Thread: Pubs showing LoI in London

290 Posts

Pubs showing LoI in London

As it says on the tin, is there anywhere can I watch the Derry-Dundalk game in London next week? Preferably somewhere not too far out (I'm in E1).

And are there any other London-based forum-ers who want to meet up for it?

Ta.

Here is a note from a dundalk supporter on orielweb

If your in London the nearest tube to the bar is Angel, we are just a 5 minute walk from it.

The Grande Bar,
    2-6 Cloudesley Road,
    Islington,
    London,
    N1 0EQ

in his post he says that he has rte so he can show the games

Quote Originally Posted by not_the_lilywhite_lounge
    HI FOLKS!

I am no longer in The North One Bar (The Grande Bar as mentioned on my first post) This bar has now closed (thank god!!) and I have moved over to West London were I shall continue to show all LOI Games that will be broadcasted on RTE, TV3, TG4 or Setanta Ireland.

For those who know the area the address is:

FLANAGANS,
    137 UXBRIDGE ROAD,
    EALING,
    W13 9AU
    LONDON

For those who don't know the area we are about 20mins from Heathrow airport. A few bus stops away from Twickenham, Ruislip (GAA) and the nearest football grounds would be Fulham and QPR.

Will also be showing MNS every Monday.

Looking forward to the new season,

C'mon da town!!

Colin
    From OrielWeb

85 Posts
    Is this on Setanta? I was told it was on RTÉ. Balls.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

85 Posts
    It is on RTÉ - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/...eaguelive.html

Might want to change the thread title.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mick dundee View Post
    Here is a note from a dundalk supporter on orielweb

If your in London the nearest tube to the bar is Angel, we are just a 5 minute walk from it.

The Grande Bar,
    2-6 Cloudesley Road,
    Islington,
    London,
    N1 0EQ

in his post he says that he has rte so he can show the games
    Grande Bar is closed. Colin who was there is now in Flanagans, Ealing as Duffman has posted. Worth the trip out as there is usually a good crowd in to see games.

290 Posts
    Thanks for the replies. The one in Angel would have been perfect seeing as I work there. Ealing is an utter trek away, but I might go for it then if nothing else comes up.

And of course, it should be RTE.

873 Posts
    Little more detail from Flanagans :

the game on RTE this weekend is St. Pats and Bohs, and Dundalk and Derry the following Friday (8th). Bohs and Shamrocks on the 15th. We also show MNS every Monday. Should also be showing all the Setanta Ireland cup games as well.

TCM I know its a bit of a trek but it was good craic when we were there last game of the season. just make yourself known to Colin at the bar! He used to run the Lilywhite lounge providing the Brandywell pride lads with food on their way home from Dublin when they stopped in Oriel. PM me for exact directions or more detail. Same goes for any other people in London that would meet up with fellow LoI fans match nights etc!!!
    Last edited by Nesta99; 30/03/2011 at 10:52 PM.

Would agree with the hospitality bit, the QUB supporters used to stop off on the way back to Belfast, straight out of Dublin for the Lilywhite

Waxy O'Connors
    14-16 Rupert St
    (near Leicester Sq)
    http://www.waxyoconnors.co.uk/index....o-waxys-london

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    Waxy O'Connors
    14-16 Rupert St
    (near Leicester Sq)
    http://www.waxyoconnors.co.uk/index....o-waxys-london
    It's mad busy in there at the weekend, I can't imagine getting them to turn the music down and show LOI footie.

873 Posts
    Mad busy is an understatement - heaving on a Friday evening!

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Mad busy is an understatement - heaving on a Friday evening!
    Never been don't want to, just going by what I've heard.

290 Posts
    We're going to watch it in the Sheephaven Bay pub in Mornington Crescent (next to Camden, NW1 7QD) on Friday evening, 7:35 KO if any LOI fans are about and fancy joining?

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    We're going to watch it in the Sheephaven Bay pub in Mornington Crescent (next to Camden, NW1 7QD) on Friday evening, 7:35 KO if any LOI fans are about and fancy joining?
    Make sure you dont do anything wild as you might want to return again.

The club has also been informed that the visit of Derry City to Oriel Park on Thursday 26 May will be screened live on Setanta Sports. Kick-off remains 7.45pm.
    http://www.dundalkfc.com/monaghan-unite ... -game-live

290 Posts
    Our match v Shams also on TV in May so looks like might be going back a few times. I'll be good, beyond drunkenly tapping people up for WPOF contributions.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Make sure you dont do anything wild as you might want to return again.

The club has also been informed that the visit of Derry City to Oriel Park on Thursday 26 May will be screened live on Setanta Sports. Kick-off remains 7.45pm.
    http://www.dundalkfc.com/monaghan-unite ... -game-live
    Any idea why that game is on a Thursday?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    There is a full PD league programme on this night with 5 games moved from the Friday. Also there is another 'midweek' PD programme on with clubs playing on Mon or Tues, I think we are away to Sligo on the Monday.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    Carling Cup on Tuesday 24th, Wedensday 25th
    LOI on Thursday 26th
    Carling Cup on Friday 27th
    Champions league on Saturday 28th
    Carling Cup on Sunday 29th

21. Thanks From:

85 Posts
    I just checked and the game on the Friday night is Wales vs. Northern Ireland... So the entire league programme changes from Friday to Thursday so that it doesn't clash with a friendly between Wales and fecking Northern Ireland in the Aviva?! Madness.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!