Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789

Thread: Tonights Latest: weekending 04/10/2009

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    That means Harps have now taken points from all of the top four. Great performance from the young Harps after two heavy beatings.

Many thanks for the link eL Bettor.

Apologies for not posting it sooner! Fair play to WLRFM for travelling the length and breadth of the country broadasting many of the Blues away games, I often wonder how many listeners they get for a game such as tonight, considering for the home game versus Harps there were only about 350 at the game.

Plenty diehard Blues fans could be heard in the background tonight, pity they dont have a win to celebrate.

Raheny - how many Shels fans do you expect will travel to Waterford on Tuesday?

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Well done Harps and Mon U
    Echo that. A Waterford win on Tuesday would suit too.

238 Posts
    Harps and Waterford played some great football at times in a thoroughly entertaining game. It was end to end and played on the deck for the majority. I feel we should have taken all 3 points but after conceding a combined 7 goals in our previous 2 meetings a draw is very welcome.
    The ref gave some totally outrageous decisions for Waterford in the end but thankfully Kearney made a balls of the free on the edge of the box.
    Good atmosphere in the second half to cap off a pretty good night in FP.

P.S. It was hilarious listening to the 6/7 Waterford fans in front of us shouting come on you blues when Harps were wearing Blue and Waterford in White.
    Also, when they started singing "Derry City rejects" they didn't take too kindly to getting "Cobh Ramblers rejects" in return.
    Good craic had with the Waterford lads, fair played to them for travelling and making a bit of noise too.
    Last edited by Sam_Heggy; 03/10/2009 at 11:03 PM. Reason: P.S.

Quote Originally Posted by eL Bettor View Post
    Raheny - how many Shels fans do you expect will travel to Waterford on Tuesday?
    Midweek will see the traveling attendance halved so we will have a least 150 to 200 fans there.
    Who Cares?!

Good stuff, ye should account for about a quarter or third of the total attendance so based on our attendances this season.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Harps and Waterford played some great football at times in a thoroughly entertaining game. It was end to end and played on the deck for the majority. I feel we should have taken all 3 points but after conceding a combined 7 goals in our previous 2 meetings a draw is very welcome.
    The ref gave some totally outrageous decisions for Waterford in the end but thankfully Kearney made a balls of the free on the edge of the box.

P.S. It was hilarious listening to the 6/7 Waterford fans in front of us shouting come on you blues when Harps were wearing Blue and Waterford in White.
    Also, when they started singing "Derry City rejects" they didn't take too kindly to getting "Cobh Ramblers rejects" in return.
    Good craic had with the Waterford lads, fair played to them for travelling and making a bit of noise too.
    Good banter indeed. Not often both sets of fans can have a laugh at eachother. Although I don't think you can say the ref was on our side, although he did give us one awfully ridiculous free kick in the second half. I'm hell bent that Graham Cummins was onside also. The lino wasn't up with the play once all game and only gods knows how he could give it let alone see it. But hey, thats football and now Tuesday is that bit more interesting/important.

164 Posts
    Yeah, the lino couldn't have been sure of that call. He was a yard closer to the halfway line than we were. I couldn't say whether Cummins was off or not (Frosty is adamant he wasn't), but neither could the linesman. It's funny that Alex Ferguson was berating the fitness of the ref yesterday. He should see our lot. Linesmen are regularly ten yards off the pace.

Oh and that free we got on the edge of the box was a joke. Justice was done when Kearney missed it.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post

You're flattering us - there were only five of us in front of ye. A few more in the seats. And we are always Blues whatever colour we happen to be wearing. Nobody in Waterford refers to us as Waterford or United, always Blues.
    I told the boys not to sing the Derry thing

One of the lads deserves a serious badge of honour.....he worked from 6am to 12, straight in the car for six hours, watched us throw away a win, straight back in the car, home at 3.30am, back in work at 7am.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    One of the lads deserves a serious badge of honour.....he worked from 6am to 12, straight in the car for six hours, watched us throw away a win, straight back in the car, home at 3.30am, back in work at 7am.
    What about the lads who couldn't have a pint because of him?!
    more bass

Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789