Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Another Full House At Tallaght

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99
    Novelty value is often commented on here in regard to attendances, Rovers will do well to consistently maintain this level of attendance in the medium/long term - if it cant be done at Tallaght and the excellent matchday experience well then it wont happen anywhere and theories on the 'build it and they will come' scenario will be proven one way or another.
    There are 92,000 people living in Tallaght, more than enough for 6,000 to fill our stadium. If we need help, we have most of Dublin South to call on, and pockets of the the rest of the city. We're not a parochial club.

I don't know how long we'll keep selling out, but I do know that people were saying that we wouldn't be getting them now, at the start of the season. Well we are, and hope to get them for a good long while yet.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Less mention of that game please Remains the only game I've left early despite worse defeats before and since. Nightmares..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psztotXksqE

Just in case you missed anything...!!

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    There are 92,000 people living in Tallaght, more than enough for 6,000 to fill our stadium.
    Hmmm? try that one on the Cork City fans.

My comment was intended as complimentary of Tallaght!! (feel weak after saying that)..
    Last edited by Nesta99; 27/09/2009 at 9:15 AM.

433 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post

Nice way to start a Sunday that!
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

I take it there's absoloutely no chance of getting a ticket for this?

is it on TV?

Is the game live on TG4 or any channel?It doesnt matter to me as ill be in Terryland Park but would be great for the league for a full house top of the table clash derby game to be seen by the country.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts

Thanks for the memories!

It's the hope of repeats of nights like that, that have sustained me through the graveyard years

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by roinuj View Post
    best wishes rovers and i hope ye win the league to top off your success this season,
    as long as the bohs referee is not appointed for the game,
    like the one they brought to waterford with them,
    cheating pr1ck
    hahahaha - thanks for giving me a laugh, lad (you mentaller)!

Yeah the ref travelled down on the team bus and where he was fed steak and lobster, gave him a Bohs jersey signed by all the players and even gave him a go at driving the bus - you should have seen the smile on his face when the driver showed him how to blow his horn.

But he swore he'd referee the game fairly and i believe him.

38 Posts
    I understand that this has now been upgraded to a 16,000 sell-out due to the inclusion of all registered Dublin taxi drivers in the attendance figure.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Brilliant news will be at the match myself as college dictates that I cant make it to Galway this friday so I would always go the nearest game if possible. Im proud of the way the fans appear to have resurrected the club after relegation a few years ago and hope that if the same situation occurs out in Bray that our proposed development would harbour the same sort of revival albeit on a smaller scale. I believe the rovers success has been very important to the league's credibility, hopefully others follow suit.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1
    Is the game live on TG4 or any channel?It doesnt matter to me as ill be in Terryland Park but would be great for the league for a full house top of the table clash derby game to be seen by the country.
    All the sadder that the biggest derby in the country will be shown when the game's target audience will be out watching their own games, but hey, that's this league's Marketing for you.

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    I understand that this has now been upgraded to a 16,000 sell-out due to the inclusion of all registered Dublin taxi drivers in the attendance figure.
    You really are bitter aren't you. While everyone here is commenting on how good it is to see a sell out at a LOI ground for a potential title decider regardless of who the teams are you have to drag up your bitter excuse of an arguement and take a pie in the sky swipe at Rovers for no reason. You still live in this bubble where you believe that Rovers are lying about attendances and will be found out at the end of the season and you are in for one hell of a shock (apparently) when its proven that the averaged well over 3000 with one stand and will average 5500-6000 with both.

172 Posts
    I think the biggest shock that sheridan is going to get is when he has his "fight club" realisation moment.

On the issue of the hoops selling out the stadium and the general feeeling of the glass being completey full out in whitestown:
    a number of years ago I got a copy of the "rough guide to European Football".
    basically all the match going details of stadiums and teams all around europe.
    The LOI section finished with a line that said (roughly)...
    -If and when Shamrock Rovers can get into the proposed tallaght stadium, and get re-established, they could be the launching pad for Irish football once again to emege from the shadows into the light-.

The book was published in 1998!!!
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tallaghtfornia
    You really are bitter aren't you. While everyone here is commenting on how good it is to see a sell out at a LOI ground for a potential title decider regardless of who the teams are you have to drag up your bitter excuse of an arguement and take a pie in the sky swipe at Rovers for no reason. You still live in this bubble where you believe that Rovers are lying about attendances and will be found out at the end of the season and you are in for one hell of a shock (apparently) when its proven that the averaged well over 3000 with one stand and will average 5500-6000 with both.
    Any Rovers-related argument from Sheridan can be instantly dismissed by the fact his club are playing Junior Football, and we're top of the league in Senior Football.

We did his club a favour by poaching Roddy Collins. He should be grateful rather than spiteful.

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    I think the biggest shock that sheridan is going to get is when he has his "fight club" realisation moment.
    !
    Or if he ever goes to a game in Tallaght.

That's if CHF fans ever actually go to games any more (or ever?).
    Together with all our hearts.

I remember much more. Pat Scully being denied a perfectly good equaliser at 1-0. I'll never forget how hard Dundalk ran at Rovers at the start of the second half.

Greg Costello's header

All we have to to get 16,000 in Tallaght is tell our friends in high places that Sheridan is attending and they'll come from far and wide to see the boy himself. Still there'll be seats seen though, so obviously wouldn't be a full house.
    Last edited by dfx-; 28/09/2009 at 12:12 AM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

rerun
    Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    Im just wondering where all these "fans" were when ye were playing in Tolka?
    I think you're being unfair here dude. Consider the fact that Tallaght stadium has a masisve catchment area for people who might not have considered LOI football because they haven't been exposed to it that much. Add to that a decent stadium with proper transport links etc.

There's no point in wondering why 3 or 4 thousand people from Tallaght didn't travel across the city to Tolka, it's obvious. Nobody wants to do that for "home" games on a Friday night, maybe take a kid along. It's a pain in the backside. Two buses, having to change in the city centre, traveling just in or around rush hour(s ) to get there. Or go in the car and have hassle parking because there's another full house at Tolka!

Where were all these fans? Probably at home watching TV, or worse still, sitting about with nothing to do. Tallaght Stadium is an example of what can happen when a decent team and good facilities are developed in a live football starved community.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx
    Still there'll be seats seen though, so obviously wouldn't be a full house.
    We'll need segregation for Sheridan.

Quote Originally Posted by tipptops View Post
    I think Rovers are just getting the fans this year because they are up at the top of the league and the novelty factor has not worn off in Tallaght yet.

Next Year will tell its own story.
    The above statement personifies the typical LOI supporter. Good aul negativity.

Shams are traditonally well supported and there is no reason why they cannot maintain or even increase their support into the future. They have thrown down the gauntlet to the rest of us and as a supporter owned club fair play to them. Statements like the above show they will bring existing LOI fans kicking and screaming to progress.

Quote Originally Posted by tipptops View Post
    I think Rovers are just getting the fans this year because they are up at the top of the league and the novelty factor has not worn off in Tallaght yet.

Next Year will tell its own story.

How very Irish

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast