Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: CHAMPIONS (surely)

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Steady on lads, you've still to play Harps next week
    Harps were coming off the back of three straight wins the last time we went up there and we beat ye very handily in the end.

If we play like we played in the first half in Wexford you've every chance. If we play like we played in the second we'll destroy ye.

If we do our usual mixture of both twill be a tight game.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Do ye reckon there will be many Limerick fans up next week?
    Hard to know.

Crowd in Wexford was tiny, easily our smallest of the season. Three games the previous weekend and a fairly big crowd watched us get hammered in Tallaght on the Monday so twas understandable in fairness.

I'd say you could get thirty to forty though with the way the weekend panned out.

On the League in general I admit it looks good, Longford haven't really kicked a ball since we beat them up there and Waterford have started dropping silly points at home.

Four points in our next two games and we're champions.

Having said that we are more than capable of losing our next two games and plunging into crisis mode. Interesting times.

2,346 Posts
    The last time ye came up we had Felix Healy in charge, 3 very lucky wins in a row.

This time we're a different prospect. It's a completely different Harps team since Healy left. Guarantee a good game next week and if we get the ball down and play a bit without silly mistakes then we'll give ye a right game. Looking forward to a good game of football.

1,524 Posts
    Jeez. I click into a Limerick "CHAMPIONS" thread and come away worried that Harps are getting carried away!

817 Posts
    Looking at those remaining fixtures I can see Limerick slipping up against Harps and Waterford which let's both United and Town back in but after that I can see us dropping silly points against the likes of Wexford while we need our 2 biggest performances ever away to united and at home to Limerick so I wouldn't put a dime in us winning it but I'm really looking forward to watch should be an epic run in, best of luck to all!
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    853 Posts
    Are we there yet?

Or will we lose in Longford and have a seriously twitchy 90 at home to Wexford on the last day.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Not quite "NAME. ON. THE TROPHY" time just yet, but getting there.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

46 Posts
    Really had to dig deep tonight playing with ten men for an hour. We should batter athlone next week there all over the place.
    I think we will win it next week i think Finn harps will get something off waterford at home tough place to go

Waterfords key is Sean Maguire as hes young. Harps have been playing an entire 19s squad for some weeks now so id expect mr magure to be matched on this one. Three games left athlone are in a shambolic state. Longford and finish at home to Wexford. It could be over next week

583 Posts
    To win the league next week, Limerick would have to win, Waterford would have to lose and Longford would have to drop points.

Just, mathematically speaking.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    1 Limerick 25 18 2 5 47 17 30 56
    2 Waterford United 25 16 4 5 40 24 16 52
    3 Longford Town 25 15 5 5 41 28 13 50

Results
    21 Sep 2012 7:45pm Waterford United 4 - 2 Longford Town
    21 Sep 2012 7:45pm SD Galway 0 - 1 Limerick

Fixtures
    28 Sep 2012 7:45pm Limerick v Athlone Town
    29 Sep 2012 7:30pm Longford Town v SD Galway
    29 Sep 2012 7:45pm Finn Harps v Waterford United
    5 Oct 2012 7:45pm Waterford United v Mervue United
    6 Oct 2012 7:30pm Longford Town v Limerick
    13 Oct 2012 7:45pm Athlone Town v Waterford United
    13 Oct 2012 7:45pm Finn Harps v Longford Town
    13 Oct 2012 7:45pm Limerick v Wexford Youths

A MAX OF 5PTS TO BE CHAMPS!!!!!!
    68, 99, 08

46 Posts
    A win next week will finish off longford all we need is harps to take a point off waterford leaving us 6pts clear with two games remaining that will be that with or huge goal diff.

Well done to pat sully i know we are not promoted as such but cant see us been caught he done what a lot of managers tried to do but failed. also well done to all the staff and players and the chairman Pat sullivan.

TBH i think we've had it won for that last couple of weeks when the main rivals started dropping points in silly ways. Only a chancer would **** it up now.....but 4 points from a possible 21 against the two teams who could muster anything against us should lead to many many departures in the off season. Only 3 victories from the last 3 might maintain some ones employment with the club

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    TBH i think we've had it won for that last couple of weeks when the main rivals started dropping points in silly ways. Only a chancer would **** it up now.....but 4 points from a possible 21 against the two teams who could muster anything against us should lead to many many departures in the off season. Only 3 victories from the last 3 might maintain some ones employment with the club
    its a cruel but honest professional assessment.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    I would disagree pat scullys job was to get limerick promoted that's what he is about to do, the team with the most points is the most consistent the table doesnt lie i would have to say dropping points to the teams close to limerick wasn't ideal but its all about what happens at the end of the season, it took scully along time to get the club promoted and fairplay to the sullivan for sticking with it.

583 Posts
    If Limerick get promoted, I can't see Scully being sacked. That was his job, and he will have achieved it, even if the manner of it being done was very haphazard.

Personally I think Limerick would be doing much better with someone else in charge, but I don't expect him to be gone when next season starts....if we get promoted.

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    If Limerick get promoted, I can't see Scully being sacked. That was his job, and he will have achieved it, even if the manner of it being done was very haphazard.

Personally I think Limerick would be doing much better with someone else in charge, but I don't expect him to be gone when next season starts....if we get promoted.
    He got us promoted and i think he and the team will be very comfortable in the premier it was rocky at times but at least we have the top teams coming to limerick next year, he should be given the chance.

583 Posts
    Limerick are not promoted yet. Seriously, we have a four point lead with nine left to play for. Talk about being "comfortable in the premier" is very premature and will be until we have a bigger points lead than points left to play for.

We wont be caught

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    853 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    He got us promoted and i think he and the team will be very comfortable in the premier it was rocky at times but at least we have the top teams coming to limerick next year, he should be given the chance.
    I hope you are right but I'd be worried the opposite could be on the cards, I mean, these top teams coming to Limerick when we have failed completely over his three seasons to perform on a big occasion at home for a start, suddenly every week will be a big club/occasion. Then couple that with virtually all our promotion (hopefully) points coming against the softer Div One sides, I don't see too many similar fixtures waiting in the division above where teams will yield handy points.

Now, fair play to him for getting us up, its where Limerick soccer belongs and its great to be back, but we haven't beaten a rival side at home in three seasons and we will have to be strong at home, as away trips will be bloody difficult up top, with this major fault line still running through Scully's tenure as Limerick manager Id be more cautious.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast