They boys are back.
    Brilliant. Sitting next to John and Larry in the press box is an experience

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    Do Harps fans ever do anything hopefully?
    Well there are over 30 Harps fans making the trip so you would suspect they are hoping for a win. Otherwise they're all stark raving mad.

On second thoughts........... we are righteous zealous fanatics who support our team even though there are better teams in better leagues in the world. Crazy stuff.

63 Posts
    Looking forward to the start of the season, despite the team I supported not being there. Still hope to catch a game most weeks, starting with Mervue v Longford tonight. might try and visit as many clubs as possible of the 20 this year as a sort of challange.

55 Posts

Best of Luck to everyone tonight

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Well there are over 30 Harps fans making the trip so you would suspect they are hoping for a win. Otherwise they're all stark raving mad.

On second thoughts........... we are righteous zealous fanatics who support our team even though there are better teams in better leagues in the world. Crazy stuff.
    except SD Galway of course. Cmon Lims we have cash on yee as a fundraiser

Its a terrible experience after 37years to have no one to support at kick off in the season

126 Posts
    Never thought I'd be glad to play UCD away, until I went to college here!

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post

Fair play to ye its along way hope its a good match but a Limerick win of coarse. First game of the season is always tough I predict a tight Limerick win.

55 Posts

The Arches Hotel in Claregalway GUST pub

Finn Harps supporters welcome to stop there for a break

Can't imagine what the Galway Utd fans are going through today. Feel sorry for them, must be an awful feeling.

On our game, looking at the starting 11 tonight we are strong enough to beat Shels. But the bench is a sign of how small our squad is when we have one or two injuries, which could ultimately cost us over the season.
    Last edited by sligoman; 02/03/2012 at 5:03 PM.

1,813 Posts
    Well finally it's upon us. Finally I get to watch MY team without having to resort to surrogacy with a team in England as it has been since the end of the last season.

Even seeing Dalyer there whilst I was collecting post gave me a fuzzy feeling (though that could be fumes).

Can't wait for the walk up Drumcondra tonight and then the obligatory trip to McGowans later. NYIAOW!

Best of luck to everyone. But more luck to Shels tonight!

COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEE EEEEE OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNNNN!!!

Back in the big time!
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

53 Posts
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2012/...ityleague.html

It's really good to see publicity for the league like this

Bricking it about the Dundalk game, we need a good start to keep the interest up from the casual fans, and 3 points against a likely relegation rival. IRWT.

42 Posts
    I can't wait for tonight. Monaghan away often ends in heartache for any Dundalk fan, but hopefully we get all three points tonight. S'up de town

282 Posts
    Going to watch some of the Drogheda - Shamrock Rovers match (before, I must admit I will switch over to Blackpool - Hull)...don't watch much LoI simply because I don't have a club to support (in any domestic football league in the world) so I usually only watch for teams to support the Irish and Caribbean players...obviously when the majority of players are Irish it doesn't work.
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    Finn Harps supporters welcome to stop there for a break
    Is that you Jimmy?
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

20 Posts
    Where in Ireland were "your people" from worm? Could help you develop an allegiance.

Anyone seen that chart about which English PL club someone should support based on a series of Yes / No questions? We should put one together for the LOI maybe . . . for the laugh if nothing else.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by freewheel30 View Post
    Where in Ireland were "your people" from worm? Could help you develop an allegiance.
    Thats the problem, my people did not come from Ireland...I have but one great-great grandmother from the island and she was from Belfast (not too big a fan of Catholics from what I hear either ). A few years back for awhile I sort of had an affinity for Galway United as they a few Caribbean players in Alvin Rouse, Regi Nooitmeer, and Wes Charles, plus they are a sister city of Chicago...but when the Caribbean players left as did my interest (as does happen with clubs in England when their Irish and Caribbean players leave).
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

20 Posts
    That's a tough one then!

Good start to the game, ball being kept on the floor by both teams.

218 Posts
    Longford Town team vs Mervue United
    Hyland, James, Crawley, Deans, Haverty, Duffy, Kirby, Salmon, Gillespie, A. Skelly, Bermingham. Subs: Hunt, Dowling, O'Brien, Morley, S. Skelly, Purdy, Shaw.

48 Posts
    Good luck to everyone for the season ahead, here's hoping it will be a good one. I hate the opening day of the season nowadays - should be at Station Road bemoaning our first conceded goal of the year about now...

39 Posts
    1 nil drrrrraaaaaaaaaaaaaaweda

1,813 Posts
    Getting that giddy feeling walking down.

edit
    Queue the whole length of Richmond road stand.
    Big time lads. Big time.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 02/03/2012 at 6:50 PM.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

What's with the kick-off time?

I thought the match was going to kick off at 7.45, then remembered that last season it was 7.35 for the telly games so accepted I might have missed the first ten minutes but I'm raging to find out that I've missed the first ****ing 35 minutes!
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast