Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Most annoying accents...and sexiest ones...

Its funny coz I love the Drogheda accent and am partial to my native accent too but Dundalk wrecks my head.

Carrickmacross should just go ahead and join Louth coz they have such a dundalk accent too.

thats true..
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

I could listen to a Cajun accent all day.
    I can't stop, I can't start
    It holds me together while it tears me apart

obviously biased... but have always found when we go away on holliers the birds always prefer a sligo accent...our friends in westlife are probably to blame for that,\ but hey if u get a chance to get ur jump out of it,what harm!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts
    The artificial D4 accent so common now to TV3 and RTE Presenters.

House = hise, thousand = Thigh-sand, roundabout = roundabite etc etc

Marty Whelan and Tony Fenton, Colm Murray are many of the male proponents but it's soooooo common among new female news readers, weather forecaster etc etc. That one who presents the Breakfast show with Cagney on TV3. Artificial and learned at speech classes.

Grrrrrrr.

Also don't like the Eastenders accents.

Favourite: just about any others other than snooty English.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

111 Posts
    The Spanish accent i hear a lot and its quite nice! Quite partial to the Italian accent too.

WORST:
    Not too keen on Polish.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

nothing worse than a pure cork city teenager massive earings and unbelievabley fake accsent going 'heeeeeawwwre she likes you they la' or some childish comment like that
    WHAT THE **** LIKE!!!
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Like:
    London
    Welsh
    Northern Irish
    Dublin (to a certain extent)

Hate:
    Drogheda
    Sligo
    Kerry
    Basically most culchie accents
    D4
    American
    South African
    Scouse
    Geordie
    low lie the fields of Bishopstown......

517 Posts
    I hate the Welsh and Manc accents.

That is one hell of a bump, TOWK.

1,813 Posts
    Well... now that it's bumped.

Cork city accents, especially when accompanied with the phrase "C'mon the Rebels" in Croker.

Kerry accents, especially when accompanied with the phrase "C'mon the Kingdom" in Croker.

All Louth accents.

The Carrickmacross accent.

Belfast accent.

Wexford accents especially around New Ross.

That SE Dublin Accent encompassing Shankill, Ballybrack, Loughlinstown, Old Conna and Bray.

Most Midland accents with a big shout out to Offaly and Longford here.

That stupid high-pitched accent from around Shannon and Cratloe.

That weird Clonmel to Carrick-on Suir accent.

Special mention to Waterford City, Derry and Armagh.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,346 Posts
    ahem..Donegal.

..nod to Bonnieshels.

2,284 Posts
    It's quite a list, but are they accents you love or hate, Bonnie?

Even within Donegal, there are so many local variations:

2,284 Posts
    I've always perceived the Cork accent to share bizarre and striking similarities with some Caribbean accents. Imagining a Jamaican as if he were a full-blooded langer always makes me laugh, but it is the completely southern Irish accent of the "Black Irish" of Montserrat that really is quite special:

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Well... now that it's bumped.

Cork city accents, especially when accompanied with the phrase "C'mon the Rebels" in Croker.

Kerry accents, especially when accompanied with the phrase "C'mon the Kingdom" in Croker.

All Louth accents.

The Carrickmacross accent.

Belfast accent.

Wexford accents especially around New Ross.

That SE Dublin Accent encompassing Shankill, Ballybrack, Loughlinstown, Old Conna and Bray.

Most Midland accents with a big shout out to Offaly and Longford here.

That stupid high-pitched accent from around Shannon and Cratloe.

That weird Clonmel to Carrick-on Suir accent.

Special mention to Waterford City, Derry and Armagh.
    Bonnie, you could have just said you're fond of Connaught accents.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Bonnie, you could have just said you're fond of Connaught accents.
    I'm not particulary.

I tend to like Donegal (Missus is from there), Derry, Tyrone, Fermanagh as a rule and that lovely Glen accent that some wimmin have from North Antrim or Down. I definitely have a predilection to Uladh

Galway and Mayo as a rule are decent though.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    ahem..Donegal.

..nod to Bonnieshels.
    The above ones are "DISLIKES".

I think I have to like the Donegal accent. Thank fook she doesn't have an LK accent.

19. Thanks From:

2,284 Posts
    I spoke to an elderly Guyanese couple today over the phone in work and initially thought they were Irish. In fact, I would still be thinking they were Irish except for the fact that their address was in Guyana and a few "off" pronunciations here and there, but the man sounded like the resurrected De Valera.

398 Posts
    I don't know where she's from, probably the pits of hell, but your woman, the queen of whinge and plastic surgery Terry Prone, christ. I made the grivous error of beginning to listen to Shane Coleman's round up of the Sunday papers, and on she came. How? I object to her on many levels, but apart from accent - how can she come on and begin slamming some parties without being asked "Who are you working for?" She said she is arranging the different ard fheis's for 40 years, including this year, but which one? I think it's a disgrace to have someone on who is an advance spokesperson. Anyway, her accent - like nails on a blackboard.

Sexy, I used to think women from Antrim sounded nice, but it is always a let down when some cute girl opens her mouth and something from Meath tumbles forth. Not nice.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts
    What about the Newfoundland Irish accent?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Xmqb4W2T0M
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

23. Thanks From:

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast