Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Dundalk V Cork

433 Posts
    The scalpers are at it already!

....One user called ‘Boyleski’ has placed four tickets for Friday’s game for sale on adverts.ie. The ground tickets cost just €10 each but he is selling the quartet for €200.
    http://talkofthetown.ie/2014/10/20/d...-value-online/
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

386 Posts
    Would prefer to see Dundalk win it but fair play to Cork if they win it. Caulfield has really got the team believing in themselves

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    That's outrages....I can get you a ticket for €190

I'm routing for Dundalk in this.
    I think Kenny is a decent football man and had really done a fantastic job there.
    Nothing against Cork at all but Dundalk have played some fantastic stuff this season and that would always be my pick when we aren't going to challenge.
    Should be gripping stuff either way.

772 Posts
    I'm going for Cork.

535 Posts
    I want Dundalk to win this as they are the better team and I used to share a house with a big Dundalk fan so I know their passion for the club! I would like Athlone to stay up -imagine us,Sligo and Athlone or Galway next season they will be some craic and some local derbies! btw Dundalk beat Waterford in the playoffs two years ago!

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    I'm going for Cork.
    You rebel.

125 Posts
    Have to say I thought I would be alot more nervous and edgy this week but I am actually quite calm.

A wife, mistress and a mortgage all one month late, now that's pressure.

Going for Dundalk but I think cork will do it. Last kick of the game to equalize the match.
    Long Live King Kenny

37 Posts
    Hey mods, can ye put up one of those polls so we can vote on who we think will win the League?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

1,912 Posts
    Unfortunately for Cork. they have been put into a situation where they have peaked prematurely.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Last kick of the game to equalize the match.
    My god if that happened would be amazing.. seen us win a league on the last day twice now in 2005 and 2011 so I'm hoping to see a third one

1,813 Posts
    Dundalk. For the love God Dundalk.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Dundalk. For the love God Dundalk.
    Galway. For the love of god Galway

555 Posts
    Martin Lawlor posted a message on the Dundalk FC Facebook page. I thought I'd share it here:

True Story : the league win in 1991 in Cork.
    First day '' Bang '' played our most scintillating football of the season in the first half at home to Shels............. walked out to my car after a 5 - 1 bashing.
    Lad follows me out to my car ......Lawlor lawlor your """""""" brutal , the whole lotta ye......... yis are this, yis are that ........ could'nt believe how nice he was to me .... I learned a whole new language that day ........and he topped it off by tearing up his Season ticket right up in to my face. ........ I just said one simple thing to him !!!!! '' Have Faith ''...........'' I'd have to say a million f'''''''''n rosary's after that'' say's he ..and he finished on that note. So we're down to Cork looking for a win and them needing just the draw. Myself and the lads at the back are smoking cigars all day, not a bit of ash dropped and a clean sheet allround and the boul aul Mc Nulty does his usual ..... and sticks it in the onion sack. ......... Pandemonium at the final whistle .... I ended up getting on the train with just me jocks and a towel ......nearly the full monty you could say ................. i was lucky to survive really ..it was nearly death by a million good will slaps ........ the travelling support that day was absolutely ''''''' AWESOME '''''''. I'm on the train then about an hour and a lad comes up as say's '' Well Morton '' de ye remember me !!!!!! in his most affluent D' Shed Accent ( love the bones of yis all ). I vaguely remembered his face , but just couldn't put him with any particular group of lads in Oriel. I said as much to him and he says back '' no bother Morton '' ...but tell me, do ye remember this !!!!! .... he shows me a season ticket in absolute flitters with sellotape all round it ............ that's been to every home game this season and the only reason is because you told me two words at the start of the season '' HAVE FAITH '' ....................... I'm the genius who gave ye all the stick after the Shells game in the carpark. We genuinely hugged each other and danced a F'''''''''n merry jig right there on the train. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ ...I am asking each and every supporter to '' Have Faith '' for the final game this friday. I am asking for a thunderous atmosphere of sheer human emotion to play your own role as Dundalk's extra man on the night. You guys picked me up so - so - so many times when the team were down ...you guys gave us a genuine reason to pull the shirt on and you could just feel your heart bursting with pride. Make no mistake about it lads ........ the guys on the park will need each and every one of you during this game to create that extra man.......... LADS N LASSIES. I ASK YOU ONCE AGAIN TO STAND TALL N PROUD AS A TRUE LILLYWHITE AND HELP BRING THE TITLE BACK HOME .........it's been away to long. best regards Martin
    Last edited by White Horse; 21/10/2014 at 12:21 AM.

447 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    You rebel.
    I see what you did there!

Question for Cork fans: 95th minute in Oriel Park, the scores are tied, yet another Cork attack is cynically killed by the Dundalk defence and all of a sudden Richie Towell breaks towards the half-way line in a b-line for McNulty's goal. Does Colin Healy A) take him down and destroy City's unblemished 0 fouls in 2014 statistic; or B) does he let him run on safe in the knowledge that if there is a God he won't allow such moral rectitude go unrewarded?

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Question for Cork fans: 95th minute in Oriel Park, the scores are tied, yet another Cork attack is cynically killed by the Dundalk defence and all of a sudden Richie Towell breaks towards the half-way line in a b-line for McNulty's goal. Does Colin Healy A) take him down and destroy City's unblemished 0 fouls in 2014 statistic; or B) does he let him run on safe in the knowledge that if there is a God he won't allow such moral rectitude go unrewarded?
    C) Colin Healy calmly dispossesses him, goes forward and scores a screamer.

999 Posts
    When was the last time the title was decided by a game between the two contenders on the last day of the season?

462 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    When was the last time the title was decided by a game between the two contenders on the last day of the season?
    18/11/2005: Cork City 2-0 Derry City

Derry were leading by 1 point before the match.

25. Thanks From:

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    18/11/2005: Cork City 2-0 Derry City

Derry were leading by 1 point before the match.
    Interestingly, we had lead the league for a long time heading into the game and just before the game Derry had overtaken us and then had to travel to play us. I've already been through this in my head, it's a very bad precedent I feel.

In 2011, we won the league on the last day when a Graham Cummins 94th minute winner in Tolka knocked Shels off top spot.

In 1991, Dundalk overtook us in Turners Cross with a 1-0 win from an identical position to what we're in now.

In 1993, we won the league through the second round of a 3-way playoff between ourselves, Shels and Bohs.

So, we really don't do anything the easy way. It's tremendous fun though.
    Last edited by Pablo Escobar; 21/10/2014 at 6:58 AM.

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast