Thread: Derry's turn

89 Posts

Derry's turn

http://www.derryjournal.com/derry-sp...ter.5456330.jp

Derry's turn.

No surprise to any of us with half a brain.....
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    http://www.derryjournal.com/derry-sp...ter.5456330.jp

Derry's turn.

No surprise to any of us with half a brain.....
    3 down, 7 to go.

1,524 Posts
    The most bizarre thing about that article is that there is absolutely no indication that Derry will be looking to lighten the wage bill.

3 of the top 4 in trouble to one extent or another and not one of them seems intent on cutting costs. It really would make you despair for the future of this league.

And once again you have to wonder how DCFC stand in relation to the 65% rule. Although at this stage you'd have to assume that so many clubs are urinating all over it that it'll have to be fudged again.

I split the thread. No real point of it being stuck in the (already huge) Cork thread

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    The most bizarre thing about that article is that there is absolutely no indication that Derry will be looking to lighten the wage bill.

3 of the top 4 in trouble to one extent or another and not one of them seems intent on cutting costs. It really would make you despair for the future of this league.

And once again you have to wonder how DCFC stand in relation to the 65% rule. Although at this stage you'd have to assume that so many clubs are urinating all over it that it'll have to be fudged again.
    Exactly Mr A,

A small minority of us having been highlighting the real dangers for the last 18 months or so, but having been branded "troublemakers" and patronised at AGMs, it has suprised me that we kept the show on the road this long.

The only thing i can say is keep it up Maribor. I know it's going to be hard but slowly but surely people will realise you're right and hopefully it's before it's too late for Derry
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

2,629 Posts
    Exactly Mr A,

A small minority of us having been highlighting the real dangers for the last 18 months or so, but having been branded "troublemakers" and patronised at AGMs, it has suprised me that we kept the show on the road this long.
    genuinely fair play to you and the other "troublemakers" Maribor.

However, i would like to point out that it sounds almost identical to what has happened with my own club. Behaviour and circumstances for which we get lambasted on this forum regularly.

There are none so blind as those who will not see (until its too feckin late!).

89 Posts
    SkStu,

We have a Supporters Trust established and properly registered(very inactive mind, but the structure of the I&PS is there for the worst case scenario)

Exactly Mr A,

hmmmm The exact same scenario as Harps.Start using words like Youth Development and Long term plan and that really gets them going.

47 Posts
    Were all darn doodly oodly doodly dooomed
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Campiones campiones...

The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Campiones campiones...

I know you have far too much intergrity to want to win something because of off the pitch matters.

716 Posts
    Campiones campiones...

Shels for Europe, anyone?

Campiones campiones...

shouldnt that be Championes championes , sounds a bit camp ur way

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Shels for Europe, anyone?
    Its starting to look like Drogs for Europe at this stage
    Mind you we would be going Ryanair and staying in a hostel next time

In fairness to Derry they have some extenuating circumstances with the sponsorship withdrawal.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    In fairness to Derry they have some extenuating circumstances with the sponsorship withdrawal.
    It was well known that our sponsor had been in difficulties for quite a while.

I disagree with the extenuating circumstances, not when you keep signing players and making overnight stays. This was always coming, just a question of when.

More then 3.

Someone said 3 down 7 to go well its almost 4 down if this take over doesnt happen for us(Galway Utd).Debts of 500k and losing 5 grand a week.Although we did just get a new main sponsor today,Papa Johns Pizza.I look forward to playing Bohs and Cork in the A championship next year.

Shels, Drogs, Cork, Bohs, Harps, Pats, Galway.......... and us.

We should start a breakaway league, the Northern Rock Financial Services League of Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc1928 View Post
    Shels, Drogs, Cork, Bohs, Harps, Pats, Galway.......... and us.

We should start a breakaway league, the Northern Rock Financial Services League of Ireland.
    With Nick Leeson replacing John Delaney
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    With Nick Leeson replacing John Delaney
    and with Sir Allen Stanford bankrolling it, it has to be a success!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast