Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: DCFC fans do you consider yourselves hard done by?

rerun
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    No it constitutes an extra job.
    I thought this was what Derry were doing. If they were stupid enough not to try to hide the extra payments as remuneration for a second job then they deserve whatever they get

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rerun View Post
    I thought this was what Derry were doing. If they were stupid enough not to try to hide the extra payments as remuneration for a second job then they deserve whatever they get
    How could someone playing for fingal have a second role at dcfc?

Come to think about it, if he was on loan at fingal, how much of his wages were dcfc still paying?

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A N Mouse View Post
    Come to think about it, if he was on loan at fingal, how much of his wages were dcfc still paying?
    None..... isn't that why we're all here?

1,524 Posts
    All of them. A loaned player is paid by the club he 'belongs to' and the club he's on loan at pays loan fees directly to the them.

So Derry would have been paying Quigley's wages, and Fingal paying Derry some set amount- perhaps all of his contract, perhaps less.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    All of them. A loaned player is paid by the club he 'belongs to' and the club he's on loan at pays loan fees directly to the them.

So Derry would have been paying Quigley's wages, and Fingal paying Derry some set amount- perhaps all of his contract, perhaps less.
    Ding!

Another potential creditor.

44 Posts
    If only Quigley had signed the deal that was offered at the start of the season by Dundalk.
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

Feel bad for the Derry fans there isn't a nicer bunch of lads in the league always made welcome up there , one positive to come from the situation is that the FAI are giving ye a helping hand to get rid of the bunch of lying muppets running the club.

Quote Originally Posted by dublinred View Post
    one positive to come from the situation is that the FAI are giving ye a helping hand to get rid of the bunch of lying muppets running the club.
    The FAI have literally put us out of Senior football, there is NO positives !
    Malpractice or not the fans of this club will suffer as a result.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by shep View Post
    If only Quigley had signed the deal that was offered at the start of the season by Dundalk.
    Couldnt agree more !
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by dortie View Post
    The IFA kicked you out for 16 years and you came back stronger all you need to do is get rid of the muppets as you have a decent ground by LOI standards and a great fanbase , a couple of years in the wilderness won't do any harm if some decent people can get control of the club.

Quote Originally Posted by shep View Post
    If only Quigley had signed the deal that was offered at the start of the season by Dundalk
    He still wouldn't have been paid the full contract amount agreed....

Couldnt agree more !
    This post has convinced me that you are a total idiot. You would have preferred that we continued to break rules?

Derry City have done nothing but cheat for the past two seasons. It's not Darren's fault.
    DCFC

Hopefully Derry can get on with the real work of trying to save the club financially and work with FAI to keep senior soccer alive in the town.

rerun
    How could someone playing for fingal have a second role at dcfc?

Wasn't specifically thinking about Quigley, though I see your point on that issue.

Is there a chance that a reformed club are offered a licence for the 1st Division, and that this club is run by the community with a 2-3 full-time admin staff? If 1,000 people pay £2 a week, that's £2,000 to pay players and staff with, the rest can be made up with gates, matchday take and sponsors. Get rid of large shareholders, let everyone be equal, paying £2 and no more per week. Isn't this the new Drogheda model? This is the way operated by a couple of clubs on the continent and while they're not int he top flight they are solvent, competitive and develop young players. Derry is too important a football base to not have in the LOI.

Hard done by?
    Fcuk, we just fell into the Foyle and came out with smoked Salmon and caviar for tea.
    If things pan out as Delaney hopes, we've been absolutely steeped in it.

The IFA kicked you out for 16 years and
    *Cough* - 12 years and a little under 11 months.

I thoguht you'd still be holding out for some facts Dortie...

It's looking very likely that we'll be in the First Division next year, so we're not out of football.

And if we were it wouldn't be the FAI who put us, but that shower of muppets who've been running our club (into the ground). Stop blaming the FAI for our wrong doings.

The IFA kicked you out for 16 years
    the ifa did not kick derry city out of the irish league.
    the ifa told them to play their games away from the brandywell due to the inability for safety to be provided there. derry city did play elsewhere for a while then decided it wasn't viable to carry on and (correct me if i am wrong) decided to withdraw themselves voluntarily from the league. after a time they entered a junior league for a while and requested to re-enter the senior league. the other clubs voted on their re-entry and derry city lost by a single vote and one abstention. if you look around you can find out which way each club voted.
    this myth that the ifa kicked derry city out of the irish league is just that, a myth.

blame the targetting of other clubs for violence when visiting, causing derry city's original problem of not being able to host teams safely at the brandywell,
    blame the ifa (or certain individuals in the ifa might be more appropriate) for not making it easy (understatement) for derry city (even from a few years before and their european tie)
    blame derry city for not being prepared to play away from the brandywell any longer (only 10 games i believe),
    blame the clubs who decided to vote against them coming back,
    blame the ifa for not doing more to persuade the clubs to vote them back in,
    there are probably a hundred more "blames", but its hard to blame the ifa for ever kicking derry city out of the irish league when the facts show they didn't actually do that.
    Last edited by -lamb-; 14/11/2009 at 2:16 PM.
    Larne FC for Larne Town. Inver Park for the people.

Quote Originally Posted by -lamb- View Post
    the ifa did not kick derry city out of the irish league.
    the ifa told them to play their games away from the brandywell due to the inability for safety to be provided there. derry city did play elsewhere for a while then decided it wasn't viable to carry on and (correct me if i am wrong) decided to withdraw themselves voluntarily from the league. after a time they entered a junior league for a while and requested to re-enter the senior league. the other clubs voted on their re-entry and derry city lost by a single vote and one abstention. if you look around you can find out which way each club voted.
    this myth that the ifa kicked derry city out of the irish league is just that, a myth.

blame the targetting of other clubs for violence when visiting, causing derry city's original problem of not being able to host teams safely at the brandywell,
    blame the ifa (or certain individuals in the ifa might be more appropriate) for not making it easy (understatement) for derry city (even from a few years before and their european tie)
    blame derry city for not being prepared to play away from the brandywell any longer (only 10 games i believe),
    blame the clubs who decided to vote against them coming back,
    blame the ifa for not doing more to persuade the clubs to vote them back in,
    there are probably a hundred more "blames", but its hard to blame the ifa for ever kicking derry city out of the irish league when the facts show they didn't actually do that.
    You are wrong.

1) It wasn't the IFA that stopped them playing there, it was the league which was not run by the IFA at the time.
    2) The IFA and the security forces both agreed it was safe for them to return to the Brandy, again the clubs and the league ignored the professionals advice and refused.

They may not have kicked them out but they didnt leave them with much of a choice.

A comparable situation in a workplace would be called constructive dismissal.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast