Thread: Fai cup rovers away

818 Posts

Fai cup rovers away

It's the mighty shamrock rovers in tallaght stadium on Friday night. I get the feeling the interest isn't as high as it was when the draw was made becuase of the last 2 league results and I personally would sacrifice this game all day long for a win in tolka but none the less it should be a good day out. Section O are running a bus to the game as always and can be contacted through the usual platforms so don't be afraid to jump on the bus and save yourself petrol.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

49 Posts
    De Town are 8/1 with Boyle sports, but far more interesting (for me anyway) is a market I have never seen before. Paddy Power are going 1/3rd of the odds 5 places for first goalscorer so if you are lucky enough to get it great, but if your man scores 2nd or even 5th you get paid out. has to be worth a punt, if your interested click on the search bar in PP's site type Longford and click rovers v longford scroll down to this

First Goalscorer
    D Kelly 7/2 No Goalscorer 10/1 D O'Sullivan 7/1
    K Sheppard 5/1 G Shaw 9/1
    C Kilduff 5/1 Don Cowan 10/1
    K M Waters 5/1 P Hynes 10/1
    G McCabe 11/2 M Salmon 12/1
    R Finn 6/1 L Shannon 14/1
    Sean O'Connor 15/2 Kevin O'Connor 16/1
    R Brennan 8/1 Conor O'Brien 18/1
    R Bayly 8/1 S Rice 20/1
    P Cregg 9/1 Rhys Gorman 22/1
    Shane Robinson 9/1 W Tyrell 25/1
    S McPhail 14/1 G O'Connor 25/1
    E Osam 20/1 B McCarthy 33/1
    J McGuinness 20/1 Tom Morris 40/1
    David O'Connor 20/1 Gary Cronin 50/1
    S Madden 20/1 N Haverty 50/1
    C Kenna 25/1 James Mulhall 50/1
    Luke Byrne 25/1 P Flynn 66/1
    R Cornwall 25/1 P Sullivan 66/1
    Each Way Terms 1/3 places 1,2,3,4,5

1,081 Posts
    Brian McCarthy at 33/1 is a bit stingy

My moneys on Gary Cronin..
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

26 Posts
    tenner again this week on gary shaw to score 1st again so

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    My moneys on Gary Cronin..
    put the money on willie tyrell instead

818 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DRDoc View Post
    put the money on willie tyrell instead
    He did promise 5 goals this season

49 Posts
    It's funny and sad that all we have to discuss is what odds player and non player are to score,
    I'm going to take a chance on a win for De Town I think it will be very tight but 2-1 for us I can't see McGuinness coping with O Sullivan

504 Posts
    Fenlon knows how to win matches, Tony knows how to lose matches. Can only see one winner. Hopefully it's a good day out thou. Please let there be no replay, I'd rather we win or lose on the day.

Think tonight could be good for the players after the last few weeks. They're coming into the game as clear underdogs with virtually no pressure on them since the majority of us only care about next week. This squad of players are well able to put it up to Rovers on their day especially a Rovers team who will be taking the cup seriously and havnt performed well all season. Any kind of good performance here tonight could give us confidence heading into next Friday.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

They fought hard but never really looked like we had them troubled. It looked like a Premier division team against a First division side.
    I don't want to be too negative but it highlighted some of the deficiencies we need to address if we do go up. It was no surprise that we had plenty of the ball but didn't make their keeper work too hard because we've been snookered easily enough on a couple of occasions by much poorer sides.

I think it also showed that the Premier division pace is beyond some of our lads at the moment anyway, whether they could make the step up i'd doubt it. But we wont name names, they're still capable of winning a First division and we'll focus on positives going in to a much more important game.

818 Posts
    I was over and Sligo v Dundalk on Monday night and the difference in standard is actually incredible, the pace the games at the top of the premier are played at is crazy compared to the first division so there's absolutely no surprise that rovers had that edge over us.

If sully had bagged that chance early on it really could have been so different but at the end of the day it was a good brave performance and rovers really didn't look anything special so I think that combined with the fantastic atmosphere and support for the players tonight should carry us into tolka park with great confidence next weekend.

Have to give credit to every single one of the lads that traveled with us last night, a full bus and every one of them behaved as always and helped create a fantastic atmosphere as we totally outsang the rovers fans, you are a credit to the club lads and il see ye all in tolka next week. CMON DE TOWN

36 Posts
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dljme5OjCbQ

Post match reaction accompanied by Section O on backing vocals

Despite the result, I'd be happy enough with performance. They were just more clinical. We weren't outclassed or put under ridiculous pressure ourselves.

Not going to get into whataboutery, but its nuts how some players get stick for one mistake, and others seem to have a pass for the season.

Not sure we can definitively say whether players are up to the premier or not based on one game. Stepping up for one game is different to adjusting to the pace over a season/ every game.

I guess the banner for rice was a nice touch, but they obviously weren't that arsed about paying tribute to bother doing it the two previous times we've played in tallaght already.

Great support from section o too.

1,081 Posts
    I think 3-0 definitely flattered Rovers. It was a decent spirited performance from us. As Macy says I wouldn't make too many long term judgments on players based on last night but obviously we'd need to strengthen if we do go up and I'm sure the powers that be are well aware of that. All roads lead to Tolka next Friday. What a game that'll be. Some craic if we win.

818 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hollocaine View Post

Fantastic to hear sully saying such nice things about the fans and even better to see Don saying how far the club has professed and how well the players are treated. He also put to bed any rumours that he isn't happy out wide which was good but I still think he's wasted out there and would be far better off up top, he had a poor game last night.

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hollocaine View Post

Patrick Cregg sounding thrilled to bits to be at Rovers there!

537 Posts
    agree with lads observation. only for shams hitting us on the break. thought sect o was superb tonight.. rather us goin out to be honest. bring on Shels!