Thread: More cops at Rovers/Bohs game than All Ireland Final?

37 Posts

More cops at Rovers/Bohs game than All Ireland Final?

I was reading an article in More Than 90 Minutes (Celtic fanzine) about the Dublin derby between Rovers and Bohs. Unfortunately, the article doesn't seem to be on their website www.morethan90minutes.com

The writer makes a few points which sidetracked me.....:

There are more Gardai on duty for a Rovers Bohs game than the All ireland Final event the one attracts 3,500 and the other 80,000+

The Luas driver announced to passengers disembarking at Tallaght that there was going to be trouble at the game.

Riots are common at Rovers Bohs games.

Anyone else see the article?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

61 Posts
    There are more gardai at the all ireland
    How did the luas driver know for sure there was going to be trouble?
    I wouldnt call them riots.

Its plain to see that the chap that writes that fanzine hasnt a clue about L O I football and has more than likely been trolling fans forums or bebo .

Cops play it up. An excuse for sure fire overtime.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    There are more gardai at the all ireland
    How did the luas driver know for sure there was going to be trouble?
    I wouldnt call them riots.

Its plain to see that the chap that writes that fanzine hasnt a clue about L O I football and has more than likely been trolling fans forums or bebo .
    Luas drivers have well-documented connections to the Bohs and Shams hooligan firms. They're better than those ticket inspectors though. They're all Sligo supporters.

Sure all ye have to do is simply look at youtube... hill16 pub riot... not to mention all the trouble earlier in the year on the belgard rd. . ha no wonder there's more guards working then in croker

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conormack View Post
    Sure all ye have to do is simply look at youtube... hill16 pub riot... not to mention all the trouble earlier in the year on the belgard rd. . ha no wonder there's more guards working then in croker
    whoooosh!

Seems the article in the fanzine could have been directly lifted from the Herald.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

82 Posts
    They don't need any guards at the All Ireland Final when they aren't going to enforce rules like staying off the pitch etc.

Oh wait, its been going on for years therefore its ok...mind yerself there lads, give that steward a shove out of the way and on you go.

Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Seems the article in the fanzine could have been directly lifted from the Herald.
    IIRC, that line came originally from the Garda Review. The same source has talked of the 'hooligan phenomenon' around Dalymount.

Thats about the 4th or 5th time that article has come out in the last couple years

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    IIRC, that line came originally from the Garda Review. The same source has talked of the 'hooligan phenomenon' around Dalymount.
    The Garda Review is published from the GRA offices in ...Phibsboro' Tower. Presumably, they can observe this phenomenon first hand from their 8th floor window.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Cops are pretty much on top of this fixture these days certainly in Tallaght anyway.Logistically they have a tougher job at Dalymount with all the different aproaches to the ground.Its not so much the amount of cops but how they are deployed that sometimes baffles me,its always reactive with the gardai at Dalymount they seem to wait for incidents to occur and draw battons very quickly.At Tallaght the garda unit is more pro active their risk assessment seems more realistic and they even engage fans in banter before and during games.there will always be the odd incident at both grounds because both clubs have attracted a tiny group of clowns who are bent on mimmicking English casuals.Poor journalism has made far too much of the hooligan thing at both clubs ,we dont have a hooligan problem in this country but because of the bitter rivalry and it is bitter between us and Bohs we will allways need a lot of cops at this fixture.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Cops play it up. An excuse for sure fire overtime.
    Totally agreed, it's a cash cow for them!

They have intentionally mismanaged it for years at the Dalymount games.

bhs

Quote Originally Posted by RoversHead View Post
    Cops are pretty much on top of this fixture these days certainly in Tallaght anyway.Logistically they have a tougher job at Dalymount with all the different aproaches to the ground.Its not so much the amount of cops but how they are deployed that sometimes baffles me,its always reactive with the gardai at Dalymount they seem to wait for incidents to occur and draw battons very quickly.At Tallaght the garda unit is more pro active their risk assessment seems more realistic and they even engage fans in banter before and during games.there will always be the odd incident at both grounds because both clubs have attracted a tiny group of clowns who are bent on mimmicking English casuals.Poor journalism has made far too much of the hooligan thing at both clubs ,we dont have a hooligan problem in this country but because of the bitter rivalry and it is bitter between us and Bohs we will allways need a lot of cops at this fixture.
    A rivalry so bitter it didn't even begin until the late 1970's at the earliest....

Quote Originally Posted by blackholesun View Post
    Totally agreed, it's a cash cow for them!

They have intentionally mismanaged it for years at the Dalymount games.

bhs
    The Gardai are like LOI referees - they're so bad, it's sometimes easy to think they're being bad deliberately.

I prefer to give them the benefit of the doubt though. They're clueless by defauly, not by design.

[QUOTE=dcfcsteve;1254151]A rivalry so bitter it didn't even begin until the late 1970's at the earliest.... [/QUOTE And your point is?..........Is 30 yrs not long enough for a bitter rivalry to develope or something?...............you being a Nordy Im prepared to bow to your vast experience of bitterness. So how long does it take to develope?

[QUOTE=RoversHead;1254182]
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    A rivalry so bitter it didn't even begin until the late 1970's at the earliest.... [/QUOTE And your point is?..........Is 30 yrs not long enough for a bitter rivalry to develope or something?...............you being a Nordy Im prepared to bow to your vast experience of bitterness. So how long does it take to develope?
    LOL

I bet you can't even tell me when or why this bitter rivalry began.....?

164 Posts
    Cops are pretty much on top of this fixture these days certainly in Tallaght anyway.Logistically they have a tougher job at Dalymount with all the different aproaches to the ground.Its not so much the amount of cops but how they are deployed that sometimes baffles me,its always reactive with the gardai at Dalymount they seem to wait for incidents to occur and draw battons very quickly.At Tallaght the garda unit is more pro active their risk assessment seems more realistic and they even engage fans in banter before and during games.
    A new level to the Rovers Bohs rivalry on foot.ie: "Our cops are better than yours"

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    A new level to the Rovers Bohs rivalry on foot.ie: "Our cops are better than yours"

its cos they have to be to deal with those animals

(tries to drag thread into chaos)

[QUOTE=dcfcsteve;1254325]

LOL

I bet you can't even tell me when or why this bitter rivalry began.....?
    whats the point in me telling you what you have already read ?thats two posts without contributing anything to the thread your on a roll.
    The fact that the garda unit in Tallaght cope better with the fixture is down to many factors some of which I reffered to earlier ,doesnt make "our cops "any better but their bedside manner is a touch softer than the unit at Dalymount.