Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Thread: Cup Final - Date and Venue

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Why is Sligo Rovers apologising for a ticket allocation it had no say in ?

I've said all along that Sligo fans have done their bit by buying-up their allocation.

Though I do think it's pointless referring to a cup final attendnace from 15yrs ago in an effort to extrapolate a likely n attendance in 2009. The LOI is a different world now than it was in the early-to-mid 90's. We had a much bigger crowd at the 1994 final than we did at last year's, for example, so you just can't extrapolate in a straight line like that.
    The club felt that because of the lack of tickets they should come out and apologise to those left without tickets, although there was not much the club could do otherwise, an apology was the least they could do to appease those who were left without tickets and on waiting lists.

No it cant be done in such a straight line but it is an example of the amount of interest the cup final awakens among the wider community down here and across the north west in general.

Anyways regarding the whole ticket situation and the attendace, either way I dont care. We are travelling in horrible conditions and probably going to have to endure the worst weather in a long time tommorow, as long as rovers lift that cup do you honestly think im going to care or any other rovers fan is going to care whether or not it isn't a record attendance in a capped crowd?

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    We are travelling in horrible conditions and probably going to have to endure the worst weather in a long time tommorow,
    It'll struggle to top the 2007 conditions...

as long as rovers lift that cup do you honestly think im going to care or any other rovers fan is going to care whether or not it isn't a record attendance in a capped crowd?
    In that case, stop feckin crying about the limited capacity and availability of tickets then....

I do hope Sligo win btw. Would be the best result for Irish football on a number of levels.

535 Posts
    Anyways regarding the whole ticket situation and the attendace, either way I dont care. We are travelling in horrible conditions and probably going to have to endure the worst weather in a long time tommorow, as long as rovers lift that cup do you honestly think im going to care or any other rovers fan is going to care whether or not it isn't a record attendance in a capped crowd?

the fai cup final in 2007 had absolutely dire conditions that day in the RDS.. The RDS imo was a poor ground to have the cup final in it as it was subject to the winter elements..

Millenium Stadium with a closed roof so?

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    Explain the jump then?
    I dont think there was need for me to explain that now was there ?

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    I dont think there was need for me to explain that now was there ?
    Yes there is. Plenty need.

It's simply inexplicable without freebies/discounts.

This you answer but the valid points and questions i asked you ignore

I think it says it all really.

Back to the game.

Looks like it going to be crazy weather wise. It will really get in the way of what could be a good football match.

Cant wait now. Good luck to the sligo lads but hopefully you go home empty handed.

61 Posts

Even a first time visitor could understand yet you keep on at it just to get a bite when you knew very well what has been posted previously.
    Think of something new for next week will you please.

111 Posts
    Everyone, back on-topic please, and less of the bickering about WUMming.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

535 Posts
    Millenium Stadium with a closed roof so?
    yeah please! Ye got the bad weather today so you know what I am talking about now!

It's nothing to do with the ground, it's the timing. Has there been a Cup Final in this date slot that hasn't had gale/ storm force winds and rain? They need to bite the bullet and go for an earlier date - even the October bank holiday would be better than late November.

It could even be better to have it all over and done with early in the season, a la rugby league and the challenge cup. It'd be too early for teams to take their foot off the gas and would also get around the non-senior sides being in close season.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    It's nothing to do with the ground, it's the timing. Has there been a Cup Final in this date slot that hasn't had gale/ storm force winds and rain? They need to bite the bullet and go for an earlier date - even the October bank holiday would be better than late November.

It could even be better to have it all over and done with early in the season, a la rugby league and the challenge cup. It'd be too early for teams to take their foot off the gas and would also get around the non-senior sides being in close season.
    The FAI do need to look at the timing for the Cup, as it is seriously impacted by dire weather.

A couple of weeks would make all the difference if the season start was shifted or we got another few mid-week games (though I know they affect attendances).

It'll be worse next season with a break for the World Cup.

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678