Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI Fixtures 14th - 17th August 2015

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Donie Forde View Post
    Ref stopped him going off. Seems if keeper gets treatment as well, neither player has to leave the pitch. Beattie was confused by ref, tried to head for sideline, endline...
    Some refs don't know that rule. No surprise there.

When we played Longford last week, there was a collision between the keeper and Brian Gartland. Both physios came on, both got treatment. Before play resumed, Gartland was told to leave the field while the keeper stayed on the pitch.

A keeper when treated is never asked to leave the field cos of his position. Imagine a keeper standing on the sideline waiting to come backbon as a direct free or corner is been taken! But dave mckeown made up his own rule last night god love him

445 Posts
    Bray were very good last night and probably deserved a draw. I had assumed with Cooke in charge they would spend the night hoofing the ball but not at all. They got it down and played some lovely stuff.

Cassidy is still excellent and Hugh Douglas is very good as well. They're just short a striker to be challenging higher up the table.

9 league wins in a row now for Pats. Last night was our first of those that wasn't by 2 or more goals. Huge game on Monday now

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Huge game on Monday now
    Looking forward to this one. It'll be a proper game too, no one parking the bus.

Pats are in terrific form whereas we have huffed and puffed since the European games against BATE.

If Pats keep 11 men on the pitch for the 90 minutes, they have a terrific chance to narrow the gap to a bridgeable 6 points.

86 Posts
    Limerick were superb last night. If they continue with that intensity there's not a hope that they are going down. They were full value for the win IMO.

54 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    Limerick were superb last night. If they continue with that intensity there's not a hope that they are going down. They were full value for the win IMO.
    Agreed.
    Lot of Sheddies stayed back to clap Limerick off afterwards as well.

98 Posts
    Unbelievable strike from Danny Purdy last night https://youtu.be/zIP4KrZszKw

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Donie Forde View Post
    Agreed.
    Lot of Sheddies stayed back to clap Limerick off afterwards as well.
    Yeah, fair play to them for that.

Referee In the Derry Dundalk game last night was an absolute tool, sends McCormack off for a 50/50 challenge both players should have been booked but dishes out a red. Timlin has then been brought down turning a Dundalk defender no booking, Jarvis has a pull at the Dundalk wingers shhirt rightly booked, Dundalk defender does the same to Jarvis in pulling his shirt No Booking. He had no consistency all night petty fouls and blowing his whistle at will, let the bloddy game flow its what the fans want, noticed Kenny is bringing Professionalism to Dundalk with players going down every time they are touched like in other Eurpopean leagues. Football is a mans game and refs in this league cant be this bad week in week out they are just incompetent.

Quote Originally Posted by Flexy View Post
    Referee In the Derry Dundalk game last night was an absolute tool, sends McCormack off for a 50/50 challenge both players should have been booked but dishes out a red. Timlin has then been brought down turning a Dundalk defender no booking, Jarvis has a pull at the Dundalk wingers shhirt rightly booked, Dundalk defender does the same to Jarvis in pulling his shirt No Booking. He had no consistency all night petty fouls and blowing his whistle at will, let the bloddy game flow its what the fans want, noticed Kenny is bringing Professionalism to Dundalk with players going down every time they are touched like in other Eurpopean leagues. Football is a mans game and refs in this league cant be this bad week in week out they are just incompetent.
    It's a disgrace, Joe.

If Pats play like they did last night, we"ll get nothing on Monday. That said, the back four was very makeshift.
    But there was a carelessness right through the team that Dundalk will punish.

noticed Kenny is bringing Professionalism to Dundalk with players going down every time they are touched like in other Eurpopean leagues. Football is a mans game and refs in this league cant be this bad week in week out they are just incompetent.
    Careful now. You'll be accused of being a moaning Cork City fan who is only moaning again about the Dublin bias. Then the usual plebs will come on sarcastically saying how your team are angels and could never comit a foul. Blah blah....

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Careful now. You'll be accused of being a moaning Cork City fan who is only moaning again about the Dublin bias. Then the usual plebs will come on sarcastically saying how your team are angels and could never comit a foul. Blah blah....
    Exactly!!

433 Posts
    Candle lit for yea and rosary said.McCormack 100% a sending off and that other wee fecker McEneff was lucky he didn't go.Get your ma to give you a xanax
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

363 Posts
    I was very surprised to hear of Cork's defeat last night, but leagues are not won or lost in August in Ireland. The advantage has definitely swung Dundalk's way, but things could change again on Monday night, who knows.

As much as it was a very surprise defeat for Cork, there is no guarnatee we won't lose at least once more in the next ten game. We won it last year with 3 defeats, and we're currently on one. Also we have Rovers and Pats both twice to play not to mention Cork away.

7 points ahead with 10 games to go is a great lead, but it's only August, if we are ahead by something similar in October,that's a different story.

Big movers this weekend were Pats and Rovers, both will be looking to challenge for 2nd spot now, and that was probably not as clear a few weeks ago.

Still plenty to to play for, for the top 4, huge credit to Limerick, not just for obvious reason,
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I was very surprised to hear of Cork's defeat last night, but leagues are not won or lost in August in Ireland. The advantage has definitely swung Dundalk's way, but things could change again on Monday night, who knows.

As much as it was a very surprise defeat for Cork, there is no guarnatee we won't lose at least once more in the next ten game. We won it last year with 3 defeats, and we're currently on one. Also we have Rovers and Pats both twice to play not to mention Cork away.

7 points ahead with 10 games to go is a great lead, but it's only August, if we are ahead by something similar in October,that's a different story.

Big movers this weekend were Pats and Rovers, both will be looking to challenge for 2nd spot now, and that was probably not as clear a few weeks ago.

Still plenty to to play for, for the top 4, huge credit to Limerick, not just for obvious reason,
    Going into the ground last night there was a strange nervousness in the air and that was also shown in the opening exchanges where if a nuetral was watching they might've been forgiven for thinking limerick were the team battling for the title. Every time we equalized we all thought we would get another and go on to win, well that's what I felt anyway, but credit to limerick they showed great resolve to keep getting back in front. I think the impact of that result will be detrimental to our title chances as we were bang in form and now we have a few injuries to contend with plus the fact dundalk have pulled 7 points ahead, and rovers and pats now breathing down our necks too. I'm not very confident about Monday but if we're to win the league we must win and dundalk have to lose, anything less and its over for us, I believe. Also limerick, I think, will be fine and stay up without the need for a playoff, winning is a habit and they are on a roll, unlike Drogheda and Galway who, unless they stop the rot, will finish as the bottom two. As disappointing as last night was, you gotta love this league, so unpredictable.

363 Posts
    Not so sure about that, this time last year we thought we were home and dry and we could have lost the title by drawing at home to you in the last game.

After Monday there will still be one more game in August and 2 full months, anything could happen.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Not so sure about that, this time last year we thought we were home and dry and we could have lost the title by drawing at home to you in the last game.

After Monday there will still be one more game in August and 2 full months, anything could happen.
    I was very confident we would overhaul ye but last night put a big dent in those thoughts. Your right, last year we came back from a similar points deficit so maybe we could still be hopeful, but as I said we need to win Monday and for ye to drop points.

79 Posts
    Sure Brennan's guaranteed to be sent off

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Sure Brennan's guaranteed to be sent off
    He's suspended.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast