Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Run-In

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts

The Run-In

Was wondering about peoples thoughts. Can the team stay up? A 7 point gap and 11 games to do it isn't the worst scenario admittedly, but I think the kind of performance the team showcases in the next game, after beating 11th placed Sligo, will be telling.

I really hope these new players can get a few more points in the next few games, and make Sligo, Derry and whoever else a bit more nervous than they previously were. You can easily imagine a scenario where Limerick make a real fight of it and I'm more hopeful than I have been in a while.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

56 Posts
    Can they stay up? Most definitely. Will they? Hard to tell at this stage. Even if we edge ahead of Sligo, how good or bad are the top First Division teams?

Three points against Bohs, though. That'll do nicely. Hopefully Cork can do us a favour.

25 Posts
    Holy relegation dogfight Batman...

56 Posts
    Just the way we like it.

Well, no. Not the way we like it. But better than whimpering to a winless rock bottom season.

46 Posts
    Brilliant stuff keep it going need cork to pick up the 3pts on sligo tonight sligo with a new manager will be expected to pick up 3 or 4 wins hopefully we can stay with them put the pressure on them.

25 Posts
    Cork 1-0 up, Mark Sull

999 Posts
    Sweet mother of jesus, that was something.

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Sweet mother of jesus, that was something.
    We got our moneys worth tonight

I cant say much on the match, it was just mad.

46 Posts
    Incredible result tonight massive well done to all the lads sligo lads will be shocked they'll think they are 7 clear until the get into the dressing room.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    847 Posts
    This is it, when Sligo see that score line they will be sickened you'd hope. Superb result tonight. Well done lads. Delighted.

25 Posts
    Well holy god

If we beat Longford on Monday night we are only six points behind them and they are in 7th place. That said all our remaining home games are against the big boys but our form is brill at the moment. This season has been turned on its head in the last fortnight.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    Crazy series of matches. Keeping my eye firmly on overtaking Sligo before anything else, but holy God if they keep this up they are well capable of it. Pity Drogs let Sligo win so easy tonight.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

56 Posts
    We can't have any complaints if we're relegated at the end of this season, given our performances over the first two thirds, but we're in with a right chance of escaping now.

We can catch Sligo, and you'd hope our pulling out a result against Cork City would take the wind from the sails of their win last night. The interesting thing is to look at the teams just above Sligo. With Galway, Drogheda and Derry all on 22 points and plenty of matches between them before the end of the season, all we have to do is focus on chasing Sligo and both Limerick and Sligo could find themselves above one of those three.

504 Posts
    Longford are all over the shop at the minute, we could be good or absolutely cat, very very short in defense, but have the players to cause Limerick a lot of trouble in defense. I can see this being 2-2+ interest. No idea who will win, but I hope there's a load of goals and another mental match.

Twill be my 1st trip to the away end of MF, bit worried the view will be crap, I never really like behind the goal views..

a few of the lads were saying it's one of the best views in the ground

Best place as any I suppose... hoping to get there for the 2nd half but it'll be more likely closer to 9, will gates be open?

504 Posts
    Good luck tonight lads, I'm both excited and absolutely dreading this match, still feels very make or break for Limerick, and I'd love if ye stay up, but Town badly need points and a good performance to steady the ship. I'll be bringing a few first timers to the away end, so at least I'm making ye some money..

Friend of mine made a bet with me at the Sligo match, which resulted in him having to buy a Limerick jersey, so will there be any bother with us getting into the home end after the match to pick one up? He tried to buy one at the Bohs match but they were sold out, but there's meant to be more on sale tonight according to your wan in the shop.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Good luck tonight lads, I'm both excited and absolutely dreading this match, still feels very make or break for Limerick, and I'd love if ye stay up, but Town badly need points and a good performance to steady the ship. I'll be bringing a few first timers to the away end, so at least I'm making ye some money..

Friend of mine made a bet with me at the Sligo match, which resulted in him having to buy a Limerick jersey, so will there be any bother with us getting into the home end after the match to pick one up? He tried to buy one at the Bohs match but they were sold out, but there's meant to be more on sale tonight according to your wan in the shop.
    Can't see there being any bother sher until we decided we were gonna try the main stand ye were gonna have home fans in the same stand as ye so can't be expecting trouble and every other game except Bohs away fans were allowed stroll up that side of the ground at half time.

2 hours to kick off, I haven't felt this nervous in a long long time. Hopefully the team doesn't feel nerves and goes out and play the attacking game we have been doing the last few weeks, if we play like that we should be ok! I'll predict a 2 nil win.
    Come on the Superblues...

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast