Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast

Thread: 24th/25th rounds LOI August 15th - 18th

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Regardless, we all know that FIFA rules aren't going to be followed to the letter on a LOI Monday night game in Cork. I find it hard to imagine that a 4th official would try to track down and return an errant coach over some shouted instructions, even if (IF) the rulebook explicitly backed him up in doing so.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Nonsense. If Buttimer is in charge, you can rest assured the most obscure and outdated rules will be enforced with pedantic efficiency while the action on the pitch goes by unnoticed.

Photo from hincha on ccfcforum:
    From 2014-08-18 City 1-1 Bray

Again, don't know if the rules of the technical area are clear on situations like this, but it would seem to defeat the purpose of having technical areas when you see a situation like this.

When the instructions are of a time wasting variety though, it sticks in the craw. I would like if there was a violation of a rule and for Bray to get fined for it just out of bitterness over the result.

3,223 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Not saying you're wrong or anything, just not sure what the rules are regarding technical areas, but what is stopping a manager going to the opposite sideline and walking up and down the length of the pitch barking instructions? You would prob argue that it's ok once he is in the stand. But what if there is no stand on one side, like say in athlone.
    It's happened before. Pat Dolan got sent off in Belfield Park I think, and just went behind the fence. Brendan Place got sent off in the Bowl when he was Athlone manager and did the same, though the ref did make a bit of a deal of getting him to go back a few yards. I remember seeing our goalkeeping coach in the stand opposite the Lego end in Tolka because it gave him a better view of what the keeper was doing.

Gordon Strachan used to name himself as a sub when he was player-manager of Coventry just so he had an excuse to go up and down the touchline giving orders to his players. I think he was told to stop - if he was outside the technical area, he was in his capacity as a player, not a manager.

I presume you have to name a minimum of officials on the bench. And others can go where they want. But it does sound like a bit of a loophole alright.

This has been happening for a good while now. Would it have been brought up if cork had have won? Move on lads, the reason you's didn't win was down to poor finishing nothing else

Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey View Post
    This has been happening for a good while now. Would it have been brought up if cork had have won? Move on lads, the reason you's didn't win was down to poor finishing nothing else
    It would have been brought up if we had won. We've acknowledged that it's our own fault for not scoring a second goal.

It'd be common enough for opposition coaches to be over our side (the Section O side) in the City Calling. I don't see how managers and coaches have to be in the technical area - it's common practice in much more high profile leagues for managers to sit in the stand/ director's box. I don't see the difference between that and being in the stands in the LoI, except for scale (of stadiums and crowds).

btw legend has it that when Keely was our manager in Abbeycartron, the ref threatened to send him off, but Keely was already behind the barrier so there was nothing the ref could do about the stick he was getting.

Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    It would have been brought up if we had won.
    Sure it would.

This is an absolutely nothing story. Every league in the world has coaches/officials away from the technical area. Cork fans are moaning about a goalkeeper coach giving instructions to an outfielder? Seriously?!

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey View Post
    I can not believe you have the cheek to show your face around here after Brays disgusting performance on Friday night. We will be lucky if football ever recovers from the bad name you've given it.

This could be the end.
    Here on a technicality.

3,223 Posts
    Bray don't mind about the end. We all know that after the end, all that'll be left will be the cockroaches and Bray Wanderers.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    I would like if there was a violation of a rule and for Bray to get fined for it just out of bitterness over the result.
    It would have been brought up if we had won.
    No it wouldn't. It's bitterness on my part pure and simple. I was just hoping there was no grey area and Bray would get a big fine.

Lads, once again to spell it out, I'm not talking just about the official in the stand giving instructions. In general, these sort of things, including referees performances etc., are brought up win, lose or draw. Some people really need to get a grip.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Sure it would.

This is an absolutely nothing story. Every league in the world has coaches/officials away from the technical area. Cork fans are moaning about a goalkeeper coach giving instructions to an outfielder? Seriously?!
    Either that or I just threw it in as a distraction to stop the bold boys bullying poor City Rebel and questioning his morality.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Some people really need to get a grip.
    Couldn't have said it better CR

If this bray official is at it during the next match they play, a small group of supporters should follow him around singing and shouting whilst he tries to instruct his player !

1,524 Posts
    A similar thing has been done before.

1,081 Posts
    Tom took it to an extreme level in a friendly between Town and UCD at the Foster's Avenue pitch in UCD some years back where he actually ran into the linesman and knocked him over. Tom took off like a rocket, I think he was afraid he'd be banned or something.

24. Thanks From:

63 Posts
    I remember Brian Kerr coaching, the Pats left back, from shed/stand up at Finn Harps when he was director of football at the club. He was right beside me in a fine suit, and really it was more encouragement than positional instructions he was giving out. Pats won 3-1 I remember, and the left back was the guy who had been in a court case along with John Terry, name anyone?
    Plenty of money in the league at the time anyway. It is a surprise that Kerr has not tried to get back managing in the LoI again as he seems to have a lot to say about it, maybe if he has no interest in managing any more.

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    It is a surprise that Kerr has not tried to get back managing in the LoI again as he seems to have a lot to say about it, maybe if he has no interest in managing any more.
    Nobody could afford Brian Kerr now. He's got far too high an opinion of himself and would outprice any manager in the league by a long distance.

Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast