Thread: MNS...

1,523 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    anyone else hear Pat Morley saying something like Cork players are in danger of losing their lives
    Yeah. That was class.

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Just stop.
    Agreed, and it was a red card, minute I saw it, I knew he`d walk.

Stupid challenge by Daly. END OF
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    But the amount of poor and dubious decisions that have been crucial to results for Dundalk this season is very hard to take.
    Well there's nothing hard to take about this one so there's no need to bring up past decisions.

Daly's tackle was two footed, and therefore technically a potential (but not mandatory) red card - Killian Brennan's theatrics were (not for the first time) obviously a major factor in red replacing the original yellow. It killed the game as a contest.
    Obviously it had nothing to do with the assistant referee been right beside the incident.

And like De Town I hate this bull**** line about killing the game as a contest. Are you saying that red card offences should not be awarded as such because it allegedly spoils the game? Get real.

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Bohs are the best team in the league and hard enough to beat with 11 men; we simply were not good enough to provide an effective challenge with 10 men!
    So what that ye were playing Bohs? That should have no difference when the ref is coming to making decisions. You can hardly expect the ref to think to himself "ah here, sure Bohs are by far the better team here, sure I can't go and ruin the game by sending a Dundalk player off".

Does anybody else think that Ezeikial is actually Sean Connor such is the level of whinning in his posts? Or is it just me?
    Last edited by Celdrog; 13/07/2009 at 10:11 PM.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

1,523 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Does anydoy else think that Ezeikial is actually Sean Connor such is the level of whinning in his posts? Or is it just me?
    It seems unlikely that you could both be Sean Connor.

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    anyone else hear Pat Morley saying something like Cork players are in danger of losing their lives
    Costs have to be cut somewhere.

140 Posts
    Dundalk have had 7 red cards this season. Surely they're not all the result of bad refereeing decisions? And yes, I feel sorry for the Cork players who are about to be lined up and shot in a desperate measure by Arkaga to reduce overheads as per Morley last night.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Dundalk have had 7 red cards this season. Surely they're not all the result of bad refereeing decisions? And yes, I feel sorry for the Cork players who are about to be lined up and shot in a desperate measure by Arkaga to reduce overheads as per Morley last night.
    Lets see:
    Simon Kelly V Galway- double booking- clumsy more than anything else
    Simon Kelly V Bray- double booking- same as above
    Dave Rogers V Sligo- Flashed his arse- no argument
    Chris Turner V Drogheda- first booking possibly yeah. second booking was for an alleged elbow in mid air with drogheda opponent.
    Harpal Singh V Bohs- i think a tackle from behind on gypo Brennan, got the ball but he fell over like a sack of spuds. I dont see the harm in that
    Michael Daly V Bohs- I think it was a harsh sending off but two footed
    Declan O'Brien V Galway- double booking for alleged time wasting. I think

Whilst I thought we had overall turned a corner in regards to our club discipline I hope the Daly Sending off is just a once off. Michael is a decent lad and in the moment just went for the ball. Brennan reaction was one of a cheat and i have never seen anyone like him in the loi.

Overall though in the league the red card count must be phenominal because not a week goes by where there is no sendings off. I think the refs are scared by not implementing common sense. Refs are far too card happy with dishing out yellows where there is no need for them and then in cases when a yellow should be given the ref has now no alternative but to give a red and ruin the game. Red Cards should only be issued as a last resort and not willy nilly as the loi refs do.

Clue is in the title - "Tackle from behind". And you dont see the harm in that? Love it.

387 Posts
    Surely Dave Barry has to blame the owners of the clubs for the mess they're all in and not the players. Of course they're going to take whatever they're being offered. The only way to get them to stop taking in high wages is for people to stop offering it to them. I wonder if RTE turned around to Dave and asked him to work on MNS for free would be still do it?

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CMcC View Post
    Clue is in the title - "Tackle from behind". And you dont see the harm in that? Love it.
    No I don't see the harm in Killian Brennan being tackled from behind.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    No I don't see the harm in Killian Brennan being tackled from behind.
    What an unusual way to come out...

Tallaght Stadium Regular

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    On first viewing I thought it was a red too

Anyway, home now so first time I have seen MNS in ages. Have to say I found it all a bit boring. Was a bit peed off no one mentioned the Newcastle bid in the piece about Cork, the connection is an obvious one, but then those two Cork lads (morley and barry) are not much good. Where is Damo?