Page 4 of 23 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Off season rumours

To be honest I'd say the club is just about hanging in there. Without Pats money we'd be in big trouble. Thing is that is the same all around the league. Barr 4 teams all the attendances are very poor in this league. Dundalk have only had big crowds back recently, Cork always have good crowds but really swelled this year then you have the two rovers that get good steady attendance numbers. Bohs and Pats crowds are ok but not great and the rest are very poor.

Theres no reason why we cant get good crowds at our home games.theres a lot of soccer supporters around limerick but unfortunately its the premier league that they support.if the club can make the markets field a place were people will want to go it would great.hopefully they might get 2000+ at the games.it all depends on what type of a team that martin russell puts together for the 2015 season.as you said without pat o sullivans help the club would be in trouble.if they can get the local business community to help it would be great.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    https://twitter.com/BazzzaRyan/statu...00333138239488

Sentiment seems to pop up a fair bit with departing players.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    https://twitter.com/BazzzaRyan/statu...00333138239488

Sentiment seems to pop up a fair bit with departing players.
    It's very worrying seeing these comments regularly popping up but I think vague statements and/or comments like that are very unprofessional.

Barry was happy enough to play for us for 6 seasons without much as a peep from him and then the club release him and he bad mouths the club on Twitter with no explanation. Interesting to see Yvonne Tracy agreeing with him so can we take it that Shane Tracy is gone too, and can we expect him to take to Twitter whining too? What is it with Footballers and Twitter anyway. Shows a complete lack of class if you ask me!

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by donnrua View Post
    Barry was happy enough to play for us for 6 seasons without much as a peep from him and then the club release him and he bad mouths the club on Twitter with no explanation. Interesting to see Yvonne Tracy agreeing with him so can we take it that Shane Tracy is gone too, and can we expect him to take to Twitter whining too? What is it with Footballers and Twitter anyway. Shows a complete lack of class if you ask me!
    It shouldn't be said on Twitter and the like maybe but he is far from the first one and enough players say it while they are still there just in private. I'm more concerned about the reputation we will get as a club because this comes out from someone every single year last season it was a player leaving too because as he said he was forced out cos of the way he was treated.

25 Posts
    Barry has previous with this kind of thing if I'm not mistaken. If he's frustrated then Twitter is one of the few avenues open to him to voice that frustration. Still unprofessional mind, but I'm not sure he'll lose too much sleep over it.
    Ha?

What I've seen on Twitter is this:

Ex players giving out about the club.
    Ex-players telling other players they need to get out of the club and go elsewhere to a bigger team.
    Ex-players giving out about ex-managers.

Some of these players are the same guys that have put up comments about being delighted to have re-signed with the club when they have in the past.

I have heard about some carry on from certain people in the club which I have been disgusted by in the past but there is a way and means of doing things. Comments on Twitter giving no background or reasoning is not the way. Tarnishing a whole club as well is not very professional. Their are some good people involved in the club that don't deserve it. Could you imagine if the club put up something saying "X player has been released cause he caused trouble in the club".
    Last edited by Jofspring; 18/11/2014 at 1:36 PM.

Ryan has quickly forgot a lot of work people behind the scenes have done for him over the years, its a pity he has resorted to such pettiness but i think it says more about him than the club. You have to remember that the club have no real avenue to reply to such comments without coming across as unprofessional. Best to remember Ryan at his best for us and let him wallow in his nastiness.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    Ryan has quickly forgot a lot of work people behind the scenes have done for him over the years, its a pity he has resorted to such pettiness but i think it says more about him than the club. You have to remember that the club have no real avenue to reply to such comments without coming across as unprofessional. Best to remember Ryan at his best for us and let him wallow in his nastiness.
    No matter if it is nastiness or pettiness or not he is right and that shouldn't be ignored either. The treatment by Limerick of some players is a complete and utter disgrace and the way they do things in the off season leaves a lot to be desired. A few in the background used to dealing with first division players and don't seem to realise the same approach won't work with people in the premier. Still players up to last week players that did well for us last season that have no contact at all from the club regarding their future and that simply isn't good enough.

Who are the players that have been treated disgracefully? And by disgracefully I don't mean offered less money or released!

BWA, not sure how you make out he's right, from what I am led to believe he got the wrong end of the stick and over reacted. He was not badly treated more he didn't get what he wanted and threw a hissy fit. The club really looked after him over the years and he is now trying to sully their name.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    BWA, not sure how you make out he's right, from what I am led to believe he got the wrong end of the stick and over reacted. He was not badly treated more he didn't get what he wanted and threw a hissy fit. The club really looked after him over the years and he is now trying to sully their name.
    I'm not talking about his current situation I have no idea what went on with him I am talking about the fact Limerick have treated people badly before and the fact there were still some players waiting to hear from them last week on their futures they still are treating people badly. You seem to be involved with the club or know what goes on there from the way you are talking so you will know that things have been done badly by the club. Things like people waiting months to hear about their future and promises being made and repeatedly broken are not good ways to deal with people.

