Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: The great stadium debate

The number of Portaloos has nothing to do with how decent a facility the stadium is. That's an organizational issue on the day. There are enough permanent toilets for the normal capacity of the ground.

As for the food being a rip-off, tell me anywhere that isn't.

The weather was cat. Not much can be done about that.
    While we are here, they'll never die.

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stovelid View Post
    The number of Portaloos has nothing to do with how decent a facility the stadium is. That's an organizational issue on the day. There are enough permanent toilets for the normal capacity of the ground.

As for the food being a rip-off, tell me anywhere that isn't.

The weather was cat. Not much can be done about that.
    food in the flansiro is a grand price
    and we have great value tea

I was in Tallaght earlier in the season when it wasn't completely finished and found it to be a nice stadium. For me the best away ground has to be the Brandywell, the atmosphere and the craic above is what makes it my favourite.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bishbash View Post
    yes i may be an absolute dreamer but this is the type of stadium i would love to see throughout the league. Its got a capacity of just under 11,000 and is a great fascility. it would be fantastic if this was the quality of football grounds through even 50% of the league.
    http://www.fussballtempel.net/uefa/Nor/Nye_Molde.html
    That's a serious stadium, class.

We have the capacity and population in Ireland to have stadiums like this in all of the cities to be used for a multiple of functions. Municipal stadiums are one of the solutions.

They can be used for ALL sports (I know the anti-GAA fraternity here won't like that, but it helps with the viability of such a structure in this country), concerts etc. Dublin could have 2 of these without a bodger. rather than our present hotch potch of venues. TCS of course being one of them.

It's a an idea used to a great effect (and on a larger scale) in Australia (AFL) with games in Melbourne being played in Docklands/Telstra Dome and the MCG. The clubs tend to have their administrative offices/gyms/training facilities in the area that they were originally from or near enough to it, eg. Collingwood>Olympic Park, Carlton>Princes Park.

So whilst Shels might no longer play out of Tolka they could keep the offices there or train there or even move down to Ringsend. Likewise with Bohs/Fungus etc. (I'm not suggesting they move to Tolka/Ringsend, ye know what I'm getting at. )
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123