Page 9 of 72 FirstFirst ... 78910111959 ... LastLast

Thread: Euro 2012 Qualifying Group B - General Discussion

161 Posts
    Both teams look good going forward. But like both teams first games in this group they find it hard to stick the ball in the net. No way will Trap allow either team the number of chances they have got in this first half against us.. It will be interesting to see how they do when they are working off scraps. 48 mins Russia havejust had a well worked goal disallowed (rightly for offside)
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 07/09/2010 at 5:11 PM.

2,681 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    It will be interesting to see how they do when they are working off scraps.
    Or facing Paul McShane or presented with a Richard Dunne special

What are we looking for here? A draw?

I'd say a draw is the best result. If Slovakia win, then we'll want to win in Russia as well to keep pace... no easy task.

At the same time, a Slovakia win might not be the worst result? Perhaps Armenia can take some points from them at home.. and we'll be gunning for 4 points from them.

163 Posts
    if russia do lose, we have an opportunity to mess them up in a serious way by beating them in dublin.

a long way to go yet though. i think a late russia leveller would be best.

65 Posts
    Draw would probably suit more
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

161 Posts
    Pav coming on for Russia.

672 Posts
    I tell ye what lads it's some game, absolutely frantic end-to-end stuff. Fair play to Slovakia, they arn't looking to sit and instead keep playing quick and direct to hit Russia on the break. Crazy that it's still 1-0. 20 mins to go.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

It really depends on whether we are aiming to win the group or come second. If we want to win the group then 1-0 to Slovakia is the result we want.

672 Posts
    True but it just makes the margins so much smaller. A close three horse race means the price of failure is elimination rather than a play-off.

Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    It really depends on whether we are aiming to win the group or come second. If we want to win the group then 1-0 to Slovakia is the result we want.
    How do you figure that?

A Slovakia win will make that injury time winner v. Macedonia all the more sickening. Feck!

130 Posts
    Lads a russian loss would be bad news from our point of view.

Have to figure a Russia loss will see them guns a-blazing v. us in October.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brendan 82 View Post
    What are we looking for here? A draw?
    Probably a draw, but if Russia are the better side it might be better if they lose, a Russia win would be
    the worst possible outcome I would say.

How do you figure that?
    I think Russia will steamroller the group. The football they have been playing today is outstanding. They could easily be 4 goals up, but have been unbelievably unlucky.

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Lads a russian loss would be bad news from our point of view.
    That is what I thought. Slovakia won their last European qualifying group to secure automatic qualification. They then performed well in the World Cup. Now they are winning in Russia. Are they not the best team in the group? Surely we want a Russian equalizer to stop the Slovaks from running away with the group?

672 Posts
    That is what I thought. Slovakia won their last European qualifying group to secure automatic qualification. They then performed well in the World Cup. Now they are winning in Russia. Are they not the best team in the group? Surely we want a Russian equalizer to stop the Slovaks from running away with the group?
    I'd fancy us more to get a result in Slovakia than Moscow. And I don't think anyone's underestimating Slovakia rather than just believing we're more likely to take points from them.

But I agree, I'd rather a draw or even a Russian win to maintain the status quo. This result really ups the ante for everyone.

Also - watching the match both teams have actually been very good. As said before, if Russia lose this they will be fuming and they will come at us with their considerable attacking talent next month. Although they do look likely to concede goals.
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 07/09/2010 at 5:44 PM. Reason: extra thought

130 Posts
    From the point of view of winning the group it already will make things difficult, from the point of view of attaining second it would be a good result. But I dont think any of us want to be aiming for second this time around.

2,681 Posts
    Of course they're the best team in the group. Can't believe so many think otherwise. We're getting all English and basis our predictions based on GDP size. Slovakia are the momentum team. Draw best result - no brainer in my mind.

Page 9 of 72 FirstFirst ... 78910111959 ... LastLast