Club came over to the away supporters and thanks us for coming. Good luck to Limerick on your journey and I hope ye win the League Cup. We won it as a First Division Club in Turner's Cross against Cork City so it's very doable.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

46 Posts
    Limerick v Galway goals

https://youtu.be/EXcYWAU2EZk

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Limerick are very strong and the Market's Field was a pleasant surprise. The chairman of the Club came over to the away supporters and thanks us for coming. Good luck to Limerick on your journey and I hope ye win the League Cup. We won it as a First Division Club in Turner's Cross against Cork City so it's very doable.
    I remember in 01/02 Limerick won the League Cup whilst in the First Division. Think they beat Derry City on penos..

You are correct. I was there. Final was over two legs (won 2-1 at home, lost 1-0 away, no away goals) and we finished bottom of the First Division that year. Beat Galway (1-0), Cork (1-0) and Shamrock Rovers (1-0) en route to the final.

Handy for the dub clubs to have the draw regionalised all the way to final.

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    You are correct. I was there. Final was over two legs (won 2-1 at home, lost 1-0 away, no away goals) and we finished bottom of the First Division that year.
    Indeed.
    Liam Could was raging afterwards. Tried to throw his medal into the crowd and it landed on the roof of the old Jungle.

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    You are correct. I was there. Final was over two legs (won 2-1 at home, lost 1-0 away, no away goals) and we finished bottom of the First Division that year. Beat Galway (1-0), Cork (1-0) and Shamrock Rovers (1-0) en route to the final.
    I was also there. The FAI had to clarify to the ref at half-time in that game if away goals counted like they did in previous years.

I was also at the 1st leg and how Derry after going 1-0 up didn't put it to bed is still a mystery to me

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    August 1st, Jesus Christ that's ages away
    With the league title officially in the bag by then, you can concentrate on the cup

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Handy for the dub clubs to have the draw regionalised all the way to final.
    Handy for Cork to get their 2 games at home...
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    I was also there. The FAI had to clarify to the ref at half-time in that game if away goals counted like they did in previous years.
    The league cup was never decided by away goals

874 Posts
    Did the ref know that though? Even if it never happened before!

Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast