Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The big one

817 Posts

The big one

Simply put this is the biggest game of the entire season. Winner pretty much takes home the title with them. Section O were superb in tallaght on Friday gone by and expect them to have their biggest night of the season so far in tolka too with one bus already 3/4 full. You can book your seat through the usual platforms.

I'm confident wel beat shels and the fact they have a cup replay Tuesday night should help but I'm still worried about our formation and team selection. Don had a shocker in tallaght and needs to have a run up front especially with Davy struggling for support in recent games. I'd expect Mulhall to come back into the fold with Havo shifting back across to left back but the big issue on this team remains the wingers or lack of them and Kevin O'Connor really is wasted out on the flank so id love him to start in a 3 man midfield with ricer and Salmo and Rhys just didn't do enough to convince me in tallaght albeit against much tougher opposition.

A point will do us fine but the motivation of this team always seems to be go for the 3 and as a fan that's fantastic to see. Let's get behind the boys Friday night lads from beginning to end and make this the last trip to tolka for a long time!
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

105 Posts
    Can't wait for this one, really is a massive game. It's been said a lot, but we really do need a big away support. As regards the game itself, TC has a few decisions to make. Rhys or Sammo in the middle, and the two full back positions are up for grabs. That's allowing for no suspensions or injuries of course. Hoping we can sneak a win, be a great boost for us. Judging by the players interviews they seem well up for it.

817 Posts
    Happy to report 40 seats already snapped up and it's only Monday. This really is shaping up to be an epic encounter and you can be part of it. Details on how to book are available on the section o Facebook and twitter pages as well as Ltfc.ie

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    I put my name down for two, dusted the cobwebs of an old Longford scarf, looking forward to it. Where do ye guys usually get the bus from?

817 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    I put my name down for two, dusted the cobwebs of an old Longford scarf, looking forward to it. Where do ye guys usually get the bus from?
    Good Man fair play to ya, yeah we are hoping that as many people as possible will bring scarves and flags with them to create as much colour as we do noise. Just across from Lidl, probably be leaving around 5-15 but details will be confirmed on Facebook page.

Where do ye guys usually get the bus from?
    bus is leaving from the dublin road, across for lidl...
    I think Smithers picked me because of my motivational skills.
    Everyone says they have to work a lot harder when I'm around.

504 Posts
    Tempted to make my own way to the match, but we'd only lose if I did, so probably best I abstain.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Good Man fair play to ya, yeah we are hoping that as many people as possible will bring scarves and flags with them to create as much colour as we do noise. Just across from Lidl, probably be leaving around 5-15 but details will be confirmed on Facebook page.

Ha thanks, but I might add I'm not coming directly over from Basel, home at the moment

Edit: Longford crowd looked decent in tallaght on SR. what were the numbers?

817 Posts
    Ha thanks, but I might add I'm not coming directly over from Basel, home at the moment

Edit: Longford crowd looked decent in tallaght on SR. what were the numbers?
    We had a full 32 seater and then loads of people drove id say minimum 150

817 Posts
    First bus should fill up any time today so I'd expect us to have at least 200 fans if not more in tolka

If we cant get fans for this one ............. Should be a great atmosphere and I still cant forget the Shels muppets giving us grief earlier this season in Tolka ......... its there for the taking .....

2,346 Posts
    First bus should fill up any time today so I'd expect us to have at least 200 fans if not more in tolka
    So, the entire home support are going?

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    no were not all going some of us have work

1,081 Posts
    I know you're joking but I'd say that won't be too far off as there's quite a large number of Town fans who are Dublin based, including myself. I'd expect some lapsed fans to come out for this one too.

Yeah sorry to ruin your joke but the answer is yes and maybe more..
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

1,081 Posts
    Rumour on Twitter that the game is off due to the floodlights issue. That'd be a real sickener.

817 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Rumour on Twitter that the game is off due to the floodlights issue. That'd be a real sickener.
    Had a horrible feeling all day this might happen given the extensive damage from Tuesday night. They've had all week to fix it so if it's called off they should face action from the FAI but we know that will never happen coz they don't give 2 scratches about the league and how unprofessional it has become

Be very disappointing if it's true, hopefully they'll announce it either way tonight rather then waiting until the last minute.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

1,081 Posts
    Had a horrible feeling all day this might happen given the extensive damage from Tuesday night. They've had all week to fix it so if it's called off they should face action from the FAI but we know that will never happen coz they don't give 2 scratches about the league and how unprofessional it has become
    Latest rumour is that they're testing the lights at 6.00. Would have thought they'd know by now if it was fixed. If they didn't have a game on Monday the game could be played Saturday or Sunday afternoon but it'll probably be a midweek game now which is a pain in the arse for most away fans.

817 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Latest rumour is that they're testing the lights at 6.00. Would have thought they'd know by now if it was fixed. If they didn't have a game on Monday the game could be played Saturday or Sunday afternoon but it'll probably be a midweek game now which is a pain in the arse for most away fans.
    Croke park is packed all weekend so they mightn't get permission this late in the day.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast