Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314

Thread: EA Sports Cup 2015

819 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Most fan groups around the country pay for their own flare fines.
    Not so sure about that, obviously it's possible for the likes of rovers ultras, the NBB and the SEI who have large numbers but for small clubs that might reach a cup final once In a blue moon or win the FD etc they are obviously going to want to let off some pyro

63 Posts
    On the crowd, the figure looks accurate to me if you add on top all the stewards, officials down from Dublin, guests, gardaí you may be close to 4k. The horse racing folks include these in their figures; jockeys, stable lads, everyone at the track. There were empty seats on Saturday.
    As others have said the LC still has some value and Pats having to play two games outside Dublin are worthy winners. My first ever game of proper/LoI soccer was in Terryland in the league cup against Thurles Town. Semi final on a October bank holiday with the great N Steadman playing. Long time ago. How long did Thurles last? and were they a Dublin based/backed club?

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Not so sure about that, obviously it's possible for the likes of rovers ultras, the NBB and the SEI who have large numbers but for small clubs that might reach a cup final once In a blue moon or win the FD etc they are obviously going to want to let off some pyro
    So, you're saying, if Section O caused Longford a fine of a couple of grand, knowing you'd do so in the first place, you'd refuse to pay it because there's not enough of you there and leave it up to the club to pay for a bit of idiocy from the fans?

79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I sincerely hope you are wrong with this, as the club has indeed worked very hard with community groups to stop these, and some even visited the club with the Community Worker and were told at first hand what it cost in fines. It would be nice to get all prize money this year as a full amount, without a single cent being deducted, after the disaster of last seasons fines (over 20k). With 3 home games remaining and a possible cup final, the current fines total in all areas is Zero.

Last years fines of over 20k was just a ridiculous waste of hard earned income.
    Il put money on it that they will have flares/smoke bombs!

Surely that's an even better reason not to saddle the club with it.

819 Posts
    Fans pay enough money all year long following their clubs, if they can't let a bit of pyro off at a cup final then what's the point. So many people take the moral high ground on this yet they are usually the first one sharing photos from away day pages on Twitter saying no pyro no party.

1,081 Posts
    Pyros are decidedly overrated especially when it's just one or two of them. Plenty of ways to celebrate that won't incur fines.

Fans pay enough money all year long following their clubs, if they can't let a bit of pyro off at a cup final then what's the point.
    Are you asking what's the point in supporting a team in a cup final if you can't use flares? How odd.

So many people take the moral high ground on this yet they are usually the first one sharing photos from away day pages on Twitter saying no pyro no party.
    I haven't seen too many on here be on any moral high ground.

Fans pay enough money all year long following their clubs, if they can't let a bit of pyro off at a cup final then what's the point. So many people take the moral high ground on this yet they are usually the first one sharing photos from away day pages on Twitter saying no pyro no party.
    Obviously the fines for pyro are an issue but, knowing they'll damage the club financially, why would you do it?

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

I haven't seen too many on here be on any moral high ground.
    I've got an ivory tower.

819 Posts
    Personally I don't believe you need pyro to create a good atmosphere and the last time I can remember anyone in section O letting any off was when we won the league but I'd be surprised if some of the younger lads hadn't something up their sleeve for Friday. As long as the people letting it off are responsible I don't have a problem with it. I can see why clubs would be frustrated with needless fines though and that's why I'd never let any off myself, well that and I'd probably burn the place down.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    As long as the people letting it off are responsible I don't have a problem with it.
    Does your definition of "responsible" include paying any fines?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Taking about pyro, Basel this weekend, yeah down with this sort of thing

819 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Does your definition of "responsible" include paying any fines?
    It would look crap in that away end anyway so hopefully nobody gets in with any.

125 Posts
    As an ashmatic pyros are horrific to be around.
    I remember the setanta cup final last year and I nearly choked with the fumes of the them.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Final being shown at the moment on setanta Ireland, followed by dundalk vs bray. And after that there's a show each about Keith fahey and Jason Byrne. Setanta looking after us this Xmas

2,346 Posts
    Santanta.

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Final being shown at the moment on setanta Ireland, followed by dundalk vs bray. And after that there's a show each about Keith fahey and Jason Byrne. Setanta looking after us this Xmas
    no talk about setanta cup for 2016? wonder is there an appetite for it in the north still?

Hopefuly Would like to see it this year

Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314