Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: RTE

3,245 Posts
    Just say "I don't know" rather than making a guess and looking like an eejit.

You could hear the glare from yer man as well - "Don't do this to me..."

Maybe I'm tainted by my dislike of the presenters anyway, from the little I've heard of it.

125 Posts
    I remember it gave the explanation on one of our matchday mags. It wasn't that he signed from verona or that his relatives where where of italian desent, I am 99% certain that he was called it from childhood because he looked italian.
    Long Live King Kenny

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    In fairness, how the hell are they going to know that?
    Yes because there are soooo many facts/stats to be learned off about Man U /Liverpool /Chelsea etc before the season "starts" and its not like journalists ever do any prep work

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    I remember it gave the explanation on one of our matchday mags. It wasn't that he signed from verona or that his relatives where where of italian desent, I am 99% certain that he was called it from childhood because he looked italian.
    ppffffft these are getting more and more funny.
    maybe fabio was his confirmation name...anyone think of that eh eh!

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    ppffffft these are getting more and more funny.
    maybe fabio was his confirmation name...anyone think of that eh eh!
    I've herd him called a couple of other names over the years (pretty sure they had little to do with confirmation though )

49 Posts
    wonder is there any chance of them showing this tie ?

3,245 Posts
    They will, and Pat's will be hammered and the barstoolers will go "What's the fuss all about? They're rubbish."

Always the way.

20 Posts
    They will, and Pat's will be hammered and the barstoolers will go "What's the fuss all about? They're rubbish."

Always the way.
    Don't forget, George Hamilton will be wheeled in because it's now a designated "big" match for the LoI.

No way I'll be tuning into RTE to watch it. I'd rather watch it on a Romanian channel and make do with the foreign commentary than give RTE my viewership .

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    Don't forget, George Hamilton will be wheeled in because it's now a designated "big" match for the LoI.
    He'll get Ryan Guy and Bobby Ryan mixed up. He'll mention Keith Fahey a few hundred times even though he has nothing to do with the game. He will say Jeff Kenna is 'vastly experienced' because he played in the premiership.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    He'll get Ryan Guy and Bobby Ryan mixed up.
    I think he always refers to him as Barry "Bobby" Ryan, though that could have been Trevor Welch.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

Quote Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
    I think he always refers to him as Barry "Bobby" Ryan, though that could have been Trevor Welch.
    Those Pats guy last week were calling him that too.

331 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by saintmaniac View Post
    Jaysus, what was that like? Was your man Ken Early on? I hate that tosser. God forbid he should acknowledge Irish football (not the international game) for all of 5 seconds. Twilight Zone stuff I'm sure...

I presume they had Dan McDonnell talking, he's the only person they use that I'd trust to cover LOI properly. The rest of the time, their coverage is an embarrassment. Although I hardly ever listen anymore - I hate the show, can you tell?
    The only reason they had a conversation for more than 30 seconds about the match was that Ken "EPL" Early wasn't on the show. So when one was talking and stopped the other continued,which as we all know wouldn't have happened with Ken ,as he suddenly comes over all mute once the LOI is being discussed.

Quote Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
    Actually, i seem to remember Barry is his real name. "Bobby" is just a nickname. Like 'Shergar' or something.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

38 Posts
    That's correct. He goes by Bobby simply because he prefers it.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    No way I'll be tuning into RTE to watch it. I'd rather watch it on a Romanian channel and make do with the foreign commentary than give RTE my viewership .
    Would they not be more likely show LOI if they get alot of viewers?

He signed for Drogheda from LSL side Verona, is the most plausible reason I've heard. Someone texted that into the show too.
    A Drogs fan told us once he got it from Fabrizio Ravanelli who played for Verona.
    (although according to wikipedia, he never did play for them.) There's probably some connection though.

Always the way.
    couldn't agree with you more.
    Thats what I logged on to say but you have already said it!
    It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    Purple Hay?
    ... All in my brain?
    Oops, sorry, wrong thread.
    more bass

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the-blue-harp View Post
    couldn't agree with you more.
    Thats what I logged on to say but you have already said it!
    In a sense it would be better if the game wasnt on tv, for the reason you have mentioned above. There was i screaming at the uefa updates in work yesterday and people looking at me like i was losing it. The very same people today were asking me who did pats get in the draw, did they get villa, valencia and so forth. Amazing turnaround.
    They would probably tune into the game next week but if pats lost, it would justify their reasoning for not following LOI because its nowhere near as good as the EPL and so on.

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast