Back-to-back champions

1,524 Posts
    Fair play to Bohs, retaining the title is a major achievement and they held off a very strong Rovers challenge.

Am I the only one who sees Shams beating Pats by 25 goals a distinct possibilty?

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Credit where it is due - players and manager deserve a lot of credit for winning back-to-back titles.

Bohs fans - enjoy the moment but be carefull on the "gloating stakes" - the understandable backlash on how the team was assembled will surely follow.

On the interviews Keegan is bang on saying "we have a great squad of players" and Fenlon is correct to say "great credit to the players".

Although I think Brian Murphy might be catching some of delusional hype when he says there would be "no league without Bohs (or Rovers)"

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    Am I the only one who sees Shams beating Pats by 25 goals a distinct possibilty?
    No, but you're the only one who thinks Bray will beat Bohs again!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    No, but you're the only one who thinks Bray will beat Bohs again!
    Thanks JC, although our lot could be forgiven for being a bit distracted next week!

Incidentally, unless it's been said elsewhere, and I think I can comfortably claim to speak for Bohs fans everywhere, can you pass on my heartfelt thanks to the one and only Aaron Greene!

Surely they won't be Champions until the bean-counters take a look at the books.
    Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'

cONGRATS to Bohs
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    Surely they won't be Champions until the bean-counters take a look at the books.
    Same here - great achievement, but when all their barmen are actually playing in the CL next season then they will be back to back champions.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Traveling to ireland. What soccer match should I see?

What team should I see? I will be there the weekend of November 6th. I want to see a match that will be sold-out and fun. I have no idea about teams or divisions or anything like that. I also have the option to see frank warren presents championship boxing in belfast November 6th. Would that be more fun than soccer?

537 Posts
    congrats to Bohs on their win again.. It showed some character to come back from losing in Tallaght.. I really hope they can get through the season unscathed otherwise we could be meeting ye next season!

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jestein View Post

What team should I see? I will be there the weekend of November 6th. I want to see a match that will be sold-out and fun. I have no idea about teams or divisions or anything like that. I also have the option to see frank warren presents championship boxing in belfast November 6th. Would that be more fun than soccer?
    You have a choice between:

Bray against Bohemians
    Galway against Cork
    Dundalk against Derry
    St. Pat's against Shamrock Rovers
    Sligo against Drogheda United

Out of those games I would recommend St. Pat's against Shamrock Rovers, at Richmond Park in Dublin, as there is a big rivalry between the teams, and because St. Pat's still have something left to play for.

If you can't make that, then I'd suggest the Galway against Cork game. Galway need to win to make sure they don't have to face a relegation playoff, and the city itself is worth a visit.

As to whether you go to the boxing or not, that depends entirely on whether or not you like boxing more than you like football. For all I care, I could be being paid in chocolate to watch Mike Tyson fight Mohammed Ali on a Friday night, I'd still choose watching Bray. It would appear that the vast majority of normal people in Ireland have the opposite view!

44 Posts

Definitely St Pats V Shamrock Rovers in Inchicore, Dublin. There will be a big crowd and a good atmosphere but you will need to buy your ticket the day before probably. You can get there by tram from the city centre.

If not I'd say Bray V Bohemians, the championship trophy will be presented
    and Bohemians should have a big crowd. You can get the DART there from Dublin city centre.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

Finn Harps Vs. Monaghan, definitely.

290 Posts
    Man City v Burnley,

3pm Saturday, first round's on you.

Come to Sligo. We have Daniel & Franny Ventre.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    If you prefer the short team stuff - take in the game at Oriel Park Dundalk.

This is a competition within a competition and the prize at stake is a place in the Guinness Book of Records for the most red cards. Nearly all the Dundalk lads are up for it, but it seems that of the Derry team only Clive Delaney really understands what it's all about. Expect things to be fairly one-sided (thats really the whole point of it all)

Quote Originally Posted by fionnsci View Post
    Definitely St Pats V Shamrock Rovers in Inchicore, Dublin. There will be a big crowd and a good atmosphere but you will need to buy your ticket the day before probably. You can get there by tram from the city centre.
    get on at the sackville street stop, beside nelson's pillar...

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    Based on Pats v Derry: Yes.

Based on Rovers the past couple of weeks: No. Rovers would go 25-0 up and then concede through a strike deflected by a syringe.

Take your pick
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Fair play to Bohs, retaining the title is a major achievement and they held off a very strong Rovers challenge.
    Fair play to Rovers for a very strong challenge especially as newcomers to the top division over the last couple of seasons!