Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Latest Scores November 6th

1,524 Posts
    Mad season.

Galway in a playoff, 2 points behind Dundalk in 5th. Small, small margins make all the difference.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Trying to claim Galway-Sligo is a derby is akin to claiming Cork-Galway is.
    You're losing the most pointless argument of the season. Someone needs to get a new Atlas

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Mad season.

Galway in a playoff, 2 points behind Dundalk in 5th. Small, small margins make all the difference.
    Galway got 12 points v Pats, Dundalk got 1

We finished ahead of Galway despite losing 4 times to them

Is anyone else amused at Galway fans complaining at promotion and relegation not being decided on the league table?

I only saw Galway once this year but if they were to play like they did against Longford in cup in a playoff against Shels or Fingal, they'd go down.

1,081 Posts
    Don't know why Galway fans are so worried, you won't be in the play offs as of this afternoon. I'd put a lot of money on that. Plus whoever does go down will probably get a reprieve if and when they feck Coughlan FC out.

Longford and Harps are much nearer to Sligo, likewise Athlone is an hour from Galway. Limerick isn't that much further away. That's a derby. The fact they're in different divisions makes no difference.

Trying to claim Galway-Sligo is a derby is akin to claiming Cork-Galway is.
    So derbys are purely determined on geographical proximity?
    Thats a bit odd.
    If that were the case Galways derby game would be against Mervue.
    Isnt it also odd that there are closer clubs to Shams other than Bohs yet they are their derby game?
    Surely thats not their logical derby using your trail of thought.

Quote Originally Posted by Charles Bronson View Post
    Speaking as a man that was in the middle of it , it was entirely the fault of the garda, they had the hump all night over the beach balls, a smart comment was made by a young bohs fan who promptly was punched in the face by a rookie cop,his mates got involved and it went pear shaped, i attended the game with two people who are regulers at english league one football and they were amazed at the attitude of the garda, a properly trained police officer will stand off and difuse the situation, a templemore rookie will steam in and escalate the situation, not saying bohs fans were right to throw seats just saying things would never have got that far with a properly trained police force who doesnt see a "soccer" match as a chance to get "stuck in"to "dubs". (awaits condemnation)
    Absolutely correct. The seats shouldn't have been thrown but the Gardaí were spoiling for a fight. They were right up in the middle of us pushing people anytime we started jumping around. They are an absolute disgrace. Who polices the police?

The seats themselves collapsed when people were standing on them they were rusted away at the bottom. Between that and the Rovers wall incident you have to ask why "all seater stadia" are seen as safer than terracing.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Keep digging mypost

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover
    So derbys are purely determined on geographical proximity?
    Yes..

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Nothing special? Lets bring Spoofer back so and play hoofball for 90 minutes. You're laughable you are. Agree we conceded lots of goals, but Barry Ryan was brilliant all year.

You just can't please some people
    We finished 8th with the worst defensive record in the league, and if it wasn't for Barry Ryan - who was brilliant - it could have been worse.
    We were knocked out of both Cup competitions by lower league opposition. As I said, in my OPINION, he is nothing special.
    Where did I say bring back Cousins?? Exactly, I didn't. Just because I don't agree with the train of thought that Foster was the best manager in the league doesn't mean (a) I want him gone or (b) I want Cousins back.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Flares?

How much is a Fine for lighting a flare at a match?Cork City fans lit at least 4 last night.How does it make sense to light flares and get your club fined when they are already so far up the creek money wise???

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    How much is a Fine for lighting a flare at a match?Cork City fans lit at least 4 last night.How does it make sense to light flares and get your club fined when they are already so far up the creek money wise???
    It's irrelevant, we don't pay bills.

141 Posts
    Will both clubs be hit with fines for the fans on the pitch after the game??
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Yes..
    Answer my whole post.
    Why then is your derby game with Bohs when there are teams in the LoI that are of a closer geographical proximity?

89 Posts
    ah crap, I missed the Bohemian fans hooliganism last night. Any chance Sheridan could upload it to youtube?

2,636 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    ah crap, I missed the Bohemian fans hooliganism last night. Any chance Sheridan could upload it to youtube?
    until then, this should keep you occupied, Jicked.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    There was nothing to look at. All that you could see was the camera taking a few closeups of the Gardai and a seat being thrown onto the pitch.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover
    Answer my whole post.
    Why then is your derby game with Bohs when there are teams in the LoI that are of a closer geographical proximity?
    Like?

Depending on how you travel, it can be the closest.

Fingal to Tallaght for example, takes either over an hour through Dublin, or 20 minutes on the M50.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Like?

Depending on how you travel, it can be the closest.

Fingal to Tallaght for example, takes either over an hour through Dublin, or 20 minutes on the M50.
    Weird logic, considering your team isn't based in Fingal.

Anymore...

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Wonder how the young fella is that burned his hand from one of the flares? Seen him being brought off to the hospital with one of the "security" lads.

Also, there was a few cork lads arrested in eyre square before the match after they set off 2 flares on a public bus that was full at the time.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast