Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Dundalk's pitch and ground discussion thread.

870 Posts
    Pandoras box EP, once ye open one of the videos ye wont be able to unwatch!

447 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Pandoras box EP, once ye open one of the videos ye wont be able to unwatch!
    a bit like starting a conversation on the surfact at Oriel Park!

360 Posts
    I think it wss 2008 that Maxi brought part of Dublin city centre to a standstill, fast forward to 2015 and he's making a cameo appearance on a live link on RTE tv in 'The afternoon show', which ends with Daithi O Se announcing 'Up the town' only to be corrected by Maxi who says 'Its c'mon the town'....................unbelievable

Anyway back to the pitch, there's a full 90 mins to have a good old look at it tonight for the tv audience.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I think it wss 2008 that Maxi brought part of Dublin city centre to a standstill, fast forward to 2015 and he's making a cameo appearance on a live link on RTE tv in 'The afternoon show', which ends with Daithi O Se announcing 'Up the town' only to be corrected by Maxi who says 'Its c'mon the town'....................unbelievable

Anyway back to the pitch, there's a full 90 mins to have a good old look at it tonight for the tv audience.
    I have it set to record but only so I can catch a glimpse of Maxi.

360 Posts
    You might be in luck, for the big games and ones on tv, he sometimes puts on the suit with dfc tie to give the impression he's part of the scene. He likes to stand behind the home dugout too. Can't fault him for trying..............
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

447 Posts
    You might be in luck, for the big games and ones on tv, he sometimes puts on the suit with dfc tie to give the impression he's part of the scene. He likes to stand behind the home dugout too. Can't fault him for trying..............
    I thought he'd switched over to the Shed last year?

870 Posts
    The minions are in the Shed and so would he if the cameras faced that way.

555 Posts
    Posters will have great fun spotting all the wayward bounces (more fun that watching their own teams play, in some cases).

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Posters will have great fun spotting all the wayward bounces (more fun that watching their own teams play, in some cases).
    I kinda feel we've tempted fate now and there will be a pitch related incident or dozens of them for non Dundalk fans!

447 Posts
    Look at McMillan falling all over the place, clearly the pitch...

Only just switched it on but looks like all the crisps have been cleared up, fair play.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Only just switched it on but looks like all the crisps have been cleared up, fair play.
    That's what Maxis for.He clears up the crisps and we use him the odd time to roll the pitch.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

555 Posts
    Home from the game and found out my Sky box didn't record the game.

I had a bet on that Kerr would mention the pitch as an issue less than 10 times. My mate said more than 10 times.

Do I owe him a tenner?

870 Posts
    No WH but it was a close call!

360 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Home from the game and found out my Sky box didn't record the game.

I had a bet on that Kerr would mention the pitch as an issue less than 10 times. My mate said more than 10 times.

Do I owe him a tenner?
    Hate when that happens on the planner. You might get it on rte player, check later today or tomorrow as they upload all the time.

Kerr did have a fair few mentions, but he said previously he was no fan, so it wasn't unexpected. The pitch definitely suits our quick passing game and that's 21 league games now unbeaten at home, but it's not impossible to lose on it.

Rovers beat us in the cup at home last year. Also we lost two other competitive games at home, Coleraine in Setanta, and Hajduk Split in EL, and to complete the list for all anoraks, Barnsley in a friendly.

In season 2012 during the holiday year the club had with McCaffrey we lost considerably more than we drew at home and even when we were competitive in 2009-2011 we lost over 5 games per season at home.

433 Posts
    Shussssh Mike.Tell the feckers nothing.Need to know only
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

21. Thanks From:

62 Posts
    Came across a Dundalk v Galway FAI Cup game on youtube recently, sunday afternoon 3.30 game, where John Saunders stated that Oriel Park was one of the best soccer grounds in Ireland. It has not been improved too much since but I think there is a bit too much giving out about facilities in the LoI. I saw on twitter that the Bohs president said that Jackman Park in perfectly fine for our league. Until we get a lot more going to games I think he has a valid point.
    I know Tony Cousins had strong words to say about the surface there after his team came from behind to get a draw against Limerick. However the surface in E Deacy Park wasn't too bad last night yet Longfords most effective and popular tactic was the long high ball into the box.

870 Posts
    In any small community there will be over criticism of others. For me the eccentricities of the league is what gives its appeal, Its not the Sky version of the EPL and thats the version that many football fans expect. Things like a football flying in the hatch of a chip van from a wayward shot in Oriel, standing in a cow field in Monaghan wathing a game make for interesting experiences rather than the sanatised experience people get watching foreign games on tv. Those that travel to games abroad will have some more insight as they may witness and have stories to tell of say large scale crowd trouble or just little things about the effort of travelling. I like the away section in Drogheda but hate the souless Tallaght. I'm all for improving things and a league wide programme of ground improvements need to be put in place but all in when it comes to this league we should be less critical of our own - people in glasshouses shouldnt throw stones. When clubs have wembley like grass pitches then rant about the Oriel pitch as much as you can...its always about the Oriel pitch with us....

24. Thanks From:

177 Posts
    Could they not throw in a few concrete steps behind the goal, watching football standing on a grass bank ... is a bit 1950's really.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Could they not throw in a few concrete steps behind the goal, watching football standing on a grass bank ... is a bit 1950's really.
    Have you not seen the pics of Turners Cross early '90's? Agreed though it is an area of the ground that can be developed but rather with a stand than another terrace. The away terrace in Oriel was brand new at one time too!

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast