Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: CHAMPIONS (surely)

46 Posts

CHAMPIONS (surely)

7 games to go six clear huge goal diff surely surely that should be it premier football is back in Limerick

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Steady on.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Down with that sort of thing.

It will mean a serious **** up not to win the league now but lets not get a head of ourselves. Win 7 of our next 5 and we are champions. Each game one at a time.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    It will mean a serious **** up not to win the league now but lets not get a head of ourselves. Win 7 of our next 5 and we are champions. Each game one at a time.
    win 5 of the last 7 you mean? there was a time in a very bad place when after 10 games we had won 8 and were miles ahead of anything and finished lower mid table. it aint over till ....

46 Posts
    Win or next two games that should do it harps and waterford two tough games win them both and the champagne will be on ice also longford will have to make sure they win there games aswell.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Well after I predicted a win and several goals 'surely' vs SD Galway recently I am keeping quiet a while yet but it has been a favourable weekend results wise. More than could reasonably have been expected across all fixtures, even.

An aside but related, if we were to go up, how many of the squad on this seasons performances could impact in the level above? Would there need to be a major overhaul again? I think we would be looking at the strikers myself, and width also but I don't see the team play as often as most on here.

46 Posts
    Imo we need a goalkeeper two centre halfs with pace a right full a top winger and a top striker to compete week in week out against top top teams just my opinion.

504 Posts
    Ye'll be grand lads, league won, congrats! based on how you win every single game against teams outside of Waterford and Longford its nigh on impossible for Skully to screw it up.

Not a hope of ourselves or Waterford making up the gap, just enjoy it!
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 11/08/2012 at 11:49 PM.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    You're fooling nobody
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    You're fooling nobody
    Have you watched us play!?

Tony's done a very solid job building up the team over the least few years, but, as the seasons progressed I'm beginning to trust his tactical knowledge less and less, I can see why he was never quite all that liked in Galway.

Ser its grand means I get to watch some PD footie in person more often no matter who goes up
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 11/08/2012 at 11:57 PM.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Have you watched us play!?
    You impressed me last week, well set up. Set up to not lose and maybe nick it and good enough in possession most of the time to keep sustained pressure off. Broke well also at times.

2,346 Posts
    Steady on lads, you've still to play Harps next week

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    win 5 of the last 7 you mean? there was a time in a very bad place when after 10 games we had won 8 and were miles ahead of anything and finished lower mid table. it aint over till ....
    Ya sorry that's what I meant.

Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post

An aside but related, if we were to go up, how many of the squad on this seasons performances could impact in the level above? Would there need to be a major overhaul again? I think we would be looking at the strikers myself, and width also but I don't see the team play as often as most on here.
    Most definitely need to make a few changes if promoted. We have a good basis of a squad though and should hang onto most the experience. We have a few under 19's that I think could play very well in the premier. Especially if teams come out to attack us. Speed is the main thing we lack defensively. add maybe 5 or 6 new faces and we should be grand.

819 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    You impressed me last week, well set up. Set up to not lose and maybe nick it and good enough in possession most of the time to keep sustained pressure off. Broke well also at times.
    We did well last week because both teams played long ball tactics it was an entertaining 2nd half but thats because we were hanging on in all reality we havent played well in a long time now......I still have a funny feeling Waterford could upset you for the title yet, tell me this whats the goal diff between yourselves and Waterford?
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Waterford's goal difference is just 2 goals better than yers.

I hope this thread doesn't come back to haunt us. Too many false dawns to start counting our chickens too early. Lose to Finn Harps next week while Longford and Waterford win, charges the dynamic again. What this weekend gave us is a little more breathing space.

819 Posts
    So ye have a better GD than Waterford that could be crucial. Harps are a good team full of confidence right now so worst of luck next week

McHugh will be suspended that will probably save ye.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

2,346 Posts
    McHugh suspended, que Jordy Duffy from the under-19s. The next Kevin McHugh at only 17 years old. Be a nice way to burst onto the scene with a goal against Limerick ;P

Do ye reckon there will be many Limerick fans up next week?

24. Thanks From:

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    1 Limerick 21 49
    2 Waterford United 21 43
    3 Longford Town 21 43

NEXT 5 SETS OF FIXTURES FOR THE TOP 3.......
    17 Aug 2012 7:45pm Waterford United v Wexford Youths Regional Sports Centre
    18 Aug 2012 7:30pm Longford Town v Mervue United Flancare Park
    18 Aug 2012 7:45pm Finn Harps v Limerick Finn Park
    31 Aug 2012 7:45pm Athlone Town v Longford Town Lissywollen
    31 Aug 2012 7:45pm Limerick v Waterford United Jackman Park
    7 Sep 2012 7:45pm Limerick v Mervue United Jackman Park
    7 Sep 2012 7:45pm SD Galway v Waterford United Terryland Park
    8 Sep 2012 7:30pm Longford Town v Wexford Youths Flancare Park
    21 Sep 2012 7:45pm Waterford United v Longford Town Regional Sports Centre
    21 Sep 2012 7:45pm SD Galway v Limerick Terryland Park
    28 Sep 2012 7:45pm Limerick v Athlone Town Jackman Park
    29 Sep 2012 7:30pm Longford Town v SD Galway Flancare Park

Limerick require a max of 65pts at present to win the league outright (thats 16 more pts ie 5 wins and a draw out of 7 games).
    Last edited by abbeyvale; 12/08/2012 at 10:20 PM.
    68, 99, 08

2,346 Posts
    My prediction after going through all the games.

Limerick 64pts
    Longford 57pts
    Waterford 56pts

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast