Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Tonight's Latest - Friday 16th October

Fair play to Dundalk, quality fighting spirit, Thought Heary and McKinley were two definite reds, the elbow the lads used on Raf was terrile could have broken his jaw, Turner's i could not see, if We had won it it would have been very rough on Dundalk with just 8 men, game for us to forget.

433 Posts
    25mins, 8 men, held on for a draw. If Sligo where to score I was away. Very disheartening to watch that..
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

3,234 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    I think even the pessimistic UCD fans
    Hello!

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC
    have to admit they're favs for the league now
    One point of note is that this is the first time all season that it's been in our hands. Chasing a team is always different to holding onto a lead. Be interesting to see how we cope with that. That said, you're right that we're the side on form and I think the club in general is on a buzz which might carry us through. We've three of the bottom four to play now (including Athlone...), before a big final day game against Waterford, who may be focussing on the Cup Final.

The one thing I will take from tonight is that I think Shels still have another non-win in them. I honestly never saw that coming; I was looking for Kildare to hold out against Monaghan so they'd be still in contention on the last day. The fact that Athlone have Barry Andrews in nets makes it all the sweeter! Didn't even know about the penalty miss till this morning. Hiding stuff from me, Ash!!

Edit - oh yeah, and if Martin Russell doesn't win Manager of the Year, there's something wrong. And I mean overall Manager of the Year, not just First Division Manager of the Year.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 17/10/2009 at 10:05 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    PS if we get one more sent off, I think the game has to be abandonded ?
    That was never going to happen as once ye went down to 8 men, the ref was protecting your players making sure any free's went your way.

No excuse though, we should have been able to beat Dundalk's 8 men(+ the ref).

83 Posts
    The fact that Athlone have Barry Andrews in nets makes it all the sweeter! Didn't even know about the penalty miss till this morning. Hiding stuff from me, Ash!!
    Barry made one really excellent save last night and overall played as well as I have seen him play.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

445 Posts
    That was never going to happen as once ye went down to 8 men, the ref was protecting your players making sure any free's went your way.
    Yeah it was the refs fault you didnt win
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    11 man Sligo Rovers couldn't beat an 9 man Dundalk.(the ref took pity on you and gave you everything after ye went to 8 men)

They deserve to be relegated.
    thanks pity you cant read other wise you would see that we above the drop.
    Last edited by forza rovers; 17/10/2009 at 12:55 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    3 away wins out of 4 if things stay as is... i know its early days but i cant imagine that happens very often in this league!
    4 consecutive wins in the cross too. Who else can say they've done that?

Come on the Drogs tonight!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Stop the girly fights and glow in the 6-1 win for Mons for god sake people!

No excuse though, we should have been able to beat Dundalk's 8 men(+ the ref).
    Can I confer for half marks?

You think that despite the ref sending off 3 players, 2 of which are highly questionable you had to play against the ref?

38 Posts
    "We were playing against nine men out there" is one of the lamest whines I've ever heard.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    "We were playing against nine men out there" is one of the lamest whines I've ever heard.
    Not if its 7 a side though.

Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post
    What? Dundalk? A dirty team? Neverrr. Obviously a **** LOI ref yet again.
    Fecking Dublin refs again

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Not if its 7 a side though.
    Or a doubles tennis team?

Anyone with updates tonight?
    'And Crouch must score'

For anyone, Bohs fans especially, who want to keep track on the game, Drogs Live Radio will be broadcasting the whole game live.

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/drogs-live
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

1 nil Rovers. Baker.
    Last edited by CSFShels; 17/10/2009 at 6:18 PM.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

290 Posts
    Goal on 7 mins.

Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    Anyone with updates tonight?