Thread: Martin Russell

Martin Russell

Is your new king.

Allow me to be the first to say smashing appointment.
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 12/07/2014 at 3:17 AM. Reason: ALL HAIL KING MARTIN!!

420 Posts
    Oh super Taylor part 2. A man that has managed such fine players as Mick Leahy.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    Source?
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Is this confirmed? How long of a contract?
    To be fair to him, he did a solid but unspectacular job at UCD. Should keep us up.

Was Fenlon just a pipe dream? Could we not match his wage/ player demands? or was he even interested?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    Is this confirmed? How long of a contract?
    To be fair to him, he did a solid but unspectacular job at UCD. Should keep us up.

Was Fenlon just a pipe dream? Could we not match his wage/ player demands? or was he even interested?
    Not confirmed but looking like it will be happening. He did a nothing job with UCD tbh its in no way at all a step up from Taylor.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Not confirmed but looking like it will be happening. He did a nothing job with UCD tbh its in no way at all a step up from Taylor.
    He did ok with no budget and relying on young players. (Are we turning in to UCD?)
    Id agree with you, it is very much a side ways step... Did we ever have a realistic chance for Fenlon? This isn't really a "get the fans back" type of idea.

420 Posts
    He did ok with no budget and relying on young players. (Are we turning in to UCD?)
    Id agree with you, it is very much a side ways step... Did we ever have a realistic chance for Fenlon? This isn't really a "get the fans back" type of idea.
    His young players included Paul Corry ( Sheff Wednesday) and Ronan Finn brought in by the college our young players consist of people nowhere near good enough.

Fenlon wanted the job 100% ill find out tomorrow what the story is with that.

His young players included Paul Corry ( Sheff Wednesday) and Ronan Finn brought in by the college our young players consist of people nowhere near good enough.

Fenlon wanted the job 100% ill find out tomorrow what the story is with that.

We should link up with UL and try to do something similar.
    throw it up on here when you find out? Or DM it... I would love to know exactly how close we were to him.

420 Posts
    We should link up with UL and try to do something similar.
    throw it up on here when you find out? Or DM it... I would love to know exactly how close we were to him.
    Yep ill let ya know one way or another.

Stop saying he had no budget, did well with limited resources at ucd etc. Its a state sponsored football club with the safest coaching job in ireland.

3,195 Posts
    Club's not state sponsored.

And he did do well with limited resources and bugger all of a budget. Winning the First Division first time out was an amazing achievement given Shels and Fingal were in it too. Setanta Cup qualification first year back in the Premier. Then a big budget cut and never really hit those heights again. And then sued the club, which was a stupid way to end his time.

There's probably someone better that ye could have gotten, but Russell will do a job.

A job being safe isn't really relevant to anything.

Thing is we didn't/don't really need a manager that "will do a job". I always felt Taylor would have kept us safe. It's someone to drive us on is what we needed. There will be a lot more pressure on him to do well and bring us forward.

There is a few things I really don't want to hear from the manager or club:

1. Four Year Plan
    2. Limited Budget
    3. Stick with the young lads
    4. Walk before we run

3,195 Posts
    Yeah, that's fair enough. Russell had his ups and downs with us. Ups - first two seasons. Downs - last season in particular, and our horrific defensive record. He was putting himself out to a fair few clubs in the league towards the end of last season, but got no bites, which I found a bit surprising, but...

The phrase "A big club" is usually partisan pompous nonsense, but Limerick have to have the potential to drive on from where they are now and become a bigger club, maybe even a big club. I don't know is Russell the one for that. I think he'd be better than Taylor though. From my fairly limited exposure to Limerick, Taylor always struck me as a bit of a whinebag, too often looking to blame referees for his own team's shortcomings. I think Russell will be an improvement. How much by, I don't know.

420 Posts
    Club's not state sponsored.

And he did do well with limited resources and bugger all of a budget. Winning the First Division first time out was an amazing achievement given Shels and Fingal were in it too. Setanta Cup qualification first year back in the Premier. Then a big budget cut and never really hit those heights again. And then sued the club, which was a stupid way to end his time.

There's probably someone better that ye could have gotten, but Russell will do a job.

A job being safe isn't really relevant to anything.
    That is kinda counteracted by hoovering up young talent on scholarships though. And he had a team with Finn and Corry in the first division didn't he?

56 Posts
    We needed a manager who knows the league. Say what you will about Russell, he has that at least.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ped_ped View Post
    We needed a manager who knows the league. Say what you will about Russell, he has that at least.
    Roddy Collins, Pat Scully, Sean Connor and many many more know the league.

56 Posts
    True, but I would think that's where the comparisons stop with any of those three, no?

3,195 Posts
    That is kinda counteracted by hoovering up young talent on scholarships though.
    True. Limerick can sign players too though.
    And he had a team with Finn and Corry in the first division didn't he?
    Corry only played the last third of the season or so.

Still a hell of an achievement to pip Fingal and Shels to the title given I think one player (Brian Shortall) started the season with more senior appearances than the rest of the squad put together.

420 Posts
    True. Limerick can sign players too though.

Corry only played the last third of the season or so.

Still a hell of an achievement to pip Fingal and Shels to the title given I think one player (Brian Shortall) started the season with more senior appearances than the rest of the squad put together.

We can but we couldn't get people of Finns standard.

Shels made a thing of throwing away promotion back then though. A good achievement to get ye up yes but not that much of a surprise really didnt ye still have McMillan too.

You would know more about Russell than most im guessing and your description of him is really just meh.

3,195 Posts
    Maybe Finn was an exception, but there's no particular reason ye couldn't find someone of his standard (especially with Sullivan's money, which we don't have). Ye signed our captain last season for example. Our main problem is that our players are talented but inexperienced. Your experience is a big advantage compared to us. It's hard to directly compare the two.

That was McMillan's first season (well, he played about five minutes the previous year). We had a good team, but they needed to be coached well. We played ye in the first game of the season and to be honest we didn't look any great shakes. We improved over the course of the season, and that was down to Russell's coaching. But against that, while we tried to play passing football under Russell, our defence was porous, shall we say. If he can improve on that at Limerick and still coach well, he'll do ok with ye. If ye start defending like ye did, ye could be in trouble.

I think he's an improvement over Taylor. If that comes across as meh, then I guess it's still an improvement.