Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: EA Sports Cup 2015

2,346 Posts

3,215 Posts
    Actually, I see you were replying to GypsyBlackCat rather than me.

772 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Quarter Final Draw:

Cork City V St Patricks Ath
    Galway United v Bohemian FC
    UCC v Dundalk
    Derry City v Shamrock Rovers
    Blasted Dublin bias. Making all the pale teams travel long distances midweek!!

I'm sure the FAI will make up for it by appointing Dub refs for all 4 fixtures.

271 Posts
    The dublin media won't be happy with all the midweek traveling either expect extra biased reports than normal.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    The dublin media won't be happy with all the midweek traveling either expect extra biased reports than normal.
    Report? They won't even leave Dublin!
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

55 Posts
    Considering UCD are no longer in the top flight, I'd doubt it.
    At the time, it was around 2012. I remember it was in a pub quiz and we were the only team it get it right. Someone wanted the points taken off us as, they claimed, UCD aren't an real university team!!

55 Posts
    I would be fairly confident we are not the only university side playing top flight football in Europe at the moment...
    Who are the others? I checked most of the top divisions in Europe to see but didn't find any. I'm sure their might be in the lower divisions. And yes I'm aware that UCD are in the First Division

2,346 Posts
    Monday 18th May

Galway v Bohs - Deacy Park 7:45pm
    UCC V Dundalk - Mardyke 8pm

Tuesday 19th May

Cork v St Pats - Turners Cross 7:45pm
    Derry v Shamrock Rovers - Brandywell 7:45pm

Four midweek cross-country trips. That'll go well.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Four midweek cross-country trips. That'll go well.
    We better get a grand for going to Cork
    Here on a technicality.

86 Posts
    Monday 18th May

Galway v Bohs - Deacy Park 7:45pm
    UCC V Dundalk - Mardyke 8pm

Tuesday 19th May

Cork v St Pats - Turners Cross 7:45pm
    Derry v Shamrock Rovers - Brandywell 7:45pm
    None of the quarter finals in Dublin. That must be a rarity. Even rarer that 2 are in Cork.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    We better get a grand for going to Cork
    Does Tuesday suit ye? Wouldn't want ye unhappy and threaten to pull out

159 Posts
    Big game for ucc against dundalk tonight at the mardyke. Dundalk, of course, will be overwhelming favourites but I don't think it will as straightforward as that and I can see ucc giving them a bit of a fright.

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Big game for ucc against dundalk tonight at the mardyke. Dundalk, of course, will be overwhelming favourites but I don't think it will as straightforward as that and I can see ucc giving them a bit of a fright.
    Well it will be youths and squad men that will travel you may well be right.

363 Posts
    The UCC v Dundalk game might be a lot closer than most think as Nesta suggested it will be a have lot of youths in the line up. I'm not expecting anyone who started v Derry to be involved and probably only two who finished that game will start. Kurtis Byrne will, John Mountney might, both were subs on Friday night.

It will give the likes Gab Sava, Shane Grimes, Gerogie Poynton, Jake Kelly and young local striker Ciaran O'Connor a start. All of these are first team squad members.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

873 Posts
    Are UCC better than Shels? It was a bit of a mismatch in Oriel v Shels even with the fringe players and youths!

271 Posts
    Haven't a clue what way Bucko is thinking on the team selection on Tuesday, he may well give all the back up lads a run or none but id guess he will make only one or two swaps after the poor display out in Bray, based on the guess that we will make only one or two changes the odds of 2/1 aren't bad. Hopefully the team can bounce back with a decent display.

159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Maybe not, currently 3-0 dundalk

159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Haven't a clue what way Bucko is thinking on the team selection on Tuesday, he may well give all the back up lads a run or none but id guess he will make only one or two swaps after the poor display out in Bray, based on the guess that we will make only one or two changes the odds of 2/1 aren't bad. Hopefully the team can bounce back with a decent display.
    I'm dying for us to win this trophy as it's the only one I'm missing. I imagine both sides will field a few squad players. I can see Alan Smith in nets for us, maybe mcsweeney, o shea, Kearney, lehane and Morrissey getting some game time also.

Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast