Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: LoI clubs you hate

96 Posts
    For the sake of pantomime, I get in character for disliking Cork when we're in the same division, but even that is forced. I can't generate enough interest in any other club to truly hate them. I was pi55ed off with Dundalk for a few years after the '97 playoff.

I surprised myself at how wound up I got against Liverpool in last season's friendly, although I think that was more to do with the local Waterford people shouting against their local club.

2,346 Posts
    No huge dislike for anyone in the league as such. Sligo really, Derry for obvious reasons. Aside from that....it tends to be whoever plays Harps that week.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Oh and Sligo. Still haven't forgiven them for all that Jim nonsense.
    Jim? What Jim? What are you talking about Jim?

JIM.

420 Posts
    Monaghan

See hate is too strong a word.

There isn't another club in the league that occupies my thoughts for more than ten minutes a week tbh.

Having said that there's probably at least a dozen I dislike to varying degrees for some percieved slight or other down through the years. I may list them later if bored, stay tuned.

164 Posts
    I hate all of them to a greater or lesser degree (and half a dozen former clubs). The extent changes over time and is kind of cyclical.

83 Posts
    Seeing as I bleed blue and black I have no time whatsoever for that shower across the county line but it wouldn't be the same without them in our shadow.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

328 Posts
    Hate is such a strong word! Can't we all just get along

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Seeing as I bleed blue and black I have no time whatsoever for that shower across the county line but it wouldn't be the same without them in our shadow.
    i'd get to a doctor fast mate, that doesn't sound right

819 Posts
    Apart from sh1t club down the road who we will hammer on Friday I have to say I hate Waterford United and since last season Finn Harps! It's good to have rivalry those trips to Finn Park are the first thing I look for these days!
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Shels

UCD

St. Pats

Shamrock

Edit: Add SD Galway and Mervue.
    Last edited by sullanefc; 25/04/2012 at 10:10 PM.

2,284 Posts
    Bray Wanderers.

Well, someone has to challenge their inoffensive nature!

Quicker to go through the ones I don't hate in the PD so Monaghan, Sligo, Drogheda & the Junkies.

46 Posts
    Shamrock rovers a fantastically run football club the past few years but everyone hates them because of the scum minority that travels around the country looking for fights there animals drugged up dopes who think there hard.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    Shamrock rovers a fantastically run football club the past few years but everyone hates them because of the scum minority that travels around the country looking for fights there animals drugged up dopes who think there hard.
    wexford yohoo,s no real reason except theres feck all there,except a wine bar u cant even get into.
    To be or not to be

305 Posts
    Canny stand that shower of inbred,six fingered/eight toed knackers from Termonbarry Alberts. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr Near as bad as flippin Drawwwwwwwwwwwwdaaaaa

115 Posts
    I don't HATE anyone, hate is a strong word.

I've always disliked Limerick. Not a fan of their supporters. I've been to too many of their horrible "grounds" over the years, rats would not inhabit those shítpipes. Been spat at by locals inside their stadium in the o-so-charming Hogan Park.

A few clubs have scummy fans I would dislike, Pats/Sligo fans broke windows in our supporters buses before. (Pats after we hammered them 3-0 on the opening day of the season a few years ago, Sligo years and years ago. To be fair that hasn't happened in years going to Sligo and most of their fans are sound to chat to).

We've had issues with local hoodlums at a few Athlone games, but I like them as a club and there are definitely some good people in the background there. Their supporters Club members apologized after some of their supporters caused trouble at a game in Dubarry Park a number of years ago.

Never respected/liked Longford or Monaghan, two teams that are basically provincial Dublin clubs that do all their business in Dublin and train in Dublin. I remember a few years ago at a game in Gortakeegan, our game was delayed because Monaghan's team bus was caught in traffic on the way from Dublin..... farcical.
    Last edited by Olander; 25/04/2012 at 8:51 PM.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Quote Originally Posted by Olander View Post
    Never respected/liked Longford or Monaghan, two teams that are basically provincial Dublin clubs that do all their business in Dublin and train in Dublin. I remember a few years ago at a game in Gortakeegan, our game was delayed because Monaghan's team bus was caught in traffic on the way from Dublin..... farcical.
    That's hardly their fault. Most players either have jobs or go to university, neither of which the midlands is exactly flush with.

42 Posts
    As mentioned already hate is a harsh word. I have a dislike of Shamrock Rovers, but without them the league would be a quieter place.
    Also there is no better feeling than beating our neighbours Drogheda and I love the rivalry between the two clubs.

69 Posts
    Galway United. Shower of *******s. Glad they're gone.

25. Thanks From:

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast