Thread: Rovers assistant says Cawley remarks 'disgusting

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts

Rovers assistant says Cawley remarks 'disgusting

Alan Cawley seems to have hit a nerve!

Shamrock Rovers assistant manager John GIll has hit back at RTÉ pundit Alan Cawley in relation to remarks made on Monday’s Soccer Republic show.
    Cawley was very critical of the Hoops boss and stated that Shamrock Rovers have no identity under Trevor Croly.

He also believes the manager has failed to stamp his authority on the side, and remains uninspiring a year and a half into his role at the Dublin club.
    But Gill believes that Cawley has no right to judge the Hoops manager.

He stated Cawley does not know what is going on behind the scenes and is not privy to the work that Croly has been doing with the club’s youth structure and First Division side.

Speaking in the August edition of In Tallaght magazine, Gill said: “I thought it was disgusting. I could drag a few skeletons out of his closet, I’ve a few things I could say about Alan Cawley.

“Why would you listen to Alan Cawley? He wouldn’t know much about winning anything, he wouldn’t win you a corner.
    “Why would you listen to Alan Cawley? ... He wouldn’t win you a corner"
    “And saying he was uninspiring? What does he want? A Peter Kay type manager who’s cracking jokes after every match. It’s about running a football club and in my view, Trevor is the right man for the job.

“He’s a hurler on the ditch. Who is he to be criticising Trevor? It is easy to sit there and criticise a manager when you’ve never managed at a top level yourself.”
    Gill believes that Croly should be given more time as he is still learning his craft as a manager.

The Hoops assistant added: “If the fans could see the amount of work he is doing behind the scenes; he is building a football club, not just a team.
    “I have worked with some of the best managers in the country like Dermot Keely, Ray Treacy and Pete Mahon and he is up there with any of them.”
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish...at-rte-pundit/

222 Posts
    Alan's reply on Twitter:
    "Pirlo: "1 part of my job I'll never learn 2 love is d pre-match warm-up. I hate it wit every fibre of my being." A man after my own heart "

Don't get Gill's logic that unless you've managed at a top level, you can't comment on managers. I think Alan has a point.
    Have you ever won the treble?

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    John Gill inadvertently puts his finger on the problem at Rovers

John Gill says: ....but trust me those players are doing everything that's being asked of them
    http://issuu.com/intallaght/docs/intallaght_edition_56

229 Posts
    [QUOTE=Ezeikial;1769526]John Gill inadvertently puts his finger on the problem at Rovers

"He stated Cawley does not know what is going on behind the scenes and is not privy to the work that Croly has been doing with the club’s youth structure and First Division side."

Trevors new role when Fenlon takes over as Director of Football?

Actually I thought Cawleys remarks were over the top, I find Crolly`s post match interviews both inspiring and reassuring.

387 Posts
    This would be the First Division side who haven't scored a goal in 9 games?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    This would be the First Division side who haven't scored a goal in 9 games?
    ....yep, the one Colin Hawkins is employed to manage Maybe Hawkins is looking after the first team and Crolly the 'B' team ?

dead man walking, here's Nutsey

Crawley's a mouth that will say whatever's popular so he can retweet praise on twitter.

Gill's a slieveen mouth who's done nothing to suggest he has any superior footballing knowledge to Cawley

The only winners here are people like me who think both are thicks

Yep, it's a bit like watching a couple of stumbly lads in shell suits throwing slaps at each other on Talbot St.

It doesn't take Cawley talking pony for people to realise that the Hoops are going nowhere under Croly. Time to act, Jonathan Roche.

2,346 Posts
    Anyone hear Cawley on game on tonight on 2fm? Was asked for a response to John Gills statement and, well, in a nutshell said, "I couldn't give a fig what John Gill thinks, I gave a professional opinion and he made it personal".

873 Posts
    Giller probably said what he thought Rovers board wanted to hear though if he wants to end up as caretaker manager for the remainder of the season its distancing himself he maybe should be doing. TC seems like a nice guy and all but thats why he should be coaching not managing. Isnt Hawkins looking after the B team?

edit - Just read above
    Last edited by Nesta99; 02/08/2014 at 12:03 AM.

1,081 Posts
    Yeah Hawkins is in charge of them. Ten men behind the ball at all times. Not sure this experiment is doing the kids any good really. Maybe the defenders but they wouldn't have scored if they were there until Christmas.

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Crawley's a mouth that will say whatever's popular so he can retweet praise on twitter.

Gill's a slieveen mouth who's done nothing to suggest he has any superior footballing knowledge to Cawley

The only winners here are people like me who think both are thicks
    Spot on, Cawley's hardly a visionary .. One of the most mundane pundits on TV.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Crawley's a mouth....
    He's a pundit, it's what they do.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    He's a pundit, it's what they do.
    Some of them have a brain to go with the mouth though.

not many I'll grant you but...

126 Posts
    This week's Soccer Republic was absolutely hilarious with both Cawley and Croly on it! Best show they've done so far.

Edit - see here: http://balls.ie/football/video-things-got-awkward-trevor-croly-alan-cawley-soccer-republic/
    Last edited by adamd164; 05/08/2014 at 10:53 PM.

21. Thanks From:

433 Posts
    Fair play to Aidan Power and the producers on the show.No corners to hide in there
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

873 Posts
    Would have been crazy not to address the elephant in the room!

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Fair play to Aidan Power and the producers on the show.No corners to hide in there
    They didn't even put Stuey in between them
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.