Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Thread: Latest Scores November 6th

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Like?

Depending on how you travel, it can be the closest.

Fingal to Tallaght for example, takes either over an hour through Dublin, or 20 minutes on the M50.
    I thought you aruged derbys were determined by distance, not length of time it takes to travel? Sure it could take you around 8 hours to get from Tallaght to Phibsboro if you went via Cork and Galway - does that mean it is no longer a derby game? I mean, there have been some daft posts on this site down the years, but you are inching your way to the top of that list
    Last edited by WoodquayBoy; 07/11/2009 at 9:26 PM. Reason: sp
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

3,247 Posts
    Just back after a good long night.

Fair dues to Waterford; three goals in four minutes looks strange, but I said before and I'll say it again - Waterford are the best team to visit the Bowl this year. A few tossers booing when the trophy was being presented, but most of the fans were sound and acnowledged out win. Best of luck in 2010 to Waterford.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy
    Sure it could take you around 8 hours to get from Tallaght to Phibsboro if you went via Cork and Galway - I mean, there have been some daft posts on this site down the years
    If anyone did that, I don't think daft would describe it.

Basically any of the Dublin teams we play against is a derby for us, so anywhere we have to travel 140 kilometres and back is a long trip.
    Last edited by mypost; 08/11/2009 at 7:52 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

389 Posts
    If anyone did that, I don't think daft would describe it.

Basically any of the Dublin teams we play against is a derby for us, so anywhere we have to travel 140 kilometres and back is a long trip.
    Yeah but it's not your derby game we're talking about. I'd say it would take you longer to get to Phibsboro these days then to go to Bray but I presume you don't count that as a derby game cause you're not from the same county. Just as we count Galway as a derby game as we're both from Connaught and Athlone and Longford aren't. And Harps is a derby game as we're both from the north west which again Athlone and Longford aren't.

Technically our derby game is if we played Merville United in a friendly as they're right across the road from us

No.
    You clearly stated that it is geographical proximity which determines a derby.
    Now what sets apart the Shams and Bohs derby?
    Can you not just admit that it is not solely geographical proximity which determines derbys?
    That a whole raft of other circumstances can determine them.
    But I suppose that would be too much like logic to recognise the obvious.

2,643 Posts
    dont worry DRR - im sure everyone will agree that you beat Mypost hands down.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover
    No.
    Can you not just admit that it is not solely geographical proximity which determines derbys?
    That a whole raft of other circumstances can determine them.
    There are no other circumstances that can determine them. Galway and Sligo are situated too far apart for the game to be classified as a derby. Us v Wexford is a similiar distance, but nobody is going to say it's a derby. It defies logic to describe it as one.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Mypost, what would you call the Real Barca match then?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Not a derby anyways!
    I don't see the Galway game as a derby either. Was always Finn Harps in my mind.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    El Classico. Real's derbies are against Atletico and Getafe.

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    Not a derby anyways!
    I don't see the Galway game as a derby either. Was always Finn Harps in my mind.
    And I'm sure Harps view Derry as their derby. Utd - Sligo might not be the game fans with both clubs view as their biggest rivalry, but up until this season at least, they were the only teams in Connacht so it was the CONNACHT derby.
    Barca-Real is a rivalry.
    Utd-Sligo is a derby.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    And I'm sure Harps view Derry as their derby. Utd - Sligo might not be the game fans with both clubs view as their biggest rivalry, but up until this season at least, they were the only teams in Connacht so it was the CONNACHT derby.
    Barca-Real is a rivalry.
    Utd-Sligo is a derby.
    Maybe so. The way I look at it is that Derry only came into the league in the mid eighties whereas Rovers v Harps would have been a fixture since the late sixties when Harps came in. So, traditionally, Harps v Rovers was the North West derby and the only real derby in the eyes of most Sligo Rovers supporters.
    Obviously I cannot speak for Harps fans on what their view is.
    As you say, Rovers v Galway is technically a Connacht derby.

There are no other circumstances that can determine them. Galway and Sligo are situated too far apart for the game to be classified as a derby. Us v Wexford is a similiar distance, but nobody is going to say it's a derby. It defies logic to describe it as one.
    So by your logic Geographical proximity determines derbys solely.
    So thus it would be logical to assume that the closer the opposition club to yours the greater the intensity for the derby would be.
    So thus can you explain to me how the Shams Bohs derby is by far the most passionate between both clubs even though both clubs have closer clubs to them.
    So by your logic that derby would not be the most intense.
    A fairly linear form of logic used throughout this arguement and I do eagerly await your response which is the debating equiviliant of sticking your fingers in your ears and stomping your feet while shouting the same discredited arguement over and over.

Us v Wexford is a similiar distance, but nobody is going to say it's a derby. It defies logic to describe it as one.
    But how many clubs are in between? I think of one at least (Bray) between Tallaght and Wexford. There's none between us and Sligo. Plus we are the only clubs who are on the west coast (Derry isn't really, it's north-west at the most) and we've been in the same division for many of our years. How many times have Rovers played Wexford?

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayjames View Post
    Plus we are the only clubs who are on the west coast (Derry isn't really, it's north-west at the most)
    Limerick might have something to say about that! Not to mention Mervue and Devon

Haha well yeah I forgot them!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Wonder how the young fella is that burned his hand from one of the flares? Seen him being brought off to the hospital with one of the "security" lads.

Also, there was a few cork lads arrested in eyre square before the match after they set off 2 flares on a public bus that was full at the time.
    He actually inhaled too much of the smoke off the flare and could not breath so went to the ambulance for oxygen for twenty minutes..he did not go to the hospital.....i turned around to see him on the floor next to four gardaí who could not be bothered asking him if he was alri...what if he was having a heart attack ? they would of just happily watched him die...Sickening..luckily he was spotted on time by the rest of us.

They "security" lads were civil service by the way.

Will both clubs be hit with fines for the fans on the pitch after the game??
    Well it was ye that were hosting the game so it was yer security who did not do there job properly.

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456