Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: your top 3 league of ireland players ever

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by roinuj View Post
    over rated ever since he made that save against brazil.
    peter thomas use to make saves like that every week when playing for the great waterford team of the 60s and 70s
    I suggest you watch some clips of Banksy at his best, and talk to some of the Stoke and England supporters from the 60s and 70s.

He probably wishes he'd never made that save. Then he would be remembered as a legend, as opposed to having to live with the "overrated because it was Pelé" tag from the begrudgers.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Roy Keane made even less of an impact that Shane Long in the LoI.
    Well the question was the top 3 players to play in the LOI, not while they were there. Sure Best didn't get a sniff against Junior Campbell when he played against Drogheda but he was still a genius.

If its the 3 players with most impact in the LOI then I would go for

Paul Doolin
    Brendan Bradley
    Jackie Jamieson
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    I suggest you watch some clips of Banksy at his best, and talk to some of the Stoke and England supporters from the 60s and 70s.

He probably wishes he'd never made that save. Then he would be remembered as a legend, as opposed to having to live with the "overrated because it was Pelé" tag from the begrudgers.
    the question is. the best league of ireland players ever.
    not the ones who came here for 1 season or less
    if that was the case we could say bobby charlton, george best and shay brennan.

the reason i put peter thomas ahead of banks is because thomas played for waterford for 14 years winning 6 leagues 1 fai cup 1 league cup

363 Posts
    There are too many to list, maybe filter it down per decade ?

Barry Kehoe (RIP) in the 80`s - won 2 lge titles, & 1 cup (lincluding the double), also was a superb team player to the often forgotten and excellent Irish Olympic side of the mid 80`s - came very close to qualificaiton and had some great results away to Spain, Sweden, France I think.

Jackie Jamseson (RIP) - mainly 80`s - prob didnt win that much - a travesty, but not uncommon with certain great players in history. A legend. Scored in famous 3-2 win v Rangers in 83/84 ?

Liam Coyle - 90`s - pure class, surely Derry`s best player of all time ?

Paul Doolin, was also an excellent player, well deserving of these mentions, Alfie Hale, Tommy McConnville, Brendan Bradley, Peter Thomas, Al Finnuance, Mick Leech, all also dserve a mention, but I`ll stick to my top 3 as I would have watched them the most.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

1,000 Posts
    Liam Coyle
    Tony Sheridan
    Peter Hutton

For a few seasons Fahey but maby he doesn't deserve the honour of best player in league ever

89 Posts
    Ken de Mange
    Johnny Speake
    Patsy Freyne
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

30 Posts
    1. Mick Bennett
    2. Jonathan Speak
    3. Tony Sheridan / Dave Barry / Pat Morley.

This thread should be changed to all time best XI

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    1. Mick Bennett
    2. Jonathan Speak
    3. Tony Sheridan / Dave Barry / Pat Morley.

This thread should be changed to all time best XI
    peter thomas
    ger o mahoney
    brian gardener
    tony dunphy
    al finucain
    tommy jackson
    vinny mccarthy
    mick madigan
    sid wallace
    larry murry
    mark meagan

well thats the best team i ever seen and the shamrock rovers team of 86 were pure class. nothing in the league today would come anywhere near the class of any of those two teams.

Paul McGee

Three best players I've seen would be:
    Jason Byrne - He's an outstanding finisher and does more than Crowe, imo.
    Colm Tresson - Even though by the time I started going to Bray games, he was in the later stages of his career, he could still be class. Think he won a few POTY awards for us when he was well into his 30's.
    Keith Fahey/Joseph Ndo - Either one of these would get my vote for best pure footballer I've ever seen in the LOI.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Well the question was the top 3 players to play in the LOI, not while they were there. Sure Best didn't get a sniff against Junior Campbell when he played against Drogheda but he was still a genius.

If its the 3 players with most impact in the LOI then I would go for

Paul Doolin
    Brendan Bradley
    Jackie Jamieson
    I assume celdrog Junior Campbell is the same Christy Campbell ex Longford Town asst mgr and Drogs player..He must have being a good player when he was with ye.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Mark Rutherford and Gary Haylock were two I liked to watch

1 Kevin Doyle
    2 Ollie Cahil
    3 Stephan Geoghean

Top 3.

Liam Coyle
    Alan Gough(Best keeper i've ever seen)
    Billy Clery

Owen Heary and a few others just miss out on top 3.
    Incidently who did Charles Livingstone play for again?I remember the name,was it St.Pats?

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Liam Coyle
    Alan Gough(Best keeper i've ever seen)
    Billy Clery

Owen Heary and a few others just miss out on top 3.
    Incidently who did Charles Livingstone play for again?I remember the name,was it St.Pats?
    Hes playing in Vietnam now.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles...gstone_Mbabazi

25 Posts
    Tom Mohan
    Kevin McHugh (before he did a Judas!)
    Shane Bradley
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

55 Posts
    Kevin Hunt
    Jackie Jameson
    Mbabazi
    Last edited by GypsyBlackCat; 25/11/2009 at 9:35 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    There are too many to list, maybe filter it down per decade ?

Barry Kehoe (RIP) in the 80`s - won 2 lge titles, & 1 cup (lincluding the double), also was a superb team player to the often forgotten and excellent Irish Olympic side of the mid 80`s - came very close to qualificaiton and had some great results away to Spain, Sweden, France I think.

Jackie Jamseson (RIP) - mainly 80`s - prob didnt win that much - a travesty, but not uncommon with certain great players in history. A legend. Scored in famous 3-2 win v Rangers in 83/84 ?

Liam Coyle - 90`s - pure class, surely Derry`s best player of all time ?

Paul Doolin, was also an excellent player, well deserving of these mentions, Alfie Hale, Tommy McConnville, Brendan Bradley, Peter Thomas, Al Finnuance, Mick Leech, all also dserve a mention, but I`ll stick to my top 3 as I would have watched them the most.
    When did Jackie Jamieson pass away? he was a great player in the 80's even in his later years and a pure gentleman

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Kevin Doyle is a strange one, I mean obviously he's gone on to great things but he wasn't all that good when he was playing here.

Ah come on now, doyle was a class act when in the league - id not doubt he'd make it across the water (though in saying that i never thought daryl murphy was good enough to make it across the water, but sure hes done alright for himself!!)

Keith fahey was the most naturally talented player ive ever seen in this league
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast