Thread: Congrats Dundalk

433 Posts
    Fair play to ya Bonnie! Gent as always

Been around for two other leagues but too young to remember!! This was special though

Champions

217 Posts
    Yes, congratulations Dundalk! Massive win when required. Enjoy the celebrations and like us in the Kingdom - winter well!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

126 Posts
    Fair play to Stephen Kenny for being gracious in victory and acknowledging our challenge this year. In the end the better side won, there's no question.

I feel we've done brilliantly this year from where we've come and expect us to push on next season, there should be increased money available for players with the European revenue we'll get, but I also expect the younger lads to have learned a lot from this year.

Edit: meant to put this in the match thread but congrats to Dundalk anyway.
    Last edited by adamd164; 25/10/2014 at 11:48 AM.

85 Posts
    I have been a foot.ie member for ten years waiting to see this thread. Beautiful. And fair play to Cork - fans were superb last night.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

54 Posts
    Well done to Dundalk.
    Gutted our lads didn't perform to their best when it most mattered. Think the long-term injuries and thread-bare squad could only be carried so far, and we came up short in the end. Proud of our fans, proud of our club.
    Can't argue when you lose three games to the champions, however!
    Hope they represent the LoI well in the CL, we'll do our best in the EL.
    ...Schwanholz, Herisau: a little bit of heaven...

27 Posts
    Well done Dundalk
    Founder, President and Sole Member of the Tipperary Galway United Supporters Club

537 Posts
    massive congrats to Dundalk ex flatmate is a huge Dundalk fan whose brother is strongly involved with Supporters club so delighted for him! I havent being to Oriel since 08 so really lookin forward to returnin there! I am so happy for Stephen Kenny and especially Vinny Perth who was treated terribly by us in 08 when he was caretaker mgr. if I rem correctly VP as caretaker we beat Dundalk in Oriel!

on the bad side awful that their bandwagon support did what they did to Cork fans thats disgraceful carryon!

433 Posts
    massive congrats to Dundalk ex flatmate is a huge Dundalk fan whose brother is strongly involved with Supporters club so delighted for him! I havent being to Oriel since 08 so really lookin forward to returnin there! I am so happy for Stephen Kenny and especially Vinny Perth who was treated terribly by us in 08 when he was caretaker mgr. if I rem correctly VP as caretaker we beat Dundalk in Oriel!

on the bad side awful that their bandwagon support did what they did to Cork fans thats disgraceful carryon!
    What happened ?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Well done Dundalk well deserved - and an epic effort from Cork who seem to have found themselves a good manager and some very promising young players.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    What happened ?
    This..

Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    It's a pity a large number of their fans felt the need to come over at the end of the game goading and throwing bottles, golf balls, and various other missiles at City fans.
    I seen about 100+ guys form in front of the away supports while making foul gestures before being pushed away by security, really poor behaviour from our so called fans. I only seen this from the shed so didn't know they threw stuff as well.
    Children in the dark cause accidents.
    Accidents in the dark cause children.

86 Posts
    Congrats Dundalk, over the course of the season it was deserved.

On the topic of the scum, it's hard to get worked up about them. They're just an embarrassment.

86 Posts
    Congratulations to Dundalk.
    Worthy Champions.
    Best team in the League by far but we ran them close.

What happened at the end was unfortunate.
    Could have been a lot worse with no thanks to the Gardai & security who seemed asleep to it all.
    Only for the City fans being so restrained there could have been a serious incident which would have spoiled such a great occasion.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    On the topic of the scum, it's hard to get worked up about them. They're just an embarrassment.
    Well it was a brutal advertisement for Dundalk to see a sizeable number ignoring the team and going to the away fans.

Just for some balance, it was good to see a few of the home fans commiserate with cork players on their way to the celebrations too though.

125 Posts
    CHAMP10NS

Great game from start to finish. Actually I lost my voice. If anyone finds it please send me a PM.

Kudos to travelling CCFC fans,. your a delight and credit to your city and your club.
    Long Live King Kenny

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    Congrats to Dundalk, they deserved to win the league this year. It's a pity a large number of their fans felt the need to come over at the end of the game goading and throwing bottles, golf balls, and various other missiles at City fans.
    Absolute morons and they are an embarrassment to the club and the town. I hope no one got hit by one of these objects. I just don't understand the mentality of being bad winners like this and just not celebrating in a normal way. No need to behave like this. Unfortunately most clubs in this league have a few eejits following them and give the rest of us who follow the league a bad name.

I lived in Cork for a year and it's a great city, so it's great to see the club on the up again this year. Caulfield has work wonders.
    @AidanMcGuinness

105 Posts
    Don't think I could take all the self congratulating if Cork won it. So well done Dundalk.

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    Congratulations to Dundalk.
    Worthy Champions.
    Best team in the League by far but we ran them close.

What happened at the end was unfortunate.
    Could have been a lot worse with no thanks to the Gardai & security who seemed asleep to it all.
    Only for the City fans being so restrained there could have been a serious incident which would have spoiled such a great occasion.
    I'm very sorry to hear about how a small section of our fans behaved in front of the away support. This was totally unacceptable and goes against all sporting fair play. It's also very disappointing to hear as myself and my friends made it our business to be welcome and friendly to loads of city fans pre match.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Donie Forde View Post
    Well done to Dundalk.
    Gutted our lads didn't perform to their best when it most mattered. Think the long-term injuries and thread-bare squad could only be carried so far, and we came up short in the end. Proud of our fans, proud of our club.
    Can't argue when you lose three games to the champions, however!
    Hope they represent the LoI well in the CL, we'll do our best in the EL.
    I have it say I was really worried after Bray, thought we lost a little momentum, but the big players stood up last night, Towell, O'Donnell and Hoban in particular put in great shifts. The feeling when the second goal went in was just magic, no other word, amazing night and it really means everything. I had a chat with an old school teacher who is in Germany 15 years, and a good guy who was a former programme editor in the early 80's, moved away due to recession 28 years ago, these are the guys you feel so happy for.

Thanks Donnie, you boys just fell short, but you can take great encouragement from an excellent campaign. We never thought you would win those last 6 games, but you did. However losing 3 times v Dundalk was crucial. I enjoyed meeting a lot of city fans pre match, lovely fans, but almost all I asked were not too confident pre match. Hope you all enjoyed your visit. Kennedy's pre match was like a city fan club!
    Last edited by oriel; 25/10/2014 at 9:56 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Kennedy's pre match was like a city fan club!
    Shame a lot of us didn't get to experience the pre match build up as we were left waiting around 45 minutes outside Dundalk for a garda escort to the ground. Didn't get into the ground until around 15mins before kick off which was a shame

555 Posts
    Good article by Eamonn Sweeney in the Indo today.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30693464.html