Thread: does this make anyone feel better?

does this make anyone feel better?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQURz...eature=related

i know our barstoolers are bad but as far as i'm aware they've never stooped to that!!! at least we're not the only country with these problems.

Oh and here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6SGg...eature=related
    Last edited by irishultra; 11/09/2009 at 2:18 AM.

57 Posts
    You would have a salient point - however - 95% of the Liverpool fans (or indeed any British/European side) in those two videos will also be found in the stadium of their local Norwegian Professional side on a Sunday/Monday evening watching their local team play.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

238 Posts
    Meh, I was in a bar in Letterkenny when Liverpool came back from 3 down and almost the entire place was up singing "You'll never walk alone".
    In fairness it's a proper feckin anthem though, in comparison we have in LOI, Bohs fans singing a Johnny Logan Song and Rovers sing "why do you build me up, buttercup" although it's a classic

No problem with anyone supporting a foreign club, it's the one's who "support" them and couldn't even be dragged to a LOI game, that I aint fond of

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Meh, I was in a bar in Letterkenny when Liverpool came back from 3 down and almost the entire place was up singing "You'll never walk alone".
    In fairness it's a proper feckin anthem though, in comparison we have in LOI, Bohs fans singing a Johnny Logan Song and Rovers sing "why do you build me up, buttercup" although it's a classic

No problem with anyone supporting a foreign club, it's the one's who "support" them and couldn't even be dragged to a LOI game, that I aint fond of
    To be fair Sam, Buttercup is not classed as a Rovers 'Anthem'. It's just a song we sing.

The Cavern by any chance?
    i was there that night unfortunatly, nightmare stuff

Agreed

Norwegian fans singing an American song in praise of an American-owned football club located in England that has a disproportionate number of Irish tricolours at its matches. Is this new?

I feel the same.

290 Posts
    ...or manufacturing rivalries, eg. Liverpool fans living in Derry who just really hate Everton.

Some LOI clubs have a decent club song/anthem that they at least have some connection to......

Jonny Logan's 'Hold me Now' is dreadful, and the story behind how Bohs adopted it just highlights how poorly supported LOI football is.

Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Proof to everyone, that Sligoman has the voice of an angel.

We were alot louder than there on Friday night

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Proof to everyone, that Sligoman has the voice of an angel.

We were alot louder than there on Friday night
    A rumour is doing its round that Sligoman is lined up to replace Noel Gallagher in Oasis Just as soon as hes convinced to give up the church choir, you know, with the angels voice and all . I was looking for a video of ye doing it last friday actually, sounded great on television.
    Last edited by sligofan4ever; 13/09/2009 at 6:00 PM.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    You would have a salient point - however - 95% of the Liverpool fans (or indeed any British/European side) in those two videos will also be found in the stadium of their local Norwegian Professional side on a Sunday/Monday evening watching their local team play.
    thats the big difference dont know why ye bother with this taking the mick out of people who like watching their football on a barstool.any hope ye have of getting them to a game is gone with that elitist attitude.anyone with non LOI going mates try the "ah the lads arent coming up tonight do ya wanna come" trick,its worked a few times for me.get them in the gate once or twice they will be back

havnt got a problem with people who support a british team if they come to LOI games, i myself am a man united fan, the ones who say 'ah i wouldnt go upto see that shower' etc i cannot stand. and the ones who dont give a damn about their local side. when you think about it, you could say about 80% of people in a county are interested in football. i find it hard to figure out why teams can only get 1 or 2000 to games. grounds should be packed

i think its more an occasion culture in this country compare attendances in the GAA from league to championship and the magners league to heineken cup in the rugby.

I feel its a continuing trend of following British clubs only even when living in Ireland. However I must say that in Sligo anyways, every game you always see plenty of young people out which is very good to see in the LoI, some may have a man united tracksuit top or Liverpool jersey on them but so long as their following their local club too I don't mind. Its even more promising for years to come as they could bring their kids about 10/15/20 years down the line along with them which just increases numbers further.
    Coleman for Ireland

This always makes me laugh...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xN1WN0YMWZU
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    This always makes me laugh...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xN1WN0YMWZU
    Love it

I know its nothing to do with what this threads about, but this makes me laugh anytime I watch it, just came to mind when I seen the Liverpool thing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qamVB4ixxGs
    Coleman for Ireland

21 Posts

473 Posts
    There was a small movement to get Bray to start singing the Piano Man a few months back. I'm gutted it didn't get off the ground! Top tune for a crowd to sing!

Who Cares?!