Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Kenny signs contract with 'new' Derry City

222 Posts

Stephen Kenny signs contract with 'new' Derry City

Signed a two year deal at lunch time today, according to Radio Foyle.
    Have you ever won the treble?

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Think the least of Derry's worries is who is going to manage them. They have to find a league to play in first ,and thats after dealing with their creditors.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    Think the least of Derry's worries is who is going to manage them. They have to find a league to play in first ,and thats after dealing with their creditors.

Not really. Derry will be in the First Division next season. As for their creditors - they belong to the 'old' Derry City. The 'new' Derry City is debt free and owes nothing.
    Up the Harps!!

Stephen Kenny is to remain on as manager of Derry City.
    Kenny's position had been in doubt after the recent decision by the Football Association of Ireland to expel City from the League of Ireland.

However, the chairman of the club's new steering group, Philip O'Doherty, says Kenny has accepted a new two-year contract with the Candystripes.

Kenny's new contract is said to be on "revised terms" which are believed to include a reduced salary.

Dubliner Kenny was last week linked with the managerial vacancy at Dundalk.

Despite their expulsion from the League of Ireland, the indications are that Derry will be permitted to play in the League of Ireland First Division next season.

Derry went into administration last week and doubts over Kenny's future were increased by the new steering committee's delay in holding talks with the Dubliner.

However, talks appeared to have been held over the weekend and Monday's announcement followed.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...sh/8374960.stm

Quote Originally Posted by harps1954 View Post
    Not really. Derry will be in the First Division next season. As for their creditors - they belong to the 'old' Derry City. The 'new' Derry City is debt free and owes nothing.
    I think that's a scandel. Wasn't aware that was the case.

145 Posts
    New club, debt free, creditors fleeced and as evident by this appointment continuing to go full-time in First Division

well done John Delaney

another slap in the face for the few clubs actually living within their means

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Betting Man View Post
    Kenny's new contract is said to be on "revised terms" which are believed to include a reduced salary
    Word around Dundalk is he couldn't agree on terms so either he really likes living in Derry or the "revised terms" are still higher than our board were willing to offer.

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Word around Dundalk is he couldn't agree on terms so either he really likes living in Derry or the "revised terms" are still higher than our board were willing to offer.
    Almost certainly the former - his family are very settled here, wife likes the city and kids in school.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr Damo View Post
    I think that's a scandel. Wasn't aware that was the case.
    It carries more weight when you can spell the word.

Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    New club, debt free, creditors fleeced and as evident by this appointment continuing to go full-time in First Division
    Not entirely sure how its "evident" that we are going full-time?

But don't let that get in the way of your rant.....

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post

Brendy lad - hows the form - some craic in Paris !

Great news - hopefully next few weeks will bring more good news

well done John Delaney

another slap in the face for the few clubs actually living within their means

Happens in business every day - new club new board - why should they be saddled with the previous lots debt

would you rather we had no team next year in derry and that the fans payed back the mindless debt of a calamitous few people.

Dont forget Derry fans have suffered at the hands of the previous board too - ie next seasons pre-paid season tickets and the season ticket holders who paid into the last game of season even tho the club already knew the gate money was a drop in the ocean

comon the new city !

A man that helped reck a club being rewarded with new contract, reckless behaviour. He is hardly in demand!
    Last edited by cestlavie; 23/11/2009 at 4:40 PM. Reason: spelling

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cestlavie View Post
    A man that helped reck a club being rewarded with new contract, reckless behaviour. He is hardly in demand!
    Leaving aside the board's financial responsibility, a contract on much lower terms, managing a club with little or no finance in the first division, is hardly a reward.

If he wanted to leave, he would've had plenty of takers and with better money.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

fair play to him for staying, i for one as a sligo fan cant wait for derry to be back in the premier division as enjoyed the trips to brandywell and ye always brought great support down to sligo. wish ye all the best next year but still would like to rob a few of yer players ha ha. mcglynn and martyn will do for starters !!!

He's obviously got some reassurances that there's LOI football for Derry next season if he's signed a new contract

As evident by nothing - that's your assumption.

And a vastly inaccurate one it is too.....

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    As evident by nothing - that's your assumption.

And a vastly inaccurate one it is too.....
    Don't mean to be antagonising anyone but.. Can you prove it's vastly inaccurate? Do you actually know it's inaccurate or are you, like he was, making an assumption?

Quote Originally Posted by Doomofman View Post
    Don't mean to be antagonising anyone but.. Can you prove it's vastly inaccurate? Do you actually know it's inaccurate or are you, like he was, making an assumption?
    It's difficult to prove the absence of something.

But it's clear from all indications that we will be part-time next season.

Sure why not just state that we'll be buying the new Lansdowne, and say it's true because no-one can prove that we won't be. It's diffuclt to prove that you won't be doing something - particularly as we currently have no players at all on our books to 'prove' it.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    It's difficult to prove the absence of something.

But it's clear from all indications that we will be part-time next season.

Sure why not just state that we'll be buying the new Lansdowne, and say it's true because no-one can prove that we won't be. It's diffuclt to prove that you won't be doing something - particularly as we currently have no players at all on our books to 'prove' it.
    It's still an assumption though... Shouldn't be so hard on someone else for assuming something just because you believe it to be wrong...

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Doomofman View Post
    It's still an assumption though... Shouldn't be so hard on someone else for assuming something just because you believe it to be wrong...
    Read the quote again.

The "assumption" was then used as a "fact" in the next sentence to lambast us for something that it actually very unlikely.

FWIW I really can't see how we can go full-time based on the budget numbers that are being bandied around.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast