Any need for this thread really?

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Any need for this thread really?
    Have you seen some of the threads on here recently??
    Its all relative...
    Last edited by sligo23; 22/08/2009 at 8:46 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sligo23 View Post
    Have you seen some of the threads on here recently??
    Its all relative...
    Touche.

2,636 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    class!

but it wasnt all bad... he made a friend and had a good game of monopoly

Slightly confused. Surely the Bray official doesn't command the Garda to arrest people? Surely the Gardai make their own minds up, so if you have a complaint, surely it is with the Gardai. Either way, my experience of Bray and the officials on all occasions has been that they have been fantastic. Very welcoming and pretty much dead on.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Touche.
    aye, but i get your point tho
    all he has done is set himself up to get the **** ripped of him
    just hope he didnt drop the soap after after that long night in the cell

Formerly: wild rover
    You should have gone to the chipper with the lads earlier to sober up or back to the pub for a pint and accept it.

No point standing up to the police, you should watch Booze Britain 2.5 hours is one long night too.
    Last edited by Rory H; 23/08/2009 at 9:58 AM.

It would have been a bit ironic if this had happened to Inside Man.

Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    At the minute I'm so annoyed I'm really finding it hard to keep the faith.
    They said it would be like this on the outside

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    It would have been a bit ironic if this had happened to Inside Man.
    There's a good chance Midget Gem was, given everything you hear about prisons these days......

65 Posts

Garda to Midget Gem: "Massey equalised, the game finished 2-2".
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

427 Posts
    [QUOTE=The Midget Gem;1216857]Last night I travelled up from Sligo to the match in Bray however ended up in a bloody prison cell for the whole time. Why??? A man on a power trip.. The event controller(John Fitzpatrick if I remember correctly) said he seen me with a pint of guinnes at the pub before the game, so when I approached the gate he refused to allow me enter the ground! I had done nothing wrong as i am over 18. This fella kept saying he wasn't letting in any drunkards after the Shams debacle. Even though i had a few beers on me, i was perfectly literate and not anywhere near as drunk as some other people on the Rovers supporters bus. To continue the story... i got very annoyed at the whole thing as again i had done nothing wrong... this fella after asking me to walk away, then called the guards who then arrested me and put me in a squad car and then threw me in a cell for the night. Now for someone who has no record of any trouble with the guards, or any record of trouble with anything really it was hard to take.
    Why would they refuse a proper LOI fan entry to a ground, after all I am/was a lover of the game here, and just wanted to see the game. What I cant understand is they can put me behind bars for a night yet Bohs/Shams scum run riot fighting on the streets yet get into these games and don't even get questioned by the guards.

QUOTE]

I think you will find the club "reserves the right to refuse admission" and were exercising that in your case. To be honest, did you think they would change their mind because you argued with them ? Arguing with the Gardai was so stupid that any sympathy for you goes out the window.

Typical Sligo ! Even when the home team "arranges" a free B/B for them they still moan

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Typical Sligo ! Even when the home team "arranges" a free B/B for them they still moan
    Oh right..

I suggest Petrol and Matches in Merrion Square to protest this appalling injustice....
    seriously... bouncers, cops and stewards don't back down even in the face of blinding logic... best thing you could have done was kept the head and walked away...

I know it's a bit of a kick in the b*lls to all that way for nothing.. but the Guards are trained to not to listen to a word you say unless you utter.. "Pig" or "Free State B*stard" or "I'm right and I know I am" or "I know my rights...you can't do that!"....
    they'll hear them words right enough....
    innit though??

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Oh right..
    Calm down, that last line was meant as a joke (hoped the smiley might give it away). Anyway did you hear what that Cork fella was saying about Sligo on another thread.........

Anyway did you hear what that Cork fella was saying about Sligo on another thread.........
    Which Cork fella was that...

Calm down, that last line was meant as a joke (hoped the smiley might give it away). Anyway did you hear what that Cork fella was saying about Sligo on another thread.........
    oh right...

Same thing happened to us in Dalymount. We were told we wern't getting in because we were drunk and singing racist songs (it was a song about a racist but its been discussed)
    We had left the bar earlier than everyone else and tried using logic, but as said it goes over the head of anyone in a high vis jacket.
    So went for something to eat, came back same story. We tried talking logic and still those jackets were logic proof. so just kept quiet, let them make their noise and enjoy their importance a bit and simply said to them, what they were doing was fair enough, it was for h&s reasons or whatever, they lapped that compliment up and we were shouting "go team" just a few mins after kickoff

Moral of the story is when they throw on those jackets of authority, humour them and you'll get in.

Another moral would be if you went to Albania instead of oxygen, theres no doubt you would still be in a cell over there getting gang raped

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    Same thing happened to us in Dalymount. We were told we wern't getting in because we were drunk and singing racist songs (it was a song about a racist but its been discussed)
    We had left the bar earlier than everyone else and tried using logic, but as said it goes over the head of anyone in a high vis jacket.
    So went for something to eat, came back same story. We tried talking logic and still those jackets were logic proof. so just kept quiet, let them make their noise and enjoy their importance a bit and simply said to them, what they were doing was fair enough, it was for h&s reasons or whatever, they lapped that compliment up and we were shouting "go team" just a few mins after kickoff

Moral of the story is when they throw on those jackets of authority, humour them and you'll get in.

Another moral would be if you went to Albania instead of oxygen, theres no doubt you would still be in a cell over there getting gang raped
    Hmmmmmm just a coincidence or is it ALWAYS Sligo fans involved in these incidents ?