I know a lot of lads that have played for the club and have seen both sides people just sulking cos they don't get what they want but definitely the club need to improve on how they deal with people too. People inside the club can be just as quick if not as public in sullying peoples names when they want rid of them too.

People seem to forget that players break promises to clubs too and loyalty works both ways. Plenty of players have left Limerick in recent times and have said good things about the club. Some people seem to think that as soon as the season is over a player has to be offered a new contract - but sorry that's just not how it works in a part-time league. Maybe Russell is trying to replace some of the players he inherited and until such time as he does he keeping a few hanging on in a game of wait and see. If he got rid of all the players he didn't really rate and failed to replace them the thread would be alive with people ranting and raving about releasing players and not replacing them. And I'm still waiting to hear who exactly has been treated disgracefully?

420 Posts
    People seem to forget that players break promises to clubs too and loyalty works both ways. Plenty of players have left Limerick in recent times and have said good things about the club. Some people seem to think that as soon as the season is over a player has to be offered a new contract - but sorry that's just not how it works in a part-time league. Maybe Russell is trying to replace some of the players he inherited and until such time as he does he keeping a few hanging on in a game of wait and see. If he got rid of all the players he didn't really rate and failed to replace them the thread would be alive with people ranting and raving about releasing players and not replacing them. And I'm still waiting to hear who exactly has been treated disgracefully?
    I'll name one that isn't in the league anymore then and that isn't with the club currently. John Tierney when he left the club people were told he had told the club he wouldn't stay that he wanted mad money that he had said this and that and disrespected the club. After all the lies people in the club spread about him me and others seen text messages that proved almost everything they said had been a load of nonsense and that he had basically been forced out the door, that is a disgraceful way to treat someone that had won our player of the year the previous season. There was another just last season which I think is the one Jofspring is talking about that I can't mention for the same reason with a few others they are still playing and I'm not gonan drop em in it.

Who forgot that players break promises to the club? They do and that makes no difference at all to the fact the club treat some people badly and need to improve on it.

There is no-one saying people should be offered something immediately please show me where anyone has said that? I know one player that is there currently that was promised he was being offered a deal before the end of the season, up to 4 days ago he still hadn't heard a thing from the club that isn't a good way to treat people.

You have argued a lot of points that no-one made in your post.

Some people seem to think that as soon as the season is over a player has to be offered a new contract - but sorry that's just not how it works in a part-time league.
    Straw man.

No one has claimed that. Anywhere.

If he got rid of all the players he didn't really rate and failed to replace them the thread would be alive with people ranting and raving about releasing players and not replacing them
    They are rid of. They are out of contract.

The club has done it's business poorly over the last few off seasons. I don't think that's really up for debate to be honest.

Now on to Facebook to see what rumours the board are spreading around the place.

27 Posts
    Ryan will be a serious loss to our points total next year,.regarding Finn as a possible signing....lads ffs.
    Last edited by da bishop; 18/11/2014 at 6:49 PM.

Depends on the boys greed to ambition levels I suppose

It's still very early days in relation to signing players. We seem to forget that over the last few years we barely had a squad before the start of the season. I think we should wait and see what develops over the next few weeks. Russell showed in the summer break he can attract quality players. I reckon there will be a good squad in place shortly. That said it still won't satisfy a few on here who seem to only exist to want to be buds with the players and slam the club. That's only my personal opinion though.

The Ndo thing is the type of disaster that Limerick specialise in.

The most respected figure in the league ran out the door while we are gonna spend a fee grand on Anthony Fennellys badges.

Joey Ndo.
    Sam Oji.
    Lee Lynch.
    Patrick Nzuzi.
    Shane O'Connor.

There's five absolute no Brainers off the top of my head that should have been done the second the final whistle went in tallaght.

Instead we've the usual ghouling around while other clubs are off signing players that should be on our radar.

No panic though we only need a goalie a centre half (maybe two??) Two fullbacks two centre mids two wingers and a striker.....

On the Duggan thing I get completely where he's coming from he must have been sickened lookin at cork all year but at the same time stuff like that kinda grates with me. It's grand for blueblood or lim till I die to be fed up but he's a professional on a good wodge and I can't remember him having a particularly good game??

Nothin at all against him but it hasn't worked out and at this stage if we could get him off the books would be a good bit of business, having him here is gonna hamper us signing other players.
    Straw man am I? You seem to have a very short memory!!!

Page 4 of 23 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast