Page 13 of 23 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: Shels v Sligo FAI Cup final - Lansdowne Road 6th Nov

217 Posts
    Personally, I disagree with the ending off. If a player get a bit of a touch but it's six in one half a dozen in the other and it's not a penalty, I don't think the player should be booked. If a player goes down as the result of no touch whatsoever, I'd agree in that case.

Congrats to Sligo Rovers. I hope ye can at least make the Europa League play-offs next season, same goes for Derry City.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

144 Posts
    The sending off was harsh, Richie could have easily had a chat with the player.
    Didn't care either way who won and thought Shels would take it but it wasn't to be.

It's hard to have too much sympathy for Shels though after the Sheriff debacle.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Just as St Pats were in the semi. Karma is a bitch
    Am assuming you didn't bother watching that game then based on this comment......Pats should have beat us in first game with 11 but played rubbish. In the 2nd game, we got a deserved pen but a terrible sending off at a stage when we were the better team, we then outplayed pats for whole game.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Im sure the Corks lads will tell you that it tastes better with age !
    Cork fans? Knowing about something lasting for longer than 20 years? Don't be silly.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

I do feel for Shels. Haven't seen a replay yet, but my feeling at the time was that it was neither a foul nor a dive i.e. no peno, no yellow. I was worried all week that grandstander Winter would hog the headlines. In the end, we were poor enough but we'll take it - lord knows we've been on the receiving end of some shocking decisions (take a bow Alan Kelly). As for the Dundalk lad with his complaint about us winning two cups "without actually winning anything", I'd say you lads would happily settle for that.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post
    Robbed, pure and simple. No ifs or buts about it. Sligo not deserving winners.
    You were.

i was at the game, and I left nearly as furious at Winter as after his mockery of officiating at Bohs V Pats in the league a few weeks back: and I don't even care about Shels. I can imagine how youse feel.

Sligo are vastly overrated, as is Cook as a manager. 90 minutes against ten men, and they can only score once.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    As for the Dundalk lad with his complaint about us winning two cups "without actually winning anything", I'd say you lads would happily settle for that.
    He said:
    find it stange that sligo have been in the last 3 cup finals, won 2 but never won one of the games.
    Factualy he is correct,take it whatever way you want.We like to win properly here, not by default

Cheers - we'll keep our default trophies, you keep your plastic pitch, everybody's happy.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Cheers - we'll keep our default trophies, you keep your plastic pitch, everybody's happy.
    Classic,must copy that great counterpoint for future reference.

1,813 Posts
    So, it's now 23.49.

A few things that came from today:
    Richie Winters is a disgrace.
    Cork fans are an oddly bitter bunch.
    We are a really really good side that will hold our own easily next year.
    Cork fans are a bitter shower.
    The atmosphere was great today.
    Richie Winters is a disgrace.
    Some of the Cork heads here are a bunch of wumming trolls.
    The best team didn't win today but that's not Sligo's fault.
    Stephen Paisley is a ledge bag.
    Cheesesteak really is a serious poacher.

Roll on March!

Edit:-I notice that El-Pietro has reared his head over on ShelsChat. Seriously, the obsession with us "the bottlers" is incredible. How anyone who saw that game today and cannot criticise Winters needs their head checked.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 06/11/2011 at 11:00 PM.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

41 Posts
    Not bitter just better.

In fairness to Shels the sending of was very harsh indeed and did ruin the game somewhat. Richie Winter is a dreadful ref and really showed that today. It would have been interesting to see how Shels would've went on had the ref had not sent yer man off. They actually could have won.
    Good evening!

Shels weren't robbed.

Sending off was debatable. (I thought it was but meh)

But if he wasn't shown the line Paisley would probably have been shown the line for any one of his half dozen fouls while on a yellow.

As for the penalty thing, he should only do that once before the Shels players complain and it doesn't happen again, as well as upsetting the keeper.

Are Sligo always such a complete pain in the arse to watch btw?? Less cutting edge than the remedial classes scissors, the Arsenal of Ireland, huffing and puffing before finally giving up and doing something stupid.

The Cork fans are actually doing a fantastic job here btw, bites flying in from all angles.

Also, will someone explain to me why Shels were much the better team??

Lots of guts and whatever but I can't remember them creating a chance bar that crossbar thingy early on. Sligo had at least 94% of the ball.

They were terrible with it mind.

Aaron Greene.

Agree with comment about great athmosphere. Neutrals really getting value for money last few years with extra time and penalties. A lot of fooball for 10 EURO. Fantastic stadium also so would advise anybody with any interest in football to attend for a final. Bring a child with you as I did and watch their face light up. Better than Christmas day smiles.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by juan View Post
    Not bitter just better.

In fairness to Shels the sending of was very harsh indeed and did ruin the game somewhat. Richie Winter is a dreadful ref and really showed that today. It would have been interesting to see how Shels would've went on had the ref had not sent yer man off. They actually could have won.
    In fairness Juan, the lot of ye have gone on very childishly today re us. I'm all for rivalry and banter but there's a line.

WE were the better side until the sending off. The sending off was bad enough but it was the rest of his performance which is what hurt more.
    He showed no consistency with any of his decisions and just seemed to favour Sligo in every fifty-fifty.
    The linesman over the East Stand side may as well not have been there. He only flagged for corners and seemed to forget that he's there to ASSIST the ref. Gormless shtes the lot of them.

Anyway, It's over and done with. This season was all about getting out of the FD. We did that. Now time to move on.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

305 Posts

Are Sligo always such a complete pain in the arse to watch btw?? Less cutting edge than the remedial classes scissors, the Arsenal of Ireland, huffing and puffing before finally giving up and doing something stupid.
    Over passed it surely,then when the ball went to Blinkhorn he blasted it so wide or so far over the bar that it hit the top of the stand or near took out a fan sitting in a corner section.Doyle was no better,a complete let down.Brendan Clarke is prob looking for a new club right now,his manager realy filled him full of confidence today !! ??

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    The linesman over the East Stand side may as well not have been there. He only flagged for corners and seemed to forget that he's there to ASSIST the ref. Gormless shtes the lot of them.
    The linesman over the East Stand side indicated to the ref to give Paisley a second yellow at one stage and the ref ignored him tbf.

The Cork fans are actually doing a fantastic job here btw, bites flying in from all angles.

Also, will someone explain to me why Shels were much the better team??

Lots of guts and whatever but I can't remember them creating a chance bar that crossbar thingy early on. Sligo had at least 94% of the ball.

They were terrible with it mind.

Aaron Greene.
    Thought we absolutely murdered them at 11 v 11. After that I think people were just impressed by how well we defended when all expectations would have had them hammer us
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post
    Thought we absolutely murdered them at 11 v 11.
    How so??

I don't remember much in the way of chance creation, the goal was a result of terrible, terrible defending. Murdered is a bit strong.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Over passed it surely,then when the ball went to Blinkhorn he blasted it so wide or so far over the bar that it hit the top of the stand or near took out a fan sitting in a corner section.Doyle was no better,a complete let down.Brendan Clarke is prob looking for a new club right now,his manager realy filled him full of confidence today !! ??
    Sure why would he? He played the final. All Cook did was bring on his penalty shootout specialist!!

Page 13 of 23 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast