Thread: all it takes is one idiot

46 Posts

all it takes is one idiot

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...merick-FC.html

Headline on every paper all over Europe what must pat o Sullivan be thinking the effort that was put into this event gutted for him city will prob never come near us again. THoughts?

999 Posts
    Is it very embarrassing? Yes of course. Should the club do all they can to identify the idiot(s)? Yes of course. Should the club make it known that they will do all they can to identify the idiot(s)? Yes of course. But.....

with statements like 'headline on every paper all over Europe' and 'the city will prob never come near us again', the winner for the award for overstatement goes to.....thomas72.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Is it very embarrassing? Yes of course. Should the club do all they can to identify the idiot(s)? Yes of course. Should the club make it known that they will do all they can to identify the idiot(s)? Yes of course. But.....

with statements like 'headline on every paper all over Europe' and 'the city will prob never come near us again', the winner for the award for overstatement goes to.....thomas72.
    ARe you for real I just got that off an English newspaper its also been reported in France and the mirror the player also Tweeted it to his million or so followers but ya its a overstatement

999 Posts
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/

Not a headline in Irish Times sports section online.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/

Same for the Indo.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/

Same for the Examiner.

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/

Same for the Herald.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football

Same for the Guardian.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...rick-game.html

Daily Mail has it as a headline, with quotes from Limerick about taking action and informing police.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/

No mention in the Telegraph.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/

No headline in the UK Independent.

Now, I'm not too confident in my foreign languages so I might be proven mistaken, but...

http://www.spiegel.de/sport/

As far as I can see, nothing in Der Spiegel.

http://www.gazzetta.it/

Can't see anything on Gazzetta dello sport.

http://www.lemonde.fr/football/

Same for Le Monde.

It clearly is an overstatement to say that it is a headline in every newspaper in Europe. We can acknowledge that it is a serious problem for the club without overstating the problem.

Once the lads are handed to the guards and named and shamed there is nothing more the club can do.

The idiot/s probably never seen a live game before in their lives.

46 Posts
    Sorry I should of saying it will be reported in French newspaper prob tomorrow since the game was last night and players Tweet was late its big news more so since the player himself is talking about it and what's currently going on with john terry etc put on the blinkers all you want.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Once the lads are handed to the guards and named and shamed there is nothing more the club can do.

The idiot/s probably never seen a live game before in their lives.
    SPOt on a complete tool

Not that I doubt the malevolent capacity of one of our home grown chavs (who probably listens to Chris Browne and Snoopy Dog on his stolen iphone sans headphones on public transport) to pull such a stunt but I'm reading elsewhere that the culprit is Polish.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

46 Posts
    It's on sky sports news now top headline yellow ticker sad sad ****

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I'm reading elsewhere that the culprit is Polish.
    Typical Pole.

Send the buggers back etc etc.

Just saw it on Sky Sports - what a disaster. So much good ruined by a numbskull.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

...RTE radio news in on it now. Oh I shudder to think what Joe Duffys herd of Marys in Clontarf are going to make of this in half an hour.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Totally disgusted when I heard about this. The club has said all that it can, but the bad impression, for the club and the city, is made. Don't hold your breath for many more big friendlies in Thomand in the near future.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

why was it possible to walk around outside the ground drinking cans/bottles that were cleary not sold in the stadium?

It was on Twitter just after it happened last night. Somebody was on blaming all Lim's scum for the trouble. Somebody who was at the match replied that it was 2 idiots who were involved. Supposedly they were then thrown out in the second half.

Quote Originally Posted by magicman View Post
    It was on Twitter just after it happened last night. Somebody was on blaming all Lim's scum for the trouble. Somebody who was at the match replied that it was 2 idiots who were involved. Supposedly they were then thrown out in the second half.
    The top right of this pic is the section where it was thrown from

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?s...type=3&theater

I don't know whether It would have prevented this incident or not, but I still cannot believe that they were not searching and frisking fans going into the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by Targetman View Post
    I don't know whether It would have prevented this incident or not, but I still cannot believe that they were not searching and frisking fans going into the ground.
    And do what? Confiscate fruit from people? Let's keep this in perspective for Gods sake...

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    And do what? Confiscate fruit from people? Let's keep this in perspective for Gods sake...
    Ya bananas, weapons, any offensive material. A friend of mine was saying at the match, that at the Euros everyone was searched, sometimes twice. Having said that I still remember seeing loads of flares at the Croatia game. All im saying is that I think it was crazy not searching people before the game and you can be sure this wont be the case if there is a friendly on in Thomond again.

Quote Originally Posted by magicman View Post
    Am I the only one who finds it incredible that someone who professes to be disgusted with racism is happy to defame an entire city in their Twitter posting! Obviously the morons who threw the banana don't have a copyright on stupidity

21. Thanks From: