Page 169 of 184 FirstFirst ... 69119159167168169170171179 ... LastLast
Results 3,361 to 3,380 of 3666

Thread: LOI in Europe 2011

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alltogethernow View Post
    People posting the stills from the crowd.

Left hand, right hand, it doesnt matter to shamrock fans
    You mean it doesn't matter to people like you.
    Sporting F*ck All!

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Would like to see the national side being prepared to pass the ball as much as Rovers were.
    Yeah, I agree. What was interesting though was that Rovers seemed more prepared to pass their way out from the back than they were against Ruben Kazan. Or maybe Spurs backed off a little more than RK did when Rovers got the ball in their back four?

Anybody who was at both games have a view on this? Its one of those things that you get much more of a sense for when you're actually there...

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Was at the game as well - great support all throughout the game, Spurs def raised their effort after the Rovers goal, and won handy in the end. Never heard any nazi songs or nazi salutes and sounds to me if thats a load of bull as most of the rovers fans i saw in convent garden and at game were cool, friendly and giving the LOI a good name.
    Was great while it lasted!
    Similar to that famous picture of Rangers 0-3 Shelbourne. Sigh.

46 Posts
    Well done Shams. Thoroughly enjoyable watch. Always proud of the LoI and as this one was accessible for me I'd like to have travelled the few miles south but for other committments. Fantastic support and really respected commentary over here. Graham Taylor was particularly complimentary of 'Shamrock'. He did eventually, post match actually call them Shamrock Rovers but he was very honest in his comments on their performance and he did say he hoped it would not end up with more goals conceded as Shamrock Rovers didn't deserve that.
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

1,825 Posts
    Harry's comments were completely lacking in the usual platitudes. It was really nice to see.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Harry's comments were completely lacking in the usual platitudes. It was really nice to see.
    Is it up online anywhere?

Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    You mean it doesn't matter to people like you.
    People like me??!!

Clearly Rovers arent a facist/racist club.

What pi**es me and others, including Rovers lads I know, is the complete denial by the club that nothing goes on. there have been a number of incidents over the last few years which have been denied dispite proof.

If the numbers doing these things are small as said surely the club should sort it?? But they don't, they don't even ban known hooligans.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Is it up online anywhere?
    Snippets on RTÉ. I'm sure BBC carry more.

"Shamrock Rovers- Ireland's Shame" on a Celtic messagboard? I'm not a Rovers fan but this really annoys me from a club whose fans are continuously involved in sectarian and pro-terrorist chanting. There can't be much of their glass house left surely?

70 Posts
    Brilliant effort from all the players, Mon and Magilton deserve great praise too. Fantastic atmosphere.
    Great craic had between Spurs and Rovers fans. It was a perfect day apart from a ten min spell in the second half.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

Rice scoring is even less likely than Brush, but absolutely delighted for him. The 10 minutes of Barca style olé possession and 90 minutes off it, great stuff. It took Pavlyuchenko, Defoe and a Barca youth to apply the finishing touches. Pavlyuchenko's header was the pick of their bunch, Ricers goal was far superior.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    "Shamrock Rovers- Ireland's Shame" on a Celtic messagboard? I'm not a Rovers fan but this really annoys me from a club whose fans are continuously involved in sectarian and pro-terrorist chanting. There can't be much of their glass house left surely?
    One mans terrorist is another mans.....but a Nazi is a fricking Nazi. We don't have a hooligan issue either, they do. They shamed us again and reminded me why I can't stand them. I just don't think Shels fans would behave like them on the road.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alltogethernow View Post
    People like me??!!

Clearly Rovers arent a facist/racist club.

What pi**es me and others, including Rovers lads I know, is the complete denial by the club that nothing goes on. there have been a number of incidents over the last few years which have been denied dispite proof.

If the numbers doing these things are small as said surely the club should sort it?? But they don't, they don't even ban known hooligans.
    Ah the scourge of facism. As my friend always says "ugly girls need loving too".

164 Posts
    I thought Rovers were magnificent against one of the top clubs in the world. Put it this way, they did much better than Liverpool did at White Hart Lane a few weeks ago. The two strikers for Spurs are worth about £40 million alone. Rovers did unbelievably well against that level of opposition. It's just not realistic to expect a part-time team to go to London and beat Spurs so I think they did exceptionally well in the circumstances. Fair play to them. Keep doing the league proud.

If the reports are true, clearly these people are a disgrace and should be rooted out.

Back to the match, it was incredible to watch. An incredible effort to be 1-0 up but in the end when you're up against a strike force of world class players like Defoe, Pavlyuchenko and Dos Santos they're going to make goalscoring opportunities for themselves. Great effort, roll on PAOK.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    If the reports are true, clearly these people are a disgrace and should be rooted out.
    Where, foot.ie reports from people who were not at the game - where is the evidence, apart from a silly celtic forum?

2,446 Posts
    I don't know about Nazi salutes, but I did hear the hokey cokey at one stage...I guess for a split second there was 2,000+ rovers fans giving a Nazi salute while singing a childrens song?

19. Thanks From:

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    I thought Rovers were magnificent against one of the top clubs in the world.
    Steady on!

Put it this way, they did much better than Liverpool did at White Hart Lane a few weeks ago. The two strikers for Spurs are worth about £40 million alone. Rovers did unbelievably well against that level of opposition. It's just not realistic to expect a part-time team to go to London and beat Spurs so I think they did exceptionally well in the circumstances. Fair play to them. Keep doing the league proud.
    Fair play to them but you can't compare a full-strength team Spurs teams to a relative Spurs reserve side playing a Premiership match to a tournament they obviously couldn't care less about. Fair play they did alright, but were lucky not to have been completely hammered if truth be told against a team that couldn't be bothered.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Where, foot.ie reports from people who were not at the game - where is the evidence, apart from a silly celtic forum?

Just passing it on what someone from London said. He's from where the match was so I'd say he is as good a source as any and unlike others he has no agenda.

I heard rumours of the Auschwitz chants around the time they were alleged to have happened. I don't know if it really happened or to what extent, but unfortunately you sometimes have bold boys who go to football matches and make a show of the club, like the Manchester United fans chanting about Istanbul at Elland Road the other week. I do think certain people are a little too happy the rumours have surfaced though.

23. Thanks From: