Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: DCFC fans do you consider yourselves hard done by?

I think Derry have been very hard done by here. Cork despite all their problems have had no penalty yet. they should have been docked points long ago. Losing Derry would be devastating to the league, as they would be replaced by a team with no history or support and probably from Dublin.

The FAI have done fcuk all for the league since they took over. Now is the time for the top clubs in Ireland to setup on their own and form a new league. Then an invitation can be sent to IL clubs if they are interested. The LOI and FAI marriage is a shambles.

1,524 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie Dean View Post
    I think Derry have been very hard done by here. Cork despite all their problems have had no penalty yet. they should have been docked points long ago. Losing Derry would be devastating to the league, as they would be replaced by a team with no history or support and probably from Dublin.

The FAI have done fcuk all for the league since they took over. Now is the time for the top clubs in Ireland to setup on their own and form a new league. Then an invitation can be sent to IL clubs if they are interested. The LOI and FAI marriage is a shambles.
    The allegation is that they cheated on a large, systematic basis over an extended period, don't see how they were hard done by.

Cork haven't broken any rules yet- how can they be deducted points?

Losing Derry is a blow, but it's their own fault and incidentally none of the possible replacement in the A league are from Dublin.

And the clubs used to run the league themselves and made an unholy balls of it. Bad and all as things are, it's better than it used to be.

Isnt not paying your players breaking the rules?

Also going into administration should equal a points deduction, even if its not in the rulebook.

As regards Dublin clubs i admit i dont follow the A league but was thinking of sporting fingal, absolute no additon to the league in my book. Have no support and never will.

717 Posts

Losing Derry will be a huge loss for the league. Have always regarded them as one of the best supporters in league,both in numbers and their knowledge of the game. Down through the years they travelled in big numbers to the Showgrounds adding greatly to athmosphere & occasion, and i cant recall them ever causing any trouble.

yes they need to be punished for "systematically breaking the rules" (there have been others too who have bent/broke the rules tho)

I can see where the fai are comming from trying to clean up league but whether this step will improve the league in the short or long term, i have my doubts.

Anyway wish Derry the very best in rejuvinating their club in whatever way they can. Hierarchy at club have alot to answer for and supporters deserve better than the mess they are in now

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    There was hardly any mention of DCFC, never mind "obsessing", by IL fans up until a few weeks ago.
    Seriously

Is that why there is a more than a few threads on the Irish League forums every few months on us?
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Any fan of any club blaming the FAI for their own clubs failings is the lazy head in the sand way out.

Some of the things the FAI have done for the league since the merger.
    Increased prize money. Hardballed RTE into running MNS. Part-funded club promo officers. Setup Futsal league. Finally forcing the clubs to get their acts together.

Fair play to all the Derry fans on here who have taken this on chin.

McDaid and the board should be fcuked out and let the club start over in A league.

bhs

Quote Originally Posted by blackholesun View Post
    Any fan of any club blaming the FAI for their own clubs failings is the lazy head in the sand way out.

Some of the things the FAI have done for the league since the merger.
    Increased prize money. Hardballed RTE into running MNS. Part-funded club promo officers. Setup Futsal league. Finally forcing the clubs to get their acts together.
    You could be accused of the exact same head in the sand attitude if you actually think the FAI are doing a good job Yes, they've done those things you mentioned except the bit in bold. Have you been paying attention at all??

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    You could be accused of the exact same head in the sand attitude if you actually think the FAI are doing a good job Yes, they've done those things you mentioned except the bit in bold. Have you been paying attention at all??
    The point is, under the old system there was nothing to stop the clubs doing whatever they liked. Now there are penalties, rules, wage caps etc.

It's not a perfect system , but it is a degree of controls that weren't there previously.

There is only so much the FAI can do to protect clubs from self-destructing.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    I'm fed up sticking up for the feckers, but obviously you feel $hels were a model of prudencey before they were forced to get their act together by... oh... nevermind

Rome wasn't built in a day, and all that.

If Derry broke the rules then they are wrong and should face the consequences, the problem is that listening to Frank Gavin and then to Derry at their meeting today there is complete difference of opinion as to whether there was any wrong doing. For the FAI to have made such a decision and the magnitude of the punishment would it not be fair to expect clear evidence of wrong doing otherwise this could happen to other clubs ?

Also like to add that this should not detract from the issue which preceded this and that is the overall financial management of the club.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DJP09 View Post
    Frank Gavin
    Is he married to Irene?

427 Posts

First and foremost let me say that the decision is a bad day for Derry City FC, thier fans AND the League of Ireland.
    All season people here have been condeming the FAI for not implementing the rules and for not taking firm action against clubs even on this thread some fans are still calling for sanctions (justified or not) against some clubs. which is it to be guys ? do we want to FAI to take action -if so, then someone had to go- or do we want another fudge and another season of the same crap next year ?.
    Best of luck to Derry, I really hope they enter Div 1 and come back up in the near future.

Isnt not paying your players breaking the rules?

Also going into administration should equal a points deduction, even if its not in the rulebook.
    1) Nope, once theyre paid or have an agreement before the licensing deadline.
    2) we didnt go into administration this season.

Eh - it does. Both Cork and Drogs were docked 10 points last season for going into administration (and its in the rulebook)
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Does anyone think the FAI did this as they were worried there would be three Galway teams in the First Division next year?
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

1,524 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    Does anyone think the FAI did this as they were worried there would be three Galway teams in the First Division next year?
    Eh? .

rerun
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    It seems a little harsh considering some of the other dodgy stuff that's been going on with regard to the 65% rule, like Bohs very well paid bar staff, but I'm guessing we're being made an example of.
    Does this not constitute a double contract? Are Bohs being investigated?

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rerun View Post
    Does this not constitute a double contract? Are Bohs being investigated?
    No it constitutes an extra job.

Lets get back to Derry.

Our chairman and our solicitor refused to deny double contracts weren't in place. In fact, its been reported that they said they "didn't know" if they were or weren't in place.

Read that again. Our Chairman said he doesn't know what contracts are in place with our playing staff, and our solicitor, specifically engaged to defend an FAI charge that we had dual contracts, doesn't know either.

You couldn't make it up.

The FAI aren't a court of law, they don't need to operate to that level of proof. The onus on us is to prove we didn't break the rules. And we appear not to be even trying.

Cop on.

1,000 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Our chairman and our solicitor refused to deny double contracts weren't in place. In fact, its been reported that they said they "didn't know" if they were or weren't in place.

Read that again. Our Chairman said he doesn't know what contracts are in place with our playing staff, and our solicitor, specifically engaged to defend an FAI charge that we had dual contracts, doesn't know either.
    This is the killer here. When the chairman says he doesn't know, and the solicitor, they immediately lose any remaining credibility.

A question I've been wondering - is the term "double-contract" (or "dual-contract") accurate? Were there actually 2 contracts, or just one with under-the-table payments? Either way, the intention would have been to mislead the FAI, but I'm just wondering.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast