Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast

Thread: John Delaney

1,081 Posts
    Ingenious idea there JD. I'm sure none of the clubs have tried to build up links with the local schoolboy clubs and they're all only dying to cooperate.

That's why all the top Fortune 500 companies are after him, for brainwaves like that.

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I thought it was a pretty shallow article with some over-simplifications that are probably misleading/wrong, but I suppose it is written for outsiders.
    Agreed - shallow is a great word to describe it

There is nothing in it that even the most casual or fair weather League of Ireland follower would not know.

might as well be on a teenagers blog

874 Posts
    Mark Tighe had a sort of update on the ODCE case against Delaney. Listed as one of the items that JD is claiming legal privilege is 're Drogheda United', anyone recall issues with Drogheda cropping up that would have gotten in to legals that he'd have an issue with? Also listed is DPP v JD which is strange as it would be from emails seized from the FAI and surely there would be something about it at the time.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Just searching through the internet, Drogheda and Delaney come up regards the new stadium announcement in 2018, and discussions with unpaid players in 2009.

Is Delaney still living in the UK?
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

874 Posts
    He must be as it says the affidavit was signed at a law firm in Bracknell.

537 Posts
    Yeah last time I heard from JD he was in the UK so I imagine hes still there!

231 Posts
    Yeah last time I heard from JD he was in the UK so I imagine hes still there!
    Don’t want to see him back here, unless it’s to see the inside of a prison cell.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

41 Posts
    Down Surrey direction based on his company and legal team location

716 Posts
    https://www.independent.ie/podcasts/...504967303.html

John Delaney is recruiting his Irish contacts to become directors of brass-plate Irish companies for overseas online businesses selling cannabis oil and other e-commerce schemes for €3,000 a year and boasting it is “money for jam”.

409 Posts
    The man with a scam.

Disgraceful that the Garda 'investigation' into him has yet to conclude, and that he's still free to whorr himself around England.

649 Posts
    How desperate would you have to be to allow anyone to use your name as a Director in a new venture .........

1,081 Posts
    You'd want to be very careful. There would be serious obligations on the directors to ensure the company isn't facilitating money laundering for starters. But I'm sure businesses like cannabis oil and adult entertainment wouldn't be high risk for that kind of thing.

874 Posts
    God loves a trier, or John the Baptist even. I detest the man and what he has done to the game here, there is something of his persistance or sheer brass neck that is almost amusing, the English/Essex geeza and all. It does show an insight in to his true character that wasnt just incompetent where the house of cards came crashing in. He must love Mark Tighe. Im at a loss as to how he has managed to keep the ODCE investigation at arms length for so long.

It is possible that the UK authorities might start taking a closer look at his business antics. Sounds a bit like a pyramid scheme where ye get 3k for a 500 investment and then additional payments of 500 for anyone else you get signed up!?? Is it really that easy and legal to do so - long before the whole dodgy clickbait website stuff making false claims. Maybe im just naive.....sign me up John, Ive a clean business record and could do with 3k + plus plenty of contacts that woul also love money for jam as I get a bonus of 500 quid for each. I think they were treading carefully in the podcast tbh. Well at least he'd have a Waterford connection insider with Mr Pilley if it goes pear shaped...

As an aside, Tighe referred to him as a Chartered Accountant, wasnt that one of the issues where he was a trained accountant but never took his professional exams and hence was getting someone to sign of accounts as he wasnt chartered? Stu, you seem to know more about this kind of stuff!?

Finally, what gobsh1te sends whatsapp voice messages knowing they can be passed on without benig able to deny it was them as they could in a phonecall when yer swinging close to the wind legally or ethically. I do know there are a bunch of investigations in to dodgy procurement of PPE for the NHS of which he was also allegedly on that gravy train - and they are catching up with those involved slowly but surely.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 17/07/2023 at 10:06 PM.

409 Posts
    Ironic to be using "money for jam", which is an old British Army expression that you rarely hear these days.

74 Posts
    Papers that looked into his accountancy qualifications were threatened with legal action at a time when the fai we’re paying for numerous cases instigated by our ec CEO.

54 Posts
    Turned up in Cooke Park for the FAI Cup game between St. Michaels v Waterford!

3,219 Posts
    The big John Delaney derby - hardly a surprise I guess!

328 Posts
    He has some neck anyway. Any of us would be ashamed to show our faces in Ireland again after everything that happened under his watch. Mind you, we were always the problem not Dear Leader.

716 Posts
    Oh, he's probably a misunderstood genius in the south-east, just like that ****wit Sean Quinn in the midlands after his pyramid scheme of an insurance company collapsed.

Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast