Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Derry's turn

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfc1928 View Post
    Shels, Drogs, Cork, Bohs, Harps, Pats, Galway.......... and us.

We should start a breakaway league, the Northern Rock Financial Services League of Ireland.
    Cobh can be ball boys!

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfc1928 View Post
    Shels, Drogs, Cork, Bohs, Harps, Pats, Galway.......... and us.

We should start a breakaway league, the Northern Rock Financial Services League of Ireland.
    how come ye changed yer kit by the way?

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Someone said 3 down 7 to go well its almost 4 down if this take over doesnt happen for us(Galway Utd).Debts of 500k and losing 5 grand a week.Although we did just get a new main sponsor today,Papa Johns Pizza.I look forward to playing Bohs and Cork in the A championship next year.

I thought that Galway Utd had sponsors at the start of the season??

290 Posts
    how come ye changed yer kit by the way?
    Due to loss of our shirt sponsor:

http://www.derrycityfc.net/cityweb/C...itiatives.html
    Initiative 1: Shirt Sponsorship

We are looking for 50 businesses/individuals/groups of people to pay £1,000 to be entered into a draw to be branded on the front of our first team jersey. There's also a runners up prize of the back of our jersey.

Everyone who enters will be featured on the jersey even if they don't win either of the main prizes, albeit on a smaller scale

The names of both the treble winning squad of 1989 and the names of our current squad of 2009 will also be embossed on the jersey along with Foyle Hospice being branded on the sleeves

This will become a collectors item in years to come and the jersey will be available to purchase from July until the end of the 2009 season with a percentage of all profits being donated to the Foyle Hospice

290 Posts
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...sh/8150851.stm

Derry City chairman Pat McDaid has acknowledged that a European run this season would be a much-needed boost for the Brandywell club.

Galway Utd.

Galway Utd did have a main sponsor,but they missed a few payments as they are struggling big time themselves(O'Connell Dry Lining).So within a week Nick dropped them and brought in a new one.

433 Posts

John Lesters going mad he left...
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

21 Posts
    It seems really worrying that no team other than Shamrock Rovers in the premier division are financially stable.

Some disparity there between the comments of our Chairman and SK.

The Chairman is giving it the whole 'nothing to see here - everyone's in trouble, the club will survive' chat, whilst SK has presented a much more gloomy picture.

I'm worried about how we'll do against Skonto. We're playing breac at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Some disparity there between the comments of our Chairman and SK.

The Chairman is giving it the whole 'nothing to see here - everyone's in trouble, the club will survive' chat, whilst SK has presented a much more gloomy picture.

I'm worried about how we'll do against Skonto. We're playing breac at the moment.

check your mobile for a trext Steve
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post

John Lesters going mad he left...

Magicme's going to get ya .....
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Funny how the amount of Derry supporters joined in Schadenfreud Fest on the Bohs thread. Then we get "Oh, but sure we lost our sponsor" as an excuse here. Says it all really.

Btw, I hope Derry City survive and I hope they beat Skonto Riga over the two legs.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post
    Funny how the amount of Derry supporters joined in Schadenfreud Fest on the Bohs thread. Then we get "Oh, but sure we lost our sponsor" as an excuse here. Says it all really.

Btw, I hope Derry City survive and I hope they beat Skonto Riga over the two legs.
    Hardly a fair representation of the posts on here (if not the Hear No Evil See No Evil brigade on DCchat). I think many of the posts above, and in previous threads, show that a lot of us knew it was only a matter of time and actually were surprised it was brushed under the carpet until now.

As for those who troll on other clubs websites, rarely the sharpest knives in the drawer when it comes to finances.

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post

Magicme's going to get ya .....
    Brat!

Where's that thread about how great the FAI are at running the league? Who's vision was the 10 team, fully pro premier league? Who's supposed to be implementing Licencing to stop this crap from happening?

This is a total farce, but look at the rush by the FAI to an expanded 18 team one division league now so many "big" clubs are in trouble...

44 Posts
    Do any other non Derry supporters believe that it is crazy that a club can be hit with potential relegation if they fail to meet the 65% wage cap as a result of some issue which was out of their control such as the sponsor pulling out.

Surely they should get a "pass" at the end of the year if this was the only thing that resulted in them brealking the 65% rule.

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Do any other non Derry supporters believe that it is crazy that a club can be hit with potential relegation if they fail to meet the 65% wage cap as a result of some issue which was out of their control such as the sponsor pulling out.
    The linked articles says they're not going to be able to meet the wages for the rest of the season - they must've been way over the 65% already if the loss of sponsorship means they wont be able to cover wages, never mind get under 65%!

We've two clubs saying that they need wins in cup competitions to get close to the 65% cap (bohs), or to simply pay the players for the rest of the season (Derry). Have the FAI Licencing Committee been accepting wins in cup games as part of the accepted budget for the season? If so, that's completely ridiculous.

But to answer your question, if they're going to have licencing it should be properly implemented and enforced. You only have to look at the last two seasons to see what happens when it's fudged.

1,524 Posts
    I agree with you Macy that the FAI needs to tighten things further.. but ultimately it goes back to the clubs themselves and their outrageous serial recklessness. All the clubs knew the economical situation at the the start of the season yet still they screwed themselves over. Licensing failures have probably been more the clubs' fault than the FAI because the sheer scale of insanity in the league means they cannot punish everyone. Attitudes have to change in senior football and we'll get nowhere until we see that change coming from the clubs themselves.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post

Surely they should get a "pass" at the end of the year if this was the only thing that resulted in them brealking the 65% rule.
    so as long as your excuse is ok you should get a pass like our sponsor has gone bellyup or.. we were told these beans were magic.
    it would be mayhem with certain clubs getting a pass while others being screwed
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

328 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Someone said 3 down 7 to go well its almost 4 down if this take over doesnt happen for us(Galway Utd).Debts of 500k and losing 5 grand a week.Although we did just get a new main sponsor today,Papa Johns Pizza.I look forward to playing Bohs and Cork in the A championship next year.
    Gonna be some A Championship alright next year

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast